General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
A DNS translates a domain name into an IP address. So when you 'ping yourdomain.com', it's really pinging your (public) ip address.
Now you have a webserver on port 8080 of an internal address, which needs to be accessible over port 80 of your external address. Then you have to configure your router to forward port 80 to port 8080 of your NAS.


Yeah i know i should have noticed that but missed it instead.

Do you know if its possible to install a microsoft sql server in ffp??
Or will phpmyadmin work with ASP.Net MVC3??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6091
remru218 wrote:
Do you know if its possible to install a microsoft sql server in ffp??
I don't think so. A quick google on 'microsoft sql server' didn't show up any binaries other than for x86 of amd64. So it won't run on an Arm.
Quote:
Or will phpmyadmin work with ASP.Net MVC3??
Don't know. But does ASP.Net run on an Arm?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
remru218 wrote:
Do you know if its possible to install a microsoft sql server in ffp??
I don't think so. A quick google on 'microsoft sql server' didn't show up any binaries other than for x86 of amd64. So it won't run on an Arm.
Quote:
Or will phpmyadmin work with ASP.Net MVC3??
Don't know. But does ASP.Net run on an Arm?


Thx for the quick relpy.
I did some research my self and didnt find anything. The only option i found was to use mysql as the database only.
To run ASP.net mvc3 web application a windows server is needed.

Again thx for all the help and your time.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
remru218 wrote:
Do you know if its possible to install a microsoft sql server in ffp??
I don't think so. A quick google on 'microsoft sql server' didn't show up any binaries other than for x86 of amd64. So it won't run on an Arm.
Quote:
Or will phpmyadmin work with ASP.Net MVC3??
Don't know. But does ASP.Net run on an Arm?



Hi..
I now have managed to configure my lighttpd server and got my web site up and running. The problem is now that i can't access my nsa web interface since that my router forwards all http request to my web server.

Any idea on how to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Hi..
I now have managed to configure my lighttpd server and got my web site up and running. The problem is now that i can't access my nsa web interface since that my router forwards all http request to my web server.

Any idea on how to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6091
When accessing the webpage from the same network, you can use the ip address of your NAS (something like http://192.168.1.18), or the NETBIOS name (ZyXEL? In that case it would be http://zyxel).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
When accessing the webpage from the same network, you can use the ip address of your NAS (something like http://192.168.1.18), or the NETBIOS name (ZyXEL? In that case it would be http://zyxel).


I have tried that without any success even when i ping the server via a specific port.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6091
remru218 wrote:
I have tried that without any success

What *exactly* did you try, and what was the effect? 'No success' is not descriptive, as it presumes a known expectation, which you didn't give.
Quote:
even when i ping the server via a specific port.

What do you mean?

I suppose you still have access via telnet/ssh? Can you open a shell and post the output of
Code:
ifconfig

netstat -lpt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
remru218 wrote:
I have tried that without any success

What *exactly* did you try, and what was the effect? 'No success' is not descriptive, as it presumes a known expectation, which you didn't give.
Quote:
even when i ping the server via a specific port.

What do you mean?



My nsa admin interface recieves request via https so when i ping the ip:443 i get no listening response.
What i have tried is also by simply entering the ip-address or nsa name as your proposed which also resulted in no response.

I will get back to you with more info as soon as i get back from the hospital.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6091
remru218 wrote:
so when i ping the ip:443 i get no listening response.

You can't ping a port. Only an address can be pinged. When trying to ping ip:443, ping will ask the DNS to resolve that domain name, and ping will error out with something like 'unknown host ip:443'.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
remru218 wrote:
so when i ping the ip:443 i get no listening response.

You can't ping a port. Only an address can be pinged. When trying to ping ip:443, ping will ask the DNS to resolve that domain name, and ping will error out with something like 'unknown host ip:443'.


Yes, you cant exactly ping a port but you can make a port query(google port query v2 for more info) by simply supplying the ip address and which port . This will either return a knonw service, unknown service or no service at all. Known services are service which are predefinde like http, https and unknonw service are services which are user specific well like a service on a self defined port.

ifconfig output:

egiga0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:19:CB:52:80:97
inet addr:192.168.1.67 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:30954660 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:27364771 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:512
RX bytes:1458713657 (1.3 GiB) TX bytes:2912950562 (2.7 GiB)
Interrupt:21

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:22806 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:22806 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:4845139 (4.6 MiB) TX bytes:4845139 (4.6 MiB)

netstat -lpt output:
Active Internet connections (only servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:websm 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1093/dservice
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:9666 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1759/mediaserver
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:shell 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1391/syslog-ng
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:netbios-ssn 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1963/smbd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:65428 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1759/mediaserver
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:ftp 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1693/pure-ftpd (SER
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:ssh 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 2028/sshd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:ccu-comm-3 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1759/mediaserver
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:ipp 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1407/cupsd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:hbci 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 2114/lighttpd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:12346 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1759/mediaserver
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:microsoft-ds 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1963/smbd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6091
remru218 wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:
remru218 wrote:
so when i ping the ip:443 i get no listening response.

You can't ping a port. Only an address can be pinged. When trying to ping ip:443, ping will ask the DNS to resolve that domain name, and ping will error out with something like 'unknown host ip:443'.

Yes, you cant exactly ping a port but you can make a port query(google port query v2 for more info) by simply supplying the ip address and which port.

Thanks for that. Didn't know that tool.

As you may know 'netstat -lpt' shows all services listening on a tcp port (On a *nix computer. On Windows it's netstat -a, I thought). According to this list the firmware webserver (Apache, httpd) isn't running, nor on port http, neither on https. So I suppose you somehow killed it.
You did already reboot, I suppose?
Does Apache show up when you boot without FFP-stick? If it does, it's one of the FFP startscripts which kills Apache. If it doesn't, then you altered the firmware in a way the Apache doesn't start anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:42 am
Posts: 26
Mijzelf wrote:
Thanks for that. Didn't know that tool.

As you may know 'netstat -lpt' shows all services listening on a tcp port (On a *nix computer. On Windows it's netstat -a, I thought). According to this list the firmware webserver (Apache, httpd) isn't running, nor on port http, neither on https. So I suppose you somehow killed it.
You did already reboot, I suppose?
Does Apache show up when you boot without FFP-stick? If it does, it's one of the FFP startscripts which kills Apache. If it doesn't, then you altered the firmware in a way the Apache doesn't start anymore.



I removed the ffp-stick and i could access the admin page without any problems. So i thnk that the ffp startscript kills the Apache service.
Any idea on how to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6091
Disable the scripts in /ffp/start (except sshd or telnetd), and enable them one by one, to see which one causes the problem. Then read that script carefully to see what and how it kills.
AFAIK the only commands which can do that are kill and killall


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group