General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:57 pm
Posts: 4
I've had my NAS running for a while but the last few days I haven't been able to access my the web interface.

I get a message saying 'Invalid Server Certificate' when attempting to access it, Going http://nsa220plus/ redirects me to https://nsa220plus/ which gives me the message Invalid Server certificate again.
I tried resetting the nas but the only thing that seems to have been reset is users names and passwords, and I still get report emails sent to me and the IP address hasn't changed and is still static, I know this because I can alter the network settings using the ZyXEL NAS Starter Utility.

Does any one know a way to fix this?

My Firmware is 3.25 (AFG.0)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6048
Did you update your browser recently?

Some time ago there was some hassle about some SSL certificates provided by Diginotar. As a result many browsers have changed the way they handle certificates.

Your NAS can't possibly have a valid certificate, where valid is defined as coupled to the domain at which you try to reach it, and signed by a trusted authority.

So when you now cannot access your NAS due to this reason, I suspect your browser for not accepting an 'invalid' certificate anymore. Have a look at your browser settings, if you can add your NAS to a trusted zone, or something like that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:57 pm
Posts: 4
I tried installing the certificate, But the message i used to get was it was not trusted, as it was self-signed. but the message i get now is not valid. IE gives me this message

Quote:
Security certificate problems may indicate an attempt to fool you or intercept any data you send to the server.
If you arrived at this page by clicking a link, check the website address in the address bar to be sure that it is the address you were expecting.
When going to a website with an address such as https://example.com, try adding the 'www' to the address, https://www.example.com.


But clicking 'Continue to this website' just sends me to the error page again. I also tried connecting using IP address, hostname and its domain name.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6048
That can be a sign of a new policy in IE, but of course it's also possible that something else is changed. Can you have a look at the certificate itself? There should be a domain inside, in your case it should be 'nsa220plus'. When it's something different, you could add this domain to your hosts file.
You could also try a different browser.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:57 pm
Posts: 4
The certificate information says that it is issued to Nsa220plus by nsa220plus.
I've tried connecting using IE and Chrome, Is there no way to disable forcing https other then web interface?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6048
sca462069 wrote:
Is there no way to disable forcing https other then web interface?
Yes, a factory reset. Are you aware there are two different resets? You can push the reset button until it beeps, and you can keep the button pressed until it has beeped 3 times. It has different consequences, but I can't remember the details, at the moment.
(Keeping the button pressed until it has beeped twice doesn't reset anything, but just opens a telnet backdoor.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:57 pm
Posts: 4
Ah thank you this worked. I knew it beeped twice but I didn't know holding it for longer would do anything. Its working again now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group