Restore Edmini v2

Ethernet disk mini v2
colsub10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:04 pm
Contact:

Restore Edmini v2

Post by colsub10 » Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:10 am

Soory for my english, but I am writing from Italy ;)

This file http://gpl.nas-central.org/LACIE/ethern ... on_images/ with which program I can restore all?
Which program I must use?
Thanks at all :D

giarrettu
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by giarrettu » Sat Jul 05, 2008 5:13 pm

ciao colsub10,

to restore the partitions you have to use "dd" command

dd if= [put here the sdaX file] of=[partition to restore]

Giarrettu

colsub10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by colsub10 » Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:07 am

giarrettu wrote:ciao colsub10,

to restore the partitions you have to use "dd" command

dd if= [put here the sdaX file] of=[partition to restore]

Giarrettu

Thanks of the answer.
Where I must use the " dd" command?
With which program?
Exists a tutorial?

Are you italian?

giarrettu
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:34 am

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by giarrettu » Sun Jul 06, 2008 3:12 pm

for example,

http://www.debianadmin.com/recover-data ... ng-dd.html

did you brick your edmini?

yes I'm italian,

Giarrettu

mindbender
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:23 pm
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by mindbender » Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:04 am

obviously you need to connect the hdd of the edmini v2 to a pc running linux. i recommend to download the latest knoppix for that purpose. then after burning knoppix to a CD/DVD you boot it on your pc.

in knoppix you need to start a shell window (like the DOS window in windows) and use "wget <link>" to download the partition images. fdisk, mfdisk, cfdisk are some options to repartition the hdd if needed....if there are still partitions on the disk you don`t need to change them. if you need to set them up from scratch you need to create them of course. did the one who sent me the images describe the partition scheme?

then use dd to restore the images.

colsub10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by colsub10 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:01 pm

mindbender wrote:obviously you need to connect the hdd of the edmini v2 to a pc running linux. i recommend to download the latest knoppix for that purpose. then after burning knoppix to a CD/DVD you boot it on your pc.

in knoppix you need to start a shell window (like the DOS window in windows) and use "wget <link>" to download the partition images. fdisk, mfdisk, cfdisk are some options to repartition the hdd if needed....if there are still partitions on the disk you don`t need to change them. if you need to set them up from scratch you need to create them of course. did the one who sent me the images describe the partition scheme?

then use dd to restore the images.

I have the Knoppix 5.3 live on dvd-rw ;)

The hdd that I would want to use it is sata with 250Gb in FAT32 all free without partition.
I do not understand the question, sorry :oops:
Thanks.

jjr74
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by jjr74 » Sun Jul 20, 2008 9:13 am

Just one little question ...
All the discussion is about the partitions but nothing about the MBR ?

Does that mean that you don't need it ? That the boot loader is on one of the later partitions ?
Is it enough to set partition 7 active & bootable with fdisk ?

Thanks in advance

jjr

colsub10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by colsub10 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:04 am

jjr74 wrote:Just one little question ...
All the discussion is about the partitions but nothing about the MBR ?

Does that mean that you don't need it ? That the boot loader is on one of the later partitions ?
Is it enough to set partition 7 active & bootable with fdisk ?

Thanks in advance

jjr

I don't change the MBR.
The boot loader is in the hard disk.

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by rosbif » Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:22 am

colsub10 wrote:The boot loader is in the hard disk.

In fact the boot loader (U-Boot) is in flash memory.

The partitions that it boots from are determined partly by U-Boot code but mainly by U-Boot environment variables which are also initialized from flash memory.

However if you have a serial console you can change the boot procedure from the U-Boot command line. Unfortunately with the stock LaCie U-Boot you cannot save these changes permanently.

It is not necessary to mark a partition as bootable.

Here is my understanding of the boot process using the stock LaCie software.
If anyone can fill in the missing details or correct me I should be most grateful.

Unless an updated /snaps/00/boot/uImage (or later) exists on partition 9, U-Boot will load a Linux kernel stored as a raw uImage on partition 6, passing it arguments which cause the Linux kernel to load a read-only rootfs on partition 7.

From this point on the contents of partition 7 determine what happens.

With the stock LaCie software the rootfs on partition 7 will overlay another rootfs on partition 8 and apply any updates on partition 9. I have not looked into the details of this process. I think that the updates are probably in /snaps/00 (or later) as well.

HTH,
Chris

jjr74
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by jjr74 » Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:34 pm

Thanks a lot for the information. Somehow I was expecting that setting.
But after experimenting over the WE, I am unfortunately still out of luck.

For the record I must say :
1 - I am attempting to restore a Big Ethernet Disk and not a ED Mini but it was said somewhere here on the forums that the ED Mini is just a stripped version using the same software
2 - By lack of a Linux box with a SATA connection, I am trying out from Win2k at the moment with Paragon partition manager and dd for windows

Yet, even if it is a bit messy to spot out partitions, I don't think this is where my issues are coming from.
Indeed :
- After restauring with dd, the paritions look like they have been updated but
-> sda6 shows "not formatted" afterwards in Paragon
-> and sda7 (which I sized above 8 mb) is showing 13 mb used
The rest seems OK.
- Also I am using 1 disk only.

Which leads me to the following questions :
a - I formatted ext3 , is that correct or should I format ext2 ?
b - With the Big Ethernet Disk would there be any issue running on 1 disk only ?
c - Is there any preferred SATA port if operating a single disk ?

Thanks in advance for your valuable input.

jjr

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by rosbif » Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:23 am

jjr74 wrote:a - I formatted ext3 , is that correct or should I format ext2 ?

In fact ext3 is not really a different file system from ext2: ext3 is just ext2 with some files added to do its journaling.
Either should do and it is easy to pass from one to the other.
You do not need to format the partitions to which you are restoring the dumps.
The dump will determine whether it is ext2, ext3 or raw.
However declare the partitions (except for 1 and 5) as ext2 in the partition table; see this article: http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/SuccessStories

jjr74 wrote:b - With the Big Ethernet Disk would there be any issue running on 1 disk only ?

I don't think so (at least if you're starting from scratch with the EDmini V2 partitions) but I don't have access to an EBD.

jjr74 wrote:c - Is there any preferred SATA port if operating a single disk ?

The EDmini V2 uses the second SATA port on J13, so I recommend using that.

jjr74
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by jjr74 » Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:23 pm

Still no luck.
What suprises me most is that a restaure of sdaX seems to occupy more space on the partition than the size of the sdaX file and the target size stated here.
Is there any reason those restauration would not work with dd for windows ?
Thanks !
jjr

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by rosbif » Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:31 am

jjr74 wrote:Still no luck.

Do you have serial access?
If so please send the boot messages.

jjr74 wrote:What suprises me most is that a restaure of sdaX seems to occupy more space on the partition than the size of the sdaX file and the target size stated here.

How did you measure the space used?
Are you talking about the size of the partition, the space occupied by the filesystem or the size of the files on it?

The partition will be the size that you used when you created it.
There is no problem (other than a waste of space) if it is bigger than the size of the image you restore.

A lot of files will be soft links to busybox.
If your software counts the size of each of these as the size of busybox, the result will be much bigger than the space really occupied.

jjr74 wrote:Is there any reason those restauration would not work with dd for windows ?

I cannot help with dd for Windows :(
Mindbender suggested using Knoppix but you could also use a live CD or DVD of Ubuntu.

A live CD requires no installation and any desktop PC built this millennium will boot a live CD ;-)
If you are paranoid, you can even disconnect your Windows hard disk(s).
Actually this would probably be wise anyway: you will be messing with partitions and you don't want to accidentally modify the partitions on the wrong disk :(

If you don't have a CD burner or if you don't have fast unlimited Internet access, Canonical will even send you a CD for free https://shipit.ubuntu.com/ ;-)

Please help us to help you by using the tools we recommend; you have no valid excuse not to.

jjr74
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:46 am

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by jjr74 » Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:34 am

rosbif wrote:Please help us to help you by using the tools we suggest; you have no valid excuse not to.


You're right, enough of Windows trying I need to get hold of a Linux box ... I'll try with a live CD.
I have one of Kubuntu somewhere and I'll try to strip a PC at work to do the try.
I'll keep you posted.

For the other points :
- no serial access : no,
- space used : I do the partionning with Paragon Partition Manager, I create sda7 for instance at 16Mo (instead of the recommended 8Mo) and after restauring with dd (for win) Paragon says 12Mo out of 16 are used.

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: Restore Edmini v2

Post by rosbif » Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:57 am

jjr74 wrote:- no serial access : no,

Serial access would make debugging easier ;-)

jjr74 wrote:- space used : I do the partionning with Paragon Partition Manager, I create sda7 for instance at 16Mo (instead of the recommended 8Mo) and after restauring with dd (for win) Paragon says 12Mo out of 16 are used.

I don't know Paragon and dd for Windows but I can only guess that they are restoring the partition file by file and replacing, for example, each link to busybox with a full copy of busybox.
You should do a raw partition copy which you can do with dd (or even cp) in a Linux shell.
Something like "sudo cp sda7 /dev/sdX7" should suffice I think.
But please make sure you replace X with the letter for the correct disk (a, b, c, ...) ;-)

Post Reply