General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Hi, I have replaced my EDmini original drive by a 1tb one and would like to install FVDW firmware on it (I'd love debian but it seems to be a bit more complicated...) as I saw there is an available firmware file for it but the one I tried (UIMAGE-3136-ISP1-EDM2-13-standalone) doesn't recognise the NAS at U-Boot.

Have I got the correct file? Anything I missed?

thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 9:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
sometimes an edm2 has problems to start, keeping start button pressed when connection power might bring it to live, release the button 1-2 sec after you connect power


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
fvdw wrote:
sometimes an edm2 has problems to start, keeping start button pressed when connection power might bring it to live, release the button 1-2 sec after you connect power


Still not starting U-Boot...

The EDmini seems to be running though...

:?

--edit-- one things for sure, the EDmini doesn't pick up anything from the DHCP as it doesn't appear in my router...not sure it should be that way but just saying...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 06, 2016 11:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
ok, first of all I haven't prepared the actual HD before inserting it in the EDmini and from reading http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Installing_firmware_on_a_fresh_disk._(Edmini_V2) I understand I need to do so BEFORE putting it in the box...

Is that correct?

If so are there any written advices on how to proceed before getting to the above wiki? generate partitions from scratch etc...

I'm asking because my current drive results the following:
Code:
sh-3.2# fdisk /dev/disk2
Disk: /dev/disk2   geometry: 121601/255/63 [1953525168 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
         Starting       Ending
 #: id  cyl  hd sec -  cyl  hd sec [     start -       size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 1: EE 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [         1 - 1953525167] <Unknown ID>
 2: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused     
 3: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused     
 4: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused 


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
or can I access the drive via USB connected to the EDmini?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2016 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
macdalor wrote:
Is that correct?
Yes.
Quote:
If so are there any written advices on how to proceed before getting to the above wiki? generate partitions from scratch etc...
The wiki says: use fdisk to generate this partition table <..>.
If you do so, it's irrelevant whatever the current contents of the disk is. It's gone after repartitioning.

Quote:
I'm asking because my current drive results the following:
That is an GPT table. The actual table is elsewhere, and fdisk can't read (or create) it.

BTW, the EdminiV2 can't boot from a GPT disk. But it doesn't matter, fdisk will change it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Thank you @ Mijzelf.

coming back to this...I'm surely being a noob here but trying to format the drive I am getting the following result when running p from an Ubuntu machine:
Attachment:
Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 18.33.56.png

How do I adjust the cylinders accordingly? Or does it not matter?

ps: tried running this from my OS X machine terminal directly but no success with disk...


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
That is a strange disk. It has a 4KiB logical sector size. Normally an 'advanced format' disk has a 4KiB physical sector size, and a 512B logical. I don't think the EDMini can boot from this. It needs to read the partition table to find partition 6.
How is that disk connected?

BTW, you should be able to copy&paste that text. Maybe selecting with the mouse, and Ctrl+Shift+C to copy it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Mijzelf wrote:
How is that disk connected?

It is connected thru a USB to SATA/IDE adapter (Model: 179195)
Quote:
BTW, you should be able to copy&paste that text. Maybe selecting with the mouse, and Ctrl+Shift+C to copy it.

I have ubuntu installed on VirtualBox and it doesn't seem to allow me copying from it to my main OS...I could also reply to you connecting from the Ubuntu platform ... :)

This is a normal WD caviar green 1tb drive...
Do you advise trying another drive?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Can you try another USB to SATA converter? I know most (all?) convertors show this behviour when the disk is >2TiB.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Posts: 90
Hi macdalor,

About 4k logical sector size, it is a known issue.

You should read this post http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=991&p=5763&hilit=logical+sector+4096#p5763.

So you need to use another usb interface.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Jocko wrote:
Hi macdalor,

About 4k logical sector size, it is a known issue.

You should read this post http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=991&p=5763&hilit=logical+sector+4096#p5763.

So you need to use another usb interface.

thx Jocko...Then I'm screwed as I don't have any tower pc around where I can stick the drive in... :(

any other alternatives at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
You could use your 5big2.....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group