Install firmware on a new disk

Ethernet disk mini v2
Post Reply
shvarevee
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:07 am

Install firmware on a new disk

Post by shvarevee » Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:03 pm

Hi everyone. I lost hard drive in my EDmini v2, it was 1Tb. Now i found 500Gb sata drive, and i want use it in my EDmini v2. What is the sequence of my movement? What i need to do to start work with absolutli new drive in EDmini v2? I will thank you for any solution.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: EDmini v2 mainline kernel support

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:54 am

Do you want to reinstall the Lacie OS, or install Debian?

shvarevee
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:07 am

Re: EDmini v2 mainline kernel support

Post by shvarevee » Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:27 am

Mijzelf wrote:Do you want to reinstall the Lacie OS, or install Debian?
I want reinstall Lacie OS.
Excuseme - what is the plus in Debian installation?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Install firmware on a new disk

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:31 am

I want reinstall Lacie OS.
I've written a wiki page
Excuseme - what is the plus in Debian installation?
The plus is that Debian is a full-blown server OS, so you can run whatever service you want (provided your CPU and memory are sufficient). Debian has around 25000 packages available. Not all are useful on a NAS, as it's a bit impractical to run software with a GUI, but believe me, there is enough left.
The con is that you'll have to compile your own kernel, and will have to build your system (almost) from scratch. No fancy webinterface (unless you install one), no Samba (unless you install one), no ...

shvarevee
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Install firmware on a new disk

Post by shvarevee » Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:48 pm

Mijzelf wrote:
I want reinstall Lacie OS.
I've written a wiki page
Excuseme - what is the plus in Debian installation?
The plus is that Debian is a full-blown server OS, so you can run whatever service you want (provided your CPU and memory are sufficient). Debian has around 25000 packages available. Not all are useful on a NAS, as it's a bit impractical to run software with a GUI, but believe me, there is enough left.
The con is that you'll have to compile your own kernel, and will have to build your system (almost) from scratch. No fancy webinterface (unless you install one), no Samba (unless you install one), no ...
Mijzelf, thank you very much you instruction is ideal!!! All work now!!! Respect for you!!! Debian is not for me beacouse i need media server on it and it included in Lacie OS.

Thank you Mijzelf!!!

refe
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Install firmware on a new disk

Post by refe » Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:20 am

hello,
i have manage to install a new disk with lacie firmware using this how to http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... Edmini_V2) and this files
http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... artitions/ . thank you verry much Mijzelf
i have a question Mijzelf do you remember the user and the password for the EDmini (v2) serial console?
i have a working server ..but i can't access it ... Admin / Admin root/Admin root/admin root/root ..doesn't work
EDIT :
i have acces with admin/admin on web interface

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Install firmware on a new disk

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Oct 22, 2015 8:49 am

As far as I remember that partitions contain stock Lacie firmware, which means the passwords in /etc/shadow are not known. And I think you can't set them either, as they are overwritten on boot.

But you can install dropbear with key login, which gives you a root shell.

refe
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: Install firmware on a new disk

Post by refe » Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:04 am

Mijzelf wrote:As far as I remember that partitions contain stock Lacie firmware, which means the passwords in /etc/shadow are not known. And I think you can't set them either, as they are overwritten on boot.

But you can install dropbear with key login, which gives you a root shell.
hello Mijzelf,
i have manage to set the ssh using dropbear from your post.
also i manage to reset the root password and it still the one i set even after reboot (i put the dropbear in /dev/sdx8 partition) .

Post Reply