General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 32
rosbif wrote:
Now you just have to hook it up to your EDmini v2, cross your fingers and (hopefully) enjoy


I like to say that It works with my EBD :) !

Thank you for your irreplaceable help :) !

BTW: do you know how to find producer of the flash? Looking at the board is the only way?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Posts: 112
Location: near Toulouse, France
kosmaty wrote:
BTW: do you know how to find producer of the flash? Looking at the board is the only way?

On my EDmini v2 it is a Macronix (aka MXIC) MX29LV400CBTC-70G.
The data sheet is here : http://www.macronix.com/QuickPlace/hq/PageLibrary4825740B00298A3B.nsf/h_Index/7CE3021F57B8EA4848257412002E26CC/$File/MX29LV400C-800C-160CT-B-2.2.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 2:57 pm
Posts: 32
Great!

So I was able to use aribaud's uboot patch :) and I can tell you now, that it works with EBD :) .

U-boot command line with saving option is very pretty thing :D .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 14
Hi guys,

Thanks for a very valuable thread. Even though i couldn't tell from the picture on post #1, knowing the pinout of J2 and probing for 5V made me figure out where was pin1, with the future goal of soldering a serial port connector and connecting with a modified DKU-5 cable. I'm not there yet - my Edmini v2 used to work but it just mysteriously failed after i opened it up. Probing the Hard disk power connector gives me no power when the unit is powered, so i'll have to look for fuses on the board...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 7:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 14
For the record - and having confirmed with the now-reactivated imageshack link from post no 1 (for some reason it didn't work for me the other day) - pin 8 is closer to the power connector and corner of the board, while pin 1 is closer to the Marvell chip and closer to the middle of the board.
EDIT: now that I re-read some of the thread, i could have saved myself some time. I figured the first post had summarized it, but reading the whole thread with attention to details answered my questions after the fact.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group