General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
I haven't used the device for a while and was obsolete for my purposes, however i found a new purpose for the device and started compiling a new kernel for it with the modules. However i am having a issue that it won't get past "Starting the perodic scheduler: crond". After that it hangs... I thought the solution was in one of my earlier posts, however, that was not the trick.

Some searching on Google didn't do as well, only complaining ppl but no answer. I also noticed that after that the message "Id T0 respawing too fast, disabled for 5 minutes". In inittab T0 is my ttyS0 device, are those related to my startup fail?

I hope someone has the golden tip for this :)!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6015
I had the same problem when installing Debian on my EdMini v2. The problem is that console is already on ttyS0, so getty cannot use it. You can just remove the line. My inittab ends like this
Code:
# /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
#
# The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
# characters of the device (after "tty").
#
# Format:
#  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# Get a shell on console
S0::respawn:/bin/sh

# Example how to put a getty on a serial line (for a terminal)
#
#T0:23:respawn:/bin/sh -L ttyS0 115200 vt100
#T1:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 9600 vt100

# Example how to put a getty on a modem line.
#
#T3:23:respawn:/sbin/mgetty -x0 -s 57600 ttyS3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
Aha! And that should correct my boot problems as well? I only need the S0 device and disable the VGA terminals right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6015
It did for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
And for me as well :). However, now the prompt is directly open, is there a way to show the login prompt instead of the logged in prompt?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6015
I *think* you have to exchange /bin/sh by /bin/login.

But does it make sense? When someone is able to connect to the serial port, (s)he can also get the disk out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
That's true :).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
I run this NAS at work now, making backups of my workstation, however, the device runs pretty hot sometime (crappy seagate drive).

Is there already a possibility to control the fan? I know it can run much faster than the "default" running speed. With the original software that seems controllable by LaCie, not by the current kernel it seems.

I just want to let it run at full speed sometimes when it's hot and don't want to mess with the internals.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6015
On the original firmware I cannot find *any* evidence that the fan is software controlled. No process, nothing in /sys, /proc, /dev, dmesg. So I think the it's hardware controlled.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
Mijzelf wrote:
On the original firmware I cannot find *any* evidence that the fan is software controlled. No process, nothing in /sys, /proc, /dev, dmesg. So I think the it's hardware controlled.

Ah, my mistake then, I thought it was controlled by software :). Too bad it's not soft controllable :).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Posts: 112
Location: near Toulouse, France
Hi,
Amandaibags wrote:
Not your direct problem but isn`t a 2.6.16+ kernel mandatory for lenny?
I must say that I also understood that it was.
However it may not be, particularly if a lenny chroot is sufficient for your needs.
I have a lenny chroot running on a MIPS CPU (Realtek RTD1283DD in an Xtreamer) with a 2.6.12 kernel (after a couple of corrections to one MIPS-specific file).

Cheers,
Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6015
langerak wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:
On the original firmware I cannot find *any* evidence that the fan is software controlled. No process, nothing in /sys, /proc, /dev, dmesg. So I think the it's hardware controlled.

Ah, my mistake then, I thought it was controlled by software :). Too bad it's not soft controllable :).

Some more information: Yesterday I flashed the bootloader, and put Debian Squeeze on Linux 3.0 on the box. The goal is to build a safe off-site backup unit, using dm-crypt, rsyncd and ssh-tunnels.
I also started the first rsnapshot session yesterday, and yesterday evening the disk temperature was 48 degrees Celcius. The fan was not very active. This morning the fan is running fast (and loud), and the disk temperature is 37 degrees Celcius (The first backup is still running, dm-crypt is *slow*). So the fan is definitely hardware controlled, and the thermo sensor is not near the disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
I'll try building a 3.0 kernel for this box this weekend to see what it does. It now runs a 2.6.37 kernel. Good to know the fan controls itself, however I've not noticed that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 160
I've built the 3.0.0 kernel. One difference I noticed is that the blue led now stays lit even when booting, where it would normally turn off when my old kernel booted :). Altho it does not blink on any disk activity...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Squeeze
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:34 am
Posts: 16
Hello all,

long time I didn't post any message here. :-)
My EDMINI has the following kernel
Linux lacie320 3.0.4 #2 PREEMPT Thu Oct 13 19:02:13 CEST 2011 armv5tel GNU/Linux
and debian lenny.
It seems that the more recent version of debian (squeeze) doesn't support ARM

http://www.debian.org/releases/squeeze/ (ARM)
http://www.debian.org/releases/lenny/ (only EABI ARM)

did you use squeeze on you EDMINI box?

saluti

Giarrettu


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group