General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 5:30 pm
Posts: 1
LaCie Big Disk Cannot Connect With AFP: Apple File Share Protocol

Image

If you are using a LaCie Big Disk NAS server and have experience a power outage or an unexpected shutdown of the drive, you make loses the ability to connect with Mac using Apple’s file share protocol.

LaCie usual keeps the Apple file share database in the memory of the NAS server. So, when the power flickers or you accidentally pull the plug on the drive it will destroy the apple file share database.

If you can’t connect at all to the LaCie Big Disk after a power failure, you can access the drive with a web browser by ip address. You can then change the ip address of the drive and your afp connection should work, but you will notice you can’t add or see all your data until you rebuild the apple file share database. Here are the instructions.

1- Stop the Apple server (AFP):
Connect to the Big Disk’s administration web page and go to the “Status” tab. From there, “disable” the “Apple Server” (i.e. AFP protocol)

2- Start the FTP client


3- Connect the FTP client to the Big Disk

4- Once, you have connected to the ftp share you will be in the directory of “/”. You will need to changed directory to a hidden folder called “share“. (The LaCie Support tech did NOT provide this information).Once you are in the share directory you will need to Go to the ‘.AppleDB‘ folder which is also hidden.

Command will look like this:

“cd share/.AppleDB”


5 - Delete all the content of the ‘.AppleDB’ folder.

6 - Restart the Apple server (AFP):
Connect to the Big Disk’s administration web page and go to the “Status” tab. From there, “enable” the Apple Server (i.e. AFP)

One more phase before you are complete ready to go. Now you need to reset the NAS server back to factory settings. You will NOT lose your data. This has been tested.

Below are instructions for a total reset of the device:

1. Switch OFF your Big Disk

2. Switch ON your Big Disk but HOLD DOWN the power button.

3. After a few seconds (~15s) the button’s LED should begin blinking. RELEASE then the button.

4. Quickly after having released the button (~3s), it’s LED will continue to blink but with a different rhythm. PUSH AGAIN the power button and HOLD IT down.

5. A few seconds after having pushed again the button, it’s LED will continue to blink but with a third different rhythm. You can now definitely release the button.
At this stage, your device should have been configured back to its factory default settings.


6. You will need to go rename the share to whatever it was called in the first place. The ip will probably change so download the LaCie IP Configurator from the Lacie website, it will find it and report back with the ip address is now using.You will need to set it back to a static ip before you install the shares on the workstations. If not it will use DHCP.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group