2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:21 pm

Hi

I 'd tried different way to upgrade my 2bigNetwork from 500g to 2T.
First i pulled one hdd and put a 2To, ok sync!
I putted the second 2To, great sync !
But the sync was like only 500g size....

i tried different way, i rooted the nas, delete the corresponding array, rebuild it, yes the sync was 2To.
i rebooted, an i lost it......

Anyway every thing was out of order even my 500g hdd

I tried to build it from scratch with http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... 82Big_2%29
i used a script to automate the process http://paste.debian.net/178167/
i'v booted the lacie, but nothing
nothing on the network...

if someone got an advice
thx !

ps the log of my device
hdd1 : http://paste.debian.net/178171/
hdd2 : http://paste.debian.net/178170/

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:30 am

Are you sure you have a 2Big2, and not a 2Big? AFAIK the 2Big2 has not been for sale with 500GB disks. The difference can be seen on the back. A 2Big has a switch to choose between raid0 and raid1 (although Lacie has given them different names), while the 2Big2 hasn't.

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:02 pm

HI

It's writen above the box 2 Big Network II and it have with a switch raid 0/1.

It's the same board like this one 2BigNetwork

http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... .38.02.jpg

And i tried to rebuild with http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... 82Big_2%29

Ok, like i don't know now... by which way i'll handle my nas

Thx for your help

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:13 am

OK, so you obviously have got the 2Big, and not the 2Big2. In that case you could use the same directions to prepare your disks, but you'll need other partition dumps: http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... s%202.2.3/

Cdnr1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:26 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Cdnr1 » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:42 pm

can somebody help me i dont now any thing about fdisk
so is there a script or a image of the 2 hard disk to fixs my nas

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:13 pm

Hi Mijzelf

First thank you, for these image, it looks better, i've an new ip on the network !

But, no one open port, two blue continous light on the back, and a blinking blue in front..

I look on the documentation, it tell it could be the power suply ! strange

If u have a good advise again :)

I change the script to detect the size of your hard drive sector, to format with the right geometry (like my wd green with 4k sector), and handle udev...
http://paste.debian.net/178830/

Thx

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:54 am

You can have a look at the logfiles of the Lacie OS. I think they can be found in sda9/snaps/XX. Mount the partition read-only, as it's a half raid1 array. Filesystem is ext3:

Code: Select all

mount -t ext3 -o ro /dev/sdx9 mountpoint

Cdnr1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:26 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Cdnr1 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:23 am

: not found5: script.sh:
: not found9: script.sh:
: not found12: script.sh:
: not found14: script.sh:
: not found16: script.sh:
script.sh: 17: script.sh: Syntax error: "(" unexpected

???????????

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:28 pm

@Cdnr1: Did you download the script, or copy&paste it? In the latter case, make sure the script doesn't start with an empty line, and make sure the script has Linux line endings.

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:01 pm

Hi Mijzelf

The 2Big partionning table is the same as the 2Big2 ? because i worked with

http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... 82Big_2%29

and i found this http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... ntable.txt

Thx

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:10 am

AFAIK it doesn't really matter, as long as the partitions have the right numbering, and are big enough to contain the firmware.

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

SOLVED : new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:45 am

Hi :D

I'v completed it !

I'v modified the script with the right partition table.
I passed the script on my two disk
I setup the NAS with raid "Big" alias raid 0

And the NAS boot, and every thing ok, i found the login form.
I'm currently synchronizing my "Safe 100" alias raid 1...

Thx Mijzelf for all informations

For the one that need automated downloading image, formating and rebuild raid from scratch, here is the script
http://paste.debian.net/179017/

To run the script, you have to be on a linux os, or live os.

grant the root right
for like ubuntu based
$ sudo su (and type your password)
for debian like
$ su (and type your root password)
Till your terminal show you the prompt like
#

The script need a blank hard drive (if is not, run #gparted, and delete all partition of your LACIE drive, careful it's the right one!)

And you're ready
Make your script executable
chmod + /pathtoyourscript/prepare_lacie_2big.sh

Run the script like
# ./prepare_lacie_2big.sh
I: Complete logs will be in log.out
Usage: ./prepare_lacie_2big.sh /dev/...

It tells all is logged in log.out
And it needs the path to your lacie drive

Run the script with YOUR LACIE drive (careful), if you drive is an empty one, and the script tell you there is an already raid or mounted partition, careful, maybe you choose a wrong drive.
# ./prepare_lacie_2big.sh /dev/sdX (X must be the letter of your Lacie drive, in my case is the c)

It will print line like
I: Complete logs will be in log.out
I: Look for required tools...
I: Stopping udev
I: Using MD device: /dev/md0
I: Writing partition table
I: /dev/sdc5: creates swap space...
I: /dev/sdc7: creates ext2 FS...
I: /dev/sdc7: extracts sda7.tgz content...
I: /dev/sdc8: creates ext2 FS...
I: /dev/sdc8: extracts sda8.tgz content...
I: /dev/sdc9: creates ext2 FS...
I: /dev/sdc2: creates XFS FS...
I: /dev/sdc6: extracts sda6.tgz content...
I: /dev/sdc10: fills up with zeroes...
I: Done (hope nothing wrong happened :P )
I: Restart udev
I: Bye enjoy !

First drive is done
Do the same for the second one...

Choose "Big" mode on your NAS, boot it.
And here it goes!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Jul 14, 2012 12:28 pm

Hey, that's great. Congratulations.

Did you check the partition table which was generated by your first script? I did a diff on the both scripts, and saw that the new script put numbers where the old one had nothing, e.g. ,,83 -> ,1,83

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:57 pm

Yes, because i didn't know the size of the sdX.tgz, and i wanted that the partition must be the same as found on http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... ntable.txt

Then according to sfdisk output, i change the size to ,,83 on the latest script.

OK, next step debian ;) ! following

http://lacie-nas.org/doku.php?id=clunc
and
http://lacie-nas.org/doku.php?id=installdebian2big

Thx

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:32 am

Netfailed wrote:next step debian
Really? Chuckle In that case you didn't need to restore the firmware first. Well, anyway, at least we now have a working script, and a documented success story.

Post Reply