General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:43 am
Posts: 4
Well, first strike.

It's not working... The blue LED on the front always flash n drives r still always booting...

The config is the same on both drives so... hmmm

I can't obtain an ip adress from my DHCP.

Let's retry....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
PaiZaNo wrote:
Let's retry....
Any news?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:43 am
Posts: 4
Nah sorry... maybe this week end...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
well they kick my user account ...

after a second retry, strike 2.

i have 2 1TB Caviar GREEN WD10EARX.

Both disk with same config.

When i start the NAS, the led always flashing (boot mode)

i take a look before n after with gparted :


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
if u take a look after, u can see :


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
its look like the sdc 8 n sdc 9 r formated :?

That s for my first hdd. I will check the second n i come back.

Victim.... yeah right :?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Did you create raid arrays on sda8 and -9? I'm a bit surprised that gparted tells about the contents of a (half) raid array.
PaiZaN1 wrote:
Victim.... yeah right
:mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
/dev/sdb8 (ro layer rootfs)

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sdb8 missing --metadata=0.90
mke2fs -j /dev/md0
mount /dev/md0 /tmp/md0
cd /tmp/md0
tar xzf /full/path/to/sda8.tgz
cd ..
umount /tmp/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

/dev/sdb9 (rw layer rootfs)

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sdb9 missing --metadata=0.90
mke2fs -j /dev/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

like u said in the direction.. Should i guess n add a cmd line ? :mrgreen:

Ty for the support, much appreciate !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
I forget to say that the second hd never change so... :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
PaiZaN1 wrote:
I forget to say that the second hd never change so... :?:
? That is strange. I'll re-study the scripts, to see if I can find out what's happening.
I suppose you don't have the possibility to hook up a serial port?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
I can try, what's ur plan ?

I have a serial port on my laptop, but for the power, i need my wonderful P4 tower !

I will retry with the latest fdisk version. Maybe !?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Quote:
I can try, what's ur plan ?
The script logs it actions to the serial port. So having a serial terminal connected while booting should tell what's happening.
Quote:
I have a serial port on my laptop
The problem for the serial port is most likely on the NAS side. You'll need a TTL level converter, and most converters have an USB connection at the host side.
Quote:
I will retry with the latest fdisk version. Maybe !?
I don't think fdisk is the problem, as it's a pretty basic, and not proactive, fortunately.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
According to this feedback the instruction should work. The 5Big is a 5-disk 2Big. (Duh!)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:06 pm
Posts: 7
Mijzelf wrote:
(Duh!)
:mrgreen:

So let's retry once again... with no beers this time... :shock:

Just to be sure :

The 2Big Image here:
http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... s%202.2.3/

n this part of the script :

============================================
/dev/sdb6 (kernel)

gzip -cd /full/path/to/sda6.gz | dd of=/dev/sdb6

right ?

It's what i did last time...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Ah yes, a typo. I updated the wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: npierpointruebe and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group