LaCie 2big NAS RAID Problem.....

Post Reply
EADR
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:01 am

LaCie 2big NAS RAID Problem.....

Post by EADR » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:14 am

Hi All,

I was hoping that someone could help me with a RAID problem that i'm currently looking at. It's a LaCie 2big NAS that has failed. The drives appear ok but the controller card has power issues and now fails to power the unit. I have successfully imaged both drives (2 x 1TB) and can view information from both. The main enclosure indicates that the array was set up in 'Safe 100' mode and as far as I can understand this should be a RAID 1 mirror, but the data on the drives does NOT confirm this. I have tried running simple utilities like Runtime's NAS Recovery and Raid Reconstructor, and both give errors ('divide by zero' and 'invalid stripe size').

When you view the partitions in WinHex on both drives, drive 1 has a valid SGI XFS main partition, and you can view a file system and folder structures (Folder and file names) but if you look at the rest of the drive in WinHex, there is NO data in the partition, it is completely empty. If you look at drive 2 in WinHex we have an invalid partition, that has data in it.

Needless to say, I'm at a sticking point on this now, It would appear that the MFT's are on a recognised partition on Drive 1 whilst the data is on an unrecognised partition on drive 2.

Can anyone please shed some light on this from either a recovery point (from the disk images) or from a controller repair.

Many thanks all...

Steve

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: LaCie 2big NAS RAID Problem.....

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:03 pm

First, the 2Big doesn't have a RAID controller, it's software raid.

Any Linux PC should be able to assemble the array, and mount it. Maybe after installing mdadm. (For example Ubuntu doesn't have that installed by default).

I don't know what 'Safe 100' means, AFAIK the 2Big supports two modes, RAID0 and RAID1 (and *maybe* JBOD). 'Safe' suggests RAID1, but in that case both disks should be equal, so I suppose it's RAID0. In that case the stripe size will be 64kB, I think, so one disk will indeed contain a valid header, up to 64 kB in size.

EADR
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:01 am

Re: LaCie 2big NAS RAID Problem.....

Post by EADR » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:49 pm

Hi Mizjelf,

After my posting, I did a bit more research and indeed managed to get the RAID mounted in Linux (with the help of mdadm).

Thanks for your response and valuable info....much appreciated.

Steve..

Post Reply