2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Cdnr1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:26 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Cdnr1 » Sun Jul 15, 2012 8:24 pm

. /home/cd/Desktop/script.sh /dev/sdc
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
bash: /home/cd/Desktop/script.sh: line 16: syntax error near unexpected token `$'{\r''
'ash: /home/cd/Desktop/script.sh: line 16: `function _exit() {

im using ubuntu 1204 lts

and i cant get it to work because i dont now wy

Netfailed
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Netfailed » Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:11 am

HI
The script might not have execute permission... "chmod +x script.sh". Then, "./script.sh" should, as long as you are in the directory where the script is.

Cdnr1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:26 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Cdnr1 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:28 pm

now the script did its thing but now when i put the 2 disks in the nas the front button flashes from red to blue and blue to red 10 secons or something then the led goes off hou do i now if the script failed or my nas is dead

Mijzelf
Posts: 6206
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:02 pm

What does it do without disks, or with empty/wrongly equipped disks? If it behaves different, the nas is not dead.

To know it for sure you should wire up the serial port, and look at the bootlog.

BTW, are you sure you have a 2Big, and not a 2Big 2?

Cdnr1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:26 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Cdnr1 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:09 pm

with empty or no disks the led stays red but is there a manual how to connect serial port to see the boot log

Mijzelf
Posts: 6206
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:35 am

Here are specifications for the 2Big2. I suppose the 2Big is equal.

LacieHasser
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:25 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by LacieHasser » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:57 pm

@ Netfailed:

just test your script, but it stops in line 105:

Code: Select all

./prepare_2big.sh: line 105: bc: command not found
Whats wrong here?
LacieHasser

Mijzelf
Posts: 6206
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:39 pm

You don't have 'bc' installed.

LacieHasser
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:25 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by LacieHasser » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:57 am

Yes, that's right, find it out using a normal Ubuntu-distri on PC - its unfortunally not included in the gparted-Live-CD v0.11 :-(

So I modified the script manually with the cylinders found in hdparm & it works fine!
But looking on the partition table i'am a bit confused:

Code: Select all

Disk /dev/sda: 121601 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors/track
Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

   Device Boot Start     End   #cyls    #blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1          1     125     125    1004062+   5  Extended
/dev/sda2        126  121600  121475  975747937+  fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda3          0+      0       1-      8032   83  Linux
/dev/sda4          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
/dev/sda5          1+     16      16-    128519+  fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda6         17+     17       1-      8032   83  Linux
/dev/sda7         18+     18       1-      8032   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda8         19+     39      21-    168682   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda9         40+    122      83-    666697   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda10       123+    125       3-     24097   83  Linux
There is an existing /dev/sda3 instead of an empty!

Nevertheless I put it into the 2big-box which really recognize my 2 fresh 1 Tb-WD disks!
It runs very well in BIG-mode & RAID1, now for a second time, in v2.2.3 instead of the outdated v2.0.6 before! :D :D

But updating to 2.2.6 w. Lacie Network Adminstration (LNA-tool) on Mac or XP failed: "This is not a Network device".
Then I try it via Web-interface w. FF (doesn't work because of Javascript-error) neither on XP nor Mac and not w. Safari, but works w. an old IE v6.0 (maybe 7 or 8 or higher also working), the file is transferred, but w.out changing something - after rebooting I've got the blinking blue LED...

Did someone manage an update to 2.2.6 or 2.2.8?
LacieHasser

nmarzoni
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by nmarzoni » Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:20 pm

Hello!
I am trying to run the scrip but an error occurs. After the scrips shows I: Writing partition table, the process stop and the following message was showns in the log file.

SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, sb[]: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0a 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
(standard_in) 1: syntax error
64+0 registros leídos
64+0 registros escritos
32768 bytes (33 kB) copiados, 0,0873896 s, 375 kB/s
Usage:
sfdisk [options] <device> [...]


I have a Lace 2Big Network with two Hitachi HardDrive 500GB.
Please, could somebody helps?

nmarzoni
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by nmarzoni » Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:20 pm

nmarzoni wrote:Hello!
I am trying to run the scrip but an error occurs. After the scrips shows I: Writing partition table, the process stop and the following message was showns in the log file.

SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, sb[]: 70 00 05 00 00 00 00 0a 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
(standard_in) 1: syntax error
64+0 registros leídos
64+0 registros escritos
32768 bytes (33 kB) copiados, 0,0873896 s, 375 kB/s
Usage:
sfdisk [options] <device> [...]


I have a Lace 2Big Network with two Hitachi HardDrive 500GB.
Please, could somebody helps?
I found the problem. I am working with Ubuntu in Spanish so fdisk returns the info in spanish. I have to change the current line SIZE=`fdisk -l $1 | grep Disco | awk '{print $5}'`
Thanks.

nmarzoni
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by nmarzoni » Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:58 pm

I follow all the steps but my NAS still is dead!
I could not connect and it did not shutdown with the on/off switch.

What more else can I do?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6206
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:16 pm

Are you sure it's a 2Big, and not a 2Big2?

morphosis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:27 pm

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by morphosis » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:53 pm

Hi everyone,
thanks for the awesome work that you do, i have find this forum when i have tried to repair my 2big network.
Into the lacie there are two original Hitachi 500GB disks. I think that the 2big isn't dead why the HD start and I notice a different sequence in the front led light after I run a script in this 3d.

Unfortunately, it don't start, the led blink on blu and nothing happened.
In my case, if I open the log of the script I can read that the partition table is correct but when try with fdisk it don't match and the first sector start from "2" and not from"1".
I read, too, that in the sdb10 there is an error. There isn't enought space to copy the file.
Now I must renstall Ubuntu and I try to relaunch the script.

Excuse for my english and thank you.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6206
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2 new hdd, don't want to boot

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:07 pm

Recently I discovered that not all fdisk programs behave trhe same. Here you can read the story. (Partly in German). I also documented it in this wiki article, as a note on fdisk usage.
I don't know how to catch this in a script.

Post Reply