General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 5:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
[?] 2Big Network, partition size

ok, i went through that 15 pages threads regarding how to restore the image, however, i got a problem i dont know how to properly resize the hdd? as those image are for 1TB, and i have 750GB, after i did the command it shows my entire drive = 1TB. but infact is 750GB, how do i correct that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
How did you prepare the disks?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
humm...i did not really partition the HDD, the Lacie tech support insisted that i dont need any HDD image or anything,
Quote:
Offical Lacie Support
Good Day Allen



Drive is 2big network version 1. you can use LaCie Network Assistant to detect the drive. http://www.lacie.com/ca/support/drivers ... m?id=10138



The procedure below will reset the 2Big Network to factory settings:

IMPORTANT NOTE: Following the procedure below can ERASE ALL DATA on the drive. Prior to following these directions, verify important data is stored securely on a different storage device.

Switch the drive OFF. Once it has shut down, ensure the power switch remains in the OFF position.

If the drive is in the SAFE mode, move the RAID switch to the BIG mode.

PRESS AND HOLD the button on the front. MOVE the power switch to the ON position. The light on the front of the drive will start blinking.

Once the light stops blinking, RELEASE the front button.

When released, it will begin BLINKING AGAIN. When it stops, PRESS AND HOLD the front button. The light will begin to blink again.

When the light stops blinking, RELEASE the button. The drive is now resetting itself. Switch the RAID selector back to SAFE if desired.

To restore data if it was lost during the process, recreate the shares and users on the unit prior to the reset. Any firmware updates applied will need to be applied again.

Regards,


i even ask them if both HDD Are NEW or ZERO out!

they reply
Quote:
Lacie Offical Support

Yes, even empty disks. Please make sure that the disks are compatible.



Regards,


unless i am missing something, after reading all the tread, everyone said i need those partition..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
Are you saying that you installed 2 empty 750 GB disks, did a factory reset, and now you have a more or less working box, with as remaining problem that the data partition is too big? :shock:

allenpan wrote:
unless i am missing something, after reading all the tread, everyone said i need those partition..
Yeah. I never saw a 2Big, but according to the wiki, and corresponding with my experience with other Lacie's (2Big2, Edmini V2, Networkspace, Networkspace 2), the box only has 512kB rom. Not enough to rebuild the partitions, which contains about 45MB data (compressed).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
ok, i guess it becomes more confusing now:

i have: 2x 750GB "empty HDD" & 2Big

what i mean is i tried the follwing:
- using LNA recovery method (can't find the drive for a whole day)
- following the support method, does not seems to work
- using the file from u (http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... s%202.2.3/) and do a gzip -dc /dev/sda/aaa/.mbr+label.gz | dd of=/dev/sdb

when i do that i see the hdd grow to almost 1TB, and i dont know how to edit the partition table to resize to proper size


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
fdisk /dev/sdb

type 'm'.

You have to delete partition 2, and re-add it, to make it fill up the space.

http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Installing_firmware_on_fresh_disks_(2Big_2)#Create_partitions


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
ok now i face another problem for some reason my sdb6/7/10 so on are 7008+ blocks instead of 8001, why is that and how to fix it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
Fdisk has to use as unit cylinders of 8225280 bytes. If your fdisk shows units of sectors of 512 bytes, press 'u<enter>' to toggle units. If your fdisk shows cylinders of a different size press 'x<enter>' to toggle to 'expert' mode, and use 'h' and 's' to change the number of heads to 255, and the number of sectors per track to 63


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
Mijzelf wrote:
Fdisk has to use as unit cylinders of 8225280 bytes. If your fdisk shows units of sectors of 512 bytes, press 'u<enter>' to toggle units. If your fdisk shows cylinders of a different size press 'x<enter>' to toggle to 'expert' mode, and use 'h' and 's' to change the number of heads to 255, and the number of sectors per track to 63



i tried that and still shows 7008+

Code:
Code:

ubuntu:~# fdisk /dev/sda
Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1         250     2008093+   5  Extended
/dev/sda2             251      121601   974751907+  83  Linux
/dev/sda5               1          32      255984+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6              33          33        7008+  83  Linux
/dev/sda7              34          34        7008+  83  Linux
/dev/sda8              35         140      850421   83  Linux
/dev/sda9             141         249      874518+  83  Linux
/dev/sda10            250         250        7008+  83  Linux


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
also whats different between those files in ur download folder?

http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... s%202.2.3/

and

http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... zelf/2big/

i am using the 2.2.3 files...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
allenpan wrote:
i tried that and still shows 7008+
I think it doesn't matter. The partitions are 1 cylinder in size, and a cylinder is 8225280 bytes, ~8001KiB. Don't know why fdisk shows 7008+.
Quote:
also whats different between those files in ur download folder?
The 'mdx' files are compressed raw raid partitions. Don't know which firmware version, and afaik nobody ever succeeded in restoring them successfully. (Due to the wrong UUID in eeprom, I suppose). The 'sdx' files are the compressed files inside the partitions. These are the ones which should be used.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
hummm, another problem i am facing is, when i do "tar xzf /full/path/to/sda7.tgz" it says not enough space, is it has to do with "7008+" size? instead of 8001?

also you mention no one ever restore 2Big Network V1? man... i got 2 of those sitting here...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
Quote:
hummm, another problem i am facing is, when i do "tar xzf /full/path/to/sda7.tgz" it says not enough space, is it has to do with "7008+" size? instead of 8001?
Yes? 7008 KiB could be too little for the filesystem. But by default partition is always a plurality of one cylinder, so the partition should be 8001 KiB. Unless you switched the cylinder size *after* you created the partitions?
If yes, remove sda5-sda10, exit fdisk, start it again, set the right cylinder size, and re-create them.
If no, well, you have no choice to re-create the partitions, and give sda6,7 and 10 two cylinders instead of one. You can rob them from sda9.

Quote:
also you mention no one ever restore 2Big Network V1? man... i got 2 of those sitting here...
Not using the md dumps. The dumps you are using should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 18
hummm, now the front big light does not flash red anymore, however, is Lacie's LA can;t find the drive, how do i find out ip or access to the boot infomation on the NAS? the 2 LED on the back is solid blue, the front is off,

so basiclly i want to know how i know if everything is working fine? or the defult ip?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
AFAIK the default is DHCP, so have a look in your routers status page.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group