Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:35 pm

Hello, our local Walmart/Asda store recently had these drives on sale & I got 2 off at £31.50 each (damn cheap).

I am happy using mine as a network drive for now (well, as long as it stops locking up on me) however my son would like
to use his by taking the SATA drive out & putting it direct into his desktop.
Even doing this it makes it an extremely good value drive.

I see from another thread that I can use butter knives etc to open the case & remove the drive, however what I would like to know before I do this is...

1) Can we just remove all partitions on the drive & start again (my son uses XP)?

2) Can I put another drive in the now empty box? I have a 300gb drive spare I can do this with?

3) If #1 = yes, will we lose any information (the drives are factory default at the mo) that should be backed up to do #2?

Your advice in this would be appreciated.
Thank you.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Sun Jul 12, 2009 6:32 pm

Further, I see that this is the drive inside.

Is the information etc needed to act as a server etc stored on the drive or the controller?

Thank you.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:29 am

1) Yes.
2) Yes.
3) Yes.

There are several threads in the LaCie forum which discuss exchanging harddisks in a LaCie NAS. One, another and a third. And there are more. Have a look at them, and when you've still questions you're welcome.

(BTW, why not just put the 300GB drive in your son's PC? OK, it's less fun, but also less risk).

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:28 pm

OK thank you.

I have not read in the other forums as I did not know if they are the same as the network space inside.

When I take the 500gb disc out I'll put it on my other sons ubuntu pc first & have a look.
Then return if I have further questions.

As for why not give my son the 300gb, well he's paying for the 500gb & the 300gb is currently full of my stuff.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:11 am

mattylad wrote:I have not read in the other forums as I did not know if they are the same as the network space inside.
Well, they are not exactly the same (you can't exchange the disks without further work), but this is about 'how to clone any linux system'.

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:28 am

OK thank you.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:32 pm

I have finally got to removing the original drive.
This one is new out of the box so does not have any personal data on it.

In order to put a new drive back in the box, what do I need to do?
Your previous comment suggest I "clone it", can you please suggest how I go about that?

Before I go to my 13yr old son to beg for some time on his PC (he has Ubuntu) I need to know what I'm trying to do.

Thank you,
Matty
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:42 pm

Well, maybe the easiest way to do it (as suggested in another thread, I've no experience with it) is download Linux Ghost, burn a bootable CD with the ISO, and use the 'Click'n'Clone option. You don't even need a Linux computer.

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:51 pm

Cheers, although it will be plugged into a Linux PC to do, I'm only on a laptop.

Thats once I find a spare power lead... :D
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Sun Sep 06, 2009 9:01 pm

HI, I had a look with the NG disk, but could not figure out what to do.

I want to be able to make a DVD out of the image from the disk.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Sep 07, 2009 10:24 am

Norton Ghost I suppose?

I never used it, but reading this I suggest you to try the 'Local->Disk->To Image' variant, which could give a file which fits on a DVD. On the other hand, reading 'System Requirements' here, I find that NG doesn't support XFS filesystem. According to this thread the data partition is XFS. NG could handle this in two ways:
1- just skip the unknown partition
2- create a binary dump

If NG uses 1-, the image will easily fit on a DVD, but after restoring you will have to format the data partition yourself. If NG uses 2- without compression the image will be as big as the disk. If NG uses 2- with compression it could fit, assuming the datapartition is mainly empty and never used. But it will only restore on a disk at least as big as the original, since NG can't resize a unknown filesystem.
So if you have the choice, just skip the data partition (by far the biggest, almost the whole disk) and recreate it by hand, after restoring.

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:56 pm

Cheers.

By the sound of it I am going to be either finding someone local that can help me or just repartitioning the drive for windows forgetting about reusing the case.

I only have a fortnight now.. lol
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:44 pm

Hello all, I find that my 500GB drive is almost full now, only about 40gb left.

What I'm thinking of doing is getting another NAS drive.

However before I go and buy a complete unit, I could always use my spare case.

However that would mean that I need a copy of the original drives.

Any recommendation for doing this?

Is there an image available or would I be able to take the current one, plug them both into a linux PC and copy
the entire setup from the current one to a new drive then just delete the contents on the new drive?

I can get a 750GB drive for about £40 to do this.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:58 am

mattylad wrote:would I be able to take the current one, plug them both into a linux PC and copy
the entire setup from the current one to a new drive then just delete the contents on the new drive?
That is certainly possible. Read here. About opening the case read here.

mattylad
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:20 pm

Re: Network Space 500Gb - removing & replacing the drive?

Post by mattylad » Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:04 pm

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I just got a 750gb USB drive nice & cheap today, but it turned out to be IDE so I won't be using the 2nd box too son.
I think I will just have to connect it to the USB port instead.

When I get another SATA drive I will revisit this.
Dumb Windows user & 500gb Network Store owner.
I'm not compatible with Linux :(

Post Reply