General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:17 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 2
Hello, sorry I do not speak good English but I try to make myself understood.
I have a Lacie 500GB networkspace, which is almost full.
I wanted to replace the hard disk with a new 2 tb.
I bought it but I do not know how to replace it.
That is, if I just have to mount it is not a problem, my concern is the operating system.
I tried to clone the hard drive from 500GB up to 2TB, but the system does not recognize the hard disk.
I wanted to ask if there is a way to install the same system, or some other distro of linux on hard drive 2tb networkspace and use the hardware.
Thanks in advance.

Mysteriis


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6072
2TB could be a problem. The kernel for the Networkspace is rather old, and I don't know if it supports that size.

When the kernel supports it, it is fairly possible to clone your system. Connect both disks to a Linux system. Use
Code:
cat /proc/partitions
to identify your disks. I'll assume sdb the old disk, and sdc the new disk.
Copy the system (first, let's say, 2GiB) Make sure you are using the right disk identifiers:
Code:
dd if=/dev/sdb of=/dev/sdc count=4000000

Then use fdisk to delete partition 2, (the data partition) and recreate it:
Code:
fdisk /dev/sdc
The exact keystrokes are:
d<enter>2<enter> (delete partition 2)
n<enter>p<enter>2<enter> (create new, primary, partition at slot 2)
<enter><enter> (default start- end endsector)
w<enter> (write changes and exit)
Create a filesystem on it:
Code:
mke2fs -j /dev/sdc2
Now you can put the new disk in the Networkspace, and it should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:41 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the quick reply.
Now I'm installing ubuntu on another pc. So after I do the test.
Not doing this is that the risk of losing all data on your hard drive 500gb?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6072
When you make a mistake with the identification of the old and new disk, yes, then you can kill your data. If you exchange them you will copy the contents of your new disk to the old one.

You could also use klooride's paritition dumps to fill your new disk, and leave your old disk untouched, if that makes you feel safer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:24 pm
Posts: 1
My 500GB Lacie Network Space drive crashed and with a lot of help from this forum and the downloads I've been able to install a 2 TB drive in the NS and update the frimware to 1.1.10.
I was only able to update the frimware when the data part of the drive (sdx2) as a FAT32 FS and had to wait to format the drive by the lacie network space untill firmware updates where complete.

The only small problem I still have is that after a reset the NS loses it's time (with pool.ntp.org set as time server). After I change the time and date it indicates fine.

My question is: Should NS retain the time or at least update the time after shut down and start up?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group