General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:35 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NSA 210 HDD Red Light
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 6
Hi Everyone,

A few days ago I installed a 2TB Western Digital Green, on my NSA210 (Firmrware 4.41).
I copied my files from my PC to the NSA210 and everything was fine until...

Yesterday morning I noticed that the HDD Light is Red. I assumed that if it was too many hours idle, maybe the HDD would stop.
I did a restart to the NSA210 and it worked correctly.
This morning again I saw a red HDD light. I did a restart but since then, it keeps red, and the in the administration page it show as "down".

Is it a hard disk problem, or something else?

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 6
Hello again,
I removed the disk from the NSA and check it with Disk Sentinel on my PC.
Disk Sentinel showed that it's OK.
The problem is that I can't transfer my files to another drive, because although the BIOS is detecting the disk, in the Windows when I check the storage, I see the disk, but I can't do any action. I see two "freezed" partitions.

What should I do... I don't want to format the Hard Disk but I can't access it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 6
Any ideas? I don't know how to access the contain of the HD through WIN8 so to take a backup of the HD and the format it again...
plz help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 6
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
xfs_repair return value:1

These are the result from the Scan Repair...any ideas?
Please help...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 6
kracken74 wrote:
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
xfs_repair return value:1

These are the result from the Scan Repair...any ideas?
Please help...



It's funny although that I'm asking for help for 1 day, and no one can help my... :/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am
Posts: 6
Update:

After a lot of search, I found that the disk is formated in kinda Linux Raid.
I load Ubuntu on my PC and I managed to read the 1st partition (Ext2), but I can't access the 2 which is labeled Linux Raid Member.
Although I remeber I set up the NSA210 under JBOD system, why is now under Raid?
and how can I have access to this Raid?

Still is weird why although this forum has a lot of knowledge to these matters, no one can give me a single clue...

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
kracken74 wrote:
fatal error -- Input/output error
This is almost for sure a hardware error. Try a diagnostic tool from the disk vendor.
kracken74 wrote:
I can't access the 2 which is labeled Linux Raid Member.
Although I remeber I set up the NSA210 under JBOD system, why is now under Raid?
The data partition on a ZyXEL is always a raid array. In your case probably a single disk raid1 array.
Quote:
and how can I have access to this Raid?
By assembling it. Open a terminal, and find out the device node of the data partition:
Code:
cat /proc/partitions
It's probably sdb2. The size is given in 'blocks', which are kB.

When you have located the partition, assemble the array:
Code:
sudo mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sdb2 --run
When this succeeds, you can try to mount /dev/md0. (Which will possibly fail due to that filesystem error).
Maybe you have to install mdadm first:
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mdadm --no-install-recommends


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group