NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Oxnas 810 based
Post Reply
kracken74
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am

NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by kracken74 » Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:35 am

Hi Everyone,

A few days ago I installed a 2TB Western Digital Green, on my NSA210 (Firmrware 4.41).
I copied my files from my PC to the NSA210 and everything was fine until...

Yesterday morning I noticed that the HDD Light is Red. I assumed that if it was too many hours idle, maybe the HDD would stop.
I did a restart to the NSA210 and it worked correctly.
This morning again I saw a red HDD light. I did a restart but since then, it keeps red, and the in the administration page it show as "down".

Is it a hard disk problem, or something else?

Thanks in advance!

kracken74
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am

Re: NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by kracken74 » Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:17 am

Hello again,
I removed the disk from the NSA and check it with Disk Sentinel on my PC.
Disk Sentinel showed that it's OK.
The problem is that I can't transfer my files to another drive, because although the BIOS is detecting the disk, in the Windows when I check the storage, I see the disk, but I can't do any action. I see two "freezed" partitions.

What should I do... I don't want to format the Hard Disk but I can't access it!

kracken74
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am

Re: NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by kracken74 » Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:00 pm

Any ideas? I don't know how to access the contain of the HD through WIN8 so to take a backup of the HD and the format it again...
plz help!

kracken74
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am

Re: NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by kracken74 » Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:12 pm

Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
xfs_repair return value:1

These are the result from the Scan Repair...any ideas?
Please help...

kracken74
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am

Re: NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by kracken74 » Fri Sep 19, 2014 7:44 pm

kracken74 wrote:Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
superblock read failed offset 499967459328 size 2048 ag 1 rval -1
fatal error -- Input/output error
xfs_repair return value:1

These are the result from the Scan Repair...any ideas?
Please help...

It's funny although that I'm asking for help for 1 day, and no one can help my... :/

kracken74
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:22 am

Re: NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by kracken74 » Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:05 am

Update:

After a lot of search, I found that the disk is formated in kinda Linux Raid.
I load Ubuntu on my PC and I managed to read the 1st partition (Ext2), but I can't access the 2 which is labeled Linux Raid Member.
Although I remeber I set up the NSA210 under JBOD system, why is now under Raid?
and how can I have access to this Raid?

Still is weird why although this forum has a lot of knowledge to these matters, no one can give me a single clue...

Thanks.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NSA 210 HDD Red Light

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:40 am

kracken74 wrote:fatal error -- Input/output error
This is almost for sure a hardware error. Try a diagnostic tool from the disk vendor.
kracken74 wrote:I can't access the 2 which is labeled Linux Raid Member.
Although I remeber I set up the NSA210 under JBOD system, why is now under Raid?
The data partition on a ZyXEL is always a raid array. In your case probably a single disk raid1 array.
and how can I have access to this Raid?
By assembling it. Open a terminal, and find out the device node of the data partition:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/partitions
It's probably sdb2. The size is given in 'blocks', which are kB.

When you have located the partition, assemble the array:

Code: Select all

sudo mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sdb2 --run
When this succeeds, you can try to mount /dev/md0. (Which will possibly fail due to that filesystem error).
Maybe you have to install mdadm first:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mdadm --no-install-recommends

Post Reply