NSA210 Media Server Issues

Oxnas 810 based
Post Reply
InvaderMark
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:09 pm

NSA210 Media Server Issues

Post by InvaderMark » Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:21 pm

Recently changed a folder name, however the update did not get applied to any device I attempted to connect to the NSA210. I tried to rebuild the database and rescan content but it didn't help. It actually made it worse. Now no media appears on my XBox 360 nor in the web interface.

All folders and media still appear and are intact in Explorer when I browse to \\nsa210. I've scanned, did the rebuild database and rescan content multiple times to no avail. I've rebooted the device, I've even pulled the drive and rebooted without it.

I do not understand what happened andcannot figure out how to get media to reappear. Any help would be greatly appreciated. TYIA

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NSA210 Media Server Issues

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:40 am

I guess the database got corrupted. And I don't think a 'database rebuild' actually rebuilds the database, but only the contents.

You can try to remove the database manually. I *think* it can be found in /i-data/md0/.media.

InvaderMark
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:09 pm

Re: NSA210 Media Server Issues

Post by InvaderMark » Thu Sep 25, 2014 10:25 pm

Not sure how to navigate to said folder. Using Windows 7.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NSA210 Media Server Issues

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Sep 26, 2014 8:08 am

You'll need shell access. One of the ways to get that is the Telnet backdoor. If you have opened it, you can use PuTTY to login. (Don't forget to specify the telnet protocol).

In the shell you can navigate using 'cd <dir>' (change directory), and look at contents of current directory with 'ls -l'.

InvaderMark
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:09 pm

Re: NSA210 Media Server Issues

Post by InvaderMark » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:00 am

Much of the data I had saved no longer appears. However the size of the volume used has not changed. Apparently the data is there just no way to navigate to nor access it. Is this failure something I can continue to expect with this NAS? I hope I can recover the important information I had saved.

Post Reply