Sitecom MD253 // Busybox and twonky settings edited and gone

MD-253 & MD-500 Discussion
Post Reply
seansan
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:25 am

Sitecom MD253 // Busybox and twonky settings edited and gone

Post by seansan » Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:12 am

Hi there, I am trying to edit a twonkyserver setting in the config, but somehow my changes aren't being reflected. Anyone know whats going on?

NAS server: Sitecom MD253, \w busybox 1.10.2, \w twonky 4.4.19

I am trying to change the file /usr/local/mediaserver/twonkyvision-mediaserver.ini
and set contentbase=/home/PUBLIC to contentbase=/home.

Everytime I change the file I see it has been changed, but only when I restart the server the changes in the config file have been purged/gone. Why is this?

Two ways to update the file:

Code: Select all

1. sed "/contentbase=/s/.*/contentbase=\/home/" -i twonkyvision-mediaserver.ini
2. echo contentbase=/home >> twonkyvision-mediaserver.ini
I found the config file in /usr/local/mediaserver/ AND /etc/sysconfig/config/twonky

Does anyone know how to update a INI file in busybox so the changes are not overwritten. Either this has something to do with busybox file protection or some server script is overwriting my config file

Any help appreciated

seansan
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:25 am

Re: Sitecom MD253 // Busybox and twonky settings edited and

Post by seansan » Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:45 am

This is cool. You can access and check all variables via the web interface:

http://SERVER:9000/rpc/get_option?
like http://SERVER:9000/rpc/get_option?contentbase

and even set these options:

http://SERVER:9000/rpc/set_option?
like http://SERVER:9000/rpc/set_option?contentbase=/home

More information can be found here: http://www.openplug.org/plugwiki/index. ... Sheevaplug

Protheus
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 11:18 am

Re: Sitecom MD253 // Busybox and twonky settings edited and

Post by Protheus » Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:16 pm

Further Information to your problem:

/usr is a filesystem from a cramfs, and the changes are not saved. It will get copied into a ramdisk after system startup and you change the contents of the ramdisk. So guess what happens if you reboot the system.

Protheus

Post Reply