General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:10 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:41 pm 

Hi all,

I apologize for the eventual mistakes, I'm still learning english ;-).

I am in my second year of cloud computing and IT security study.

Two years ago, I got a Lacie Network Space 2 without hard drive. Helped by my teacher, I setup your OS on it to make of it a powerful and flexible NAS. It was pretty good. Having a ssh and linux environment… :)

This year I have to make a little network and systems infrastructure for my annual project school. I’ll describe it later. To be inventive and have a better mark, I choose Lacie for computer's hardware.

So, this network infrastructure is designed for a developers team. Four machines will constitute it (Firewall, server deposits, server for documentations, backup server). I want to do it in this way:

1) A firewall, named London, on a Lacie Wireless Space with OpenBSD. It will be used as router, DHCP server too. It will enabled the other network’s computers to communicate between them and outwardly (WAN) in security.

2) A deposits server for developers, named Paris, on a Lacie Cloudbox with a linux distribution.

3) An other called Madrid for the technical and user documentation on a Lacie Network Space 2 with a linux distribution too. (Exactly like I had done for the NAS but without the services preinstalled: torrent client, network share, etc… ).

4) And the last called NewYork that will be used like a storage server on a RAID 1 (mirroring) Lacie Network Space MAX with OpenBSD for OS.

----------------------------
Aptitude in preference or another package manager have to be installed on Paris and Madrid.

I have already bought London (Lacie Wireless Space), Paris (Lacie Cloudbox) and Madrid (Lacie Network Space 2) but not NewYork. I'm scanning small ads for that :-).