General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:45 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:10 pm 

hello. maybe some of you will remember me from posts (both here and on the lacie-nas mailing list) about how i bricked my internet space V2 by flashing the wrong uboot (the one for ns2). i spent many weeks trying to figure out a method to ubnbrick it; unfortunately i'm not an IT expert nor an engineer (but rather a MD) so after a while i abandoned my attempts.
recently however i saw my old box gathering dust on the shelf i put it, and decided to try a little stunt devised a while ago. surprisingly, it worked and now the thingy boots nicely (it's just missing a hd lol).
i decided to write this to document my attempt, hoping it will be useful to others as i found zero documentation about this (not for the casual user anyway).

WHAT YOU'RE GONNA DO
basically, you're going to boot the pcb from a second serial chip, bypassing the one soldered on the pcb. you'll then remove this second chip and flash the correct uboot on your onboard chip; i've seen this technique mentioned as "reverse-socket" on some boards, whough as i said before i'm no IT expert, less so about correct terminology. anyway, this method requires some hardware (which can be bought from china on ebay for significantly less than a new nas, i got mine for under €20) and some basic soldering skill.

WHAT YOU'LL NEED
1) a new serial chip, model MX25L4005A: specifically, you'll need the DIP version (MX25L4005APC-12G). this is the model installed on the ns2/is2 pcb's, but in its "through-hole" version.
2) a socket for it; look for "dip8 socket".
3) a spi usb programmer; the cheap chinese ones on ebay will do, just check the compatibility with MX25L4005A beforehand (ask the seller, or better yet look for insertions with a compatibility list).
4) a soic8/sop8 test clip: basically a "pincer" which you clamp on the onboard serial chip to interface with it.