General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:43 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 5:16 am
Posts: 26
In case somebody is wondering: Network Space 2 is set up by default to rotate old log files every 2 hours. This is especially annoying during night time because it spins up the harddisk loudly. It also shortens the life span of the harddisk unnecessarily. This behavior can be changed by modifying /etc/cron.d/logrotate -file:

Default:
Code:
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE - edit the master and reinstall.
# (/etc/cron.d/logrotate installed on Wed Jun 24 16:58:35 2009)
# (Cron version -- $Id: crontab.c,v 2.13 1994/01/17 03:20:37 vixie Exp $)
# Limit the log files sizes using logrotate every two hours
0 0-23/2 * * * root /usr/sbin/logrotate /etc/logrotate.tab


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:39 am
Posts: 3
Hi,
I'm using Network Space 2 with firmware 2.2.12.2. How can I edit this file?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:39 am
Posts: 3
Hi,
Can anybody tell me how to edit this file?
br, Patrick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
You need to get shell access (Networkspace,Networkspace 2), and then you can edit the file using vi.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:39 am
Posts: 3
Hi,
Tank you for the link. I already found this link, but I have firmware 2.2.12.2 and none of the methods there apply to it. If I follow the link "Through creating a custom capsule", which only applies to firmware up to 2.2.8.3, there is a thread of 9 pages. Do I have to read all 9 pages in order get shell access? The question is if this also works for my version. And the problem is: I don't have a linux machine :-). Is there any possiblilty to do this from a Windows machine?
br, Patrick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
karallp wrote:
I don't have a linux machine :-). Is there any possiblilty to do this from a Windows machine?
No. Creating the capsule involves extracting and repackaging a directory tree. On a Windows machine this can't be done, as Windows doesn't support posix access flags and symlinks.

But you can boot your Windows PC from a Linux Live CD (or -USB stick). No need to install anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group