General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:06 pm
Posts: 7
Hello,
I have a NetworkSpace2 with firmware 1.2.6.
I did all the steps
- mounted /dev/sdb8
- removed the number sign in front of ssh in the default.runlevel
- and copied a generated public key string into the mounted drive under root/.ssh/authorized_keys (even did chmod 700 on it!)

When I put the drive back and let it boot everything is fine, but:
- no SSH port open

That's NOT a problem with the key. the port is not open.
What did I miss?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:01 pm
Posts: 23
I have no experience with the way you did it, what i did was:

changed default.runlevel
changed PermitRootlogin=yes in sshd.config
and added i line at the bottom in the passwd file on sda9!
new_root:$1$FfIsQ/hk$2ZB88Rs/Ebiz9OwXxLi7j1:0:0:root:/home:/bin/sh
(this line is from this forum, if you search you will find more about it)

This will give you rootaccess with user new_root and passwd new_root

Keep in mind that unicorn will change back this file when you change anything
on a user in the dashboard. (see the topic 'run scripts at boot' for more info)

I have no idea what will happen if you change the password from the original root,
i personally no longer use unicorn as i was sick and tired that it changes back
everything you modify on the NAS.

Grtzz Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5981
@ astaldo1977:
The NS2 has a layered filesystem. In this case this means that when a copy of default.runlevel exists on sda9/snapshots, it will hide the one on sda8.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:06 pm
Posts: 7
Mijzelf wrote:
@ astaldo1977:
The NS2 has a layered filesystem. In this case this means that when a copy of default.runlevel exists on sda9/snapshots, it will hide the one on sda8.

That was the point!
Under sdb9/snap/00/etc/... was another default.runlevel, where the '#' was still in front of sshd.

Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group