Network Space 2 firmware 1.2.5, what's new, SSH access?

astaldo1977
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:06 pm

Re: Network Space 2 firmware 1.2.5, what's new, SSH access?

Post by astaldo1977 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:28 pm

Hello,
I have a NetworkSpace2 with firmware 1.2.6.
I did all the steps
- mounted /dev/sdb8
- removed the number sign in front of ssh in the default.runlevel
- and copied a generated public key string into the mounted drive under root/.ssh/authorized_keys (even did chmod 700 on it!)

When I put the drive back and let it boot everything is fine, but:
- no SSH port open

That's NOT a problem with the key. the port is not open.
What did I miss?

MarkV
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:01 pm

Re: Network Space 2 firmware 1.2.5, what's new, SSH access?

Post by MarkV » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:35 am

I have no experience with the way you did it, what i did was:

changed default.runlevel
changed PermitRootlogin=yes in sshd.config
and added i line at the bottom in the passwd file on sda9!
new_root:$1$FfIsQ/hk$2ZB88Rs/Ebiz9OwXxLi7j1:0:0:root:/home:/bin/sh
(this line is from this forum, if you search you will find more about it)

This will give you rootaccess with user new_root and passwd new_root

Keep in mind that unicorn will change back this file when you change anything
on a user in the dashboard. (see the topic 'run scripts at boot' for more info)

I have no idea what will happen if you change the password from the original root,
i personally no longer use unicorn as i was sick and tired that it changes back
everything you modify on the NAS.

Grtzz Mark

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Network Space 2 firmware 1.2.5, what's new, SSH access?

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:00 pm

@ astaldo1977:
The NS2 has a layered filesystem. In this case this means that when a copy of default.runlevel exists on sda9/snapshots, it will hide the one on sda8.

astaldo1977
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:06 pm

Re: Network Space 2 firmware 1.2.5, what's new, SSH access?

Post by astaldo1977 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:43 am

Mijzelf wrote:@ astaldo1977:
The NS2 has a layered filesystem. In this case this means that when a copy of default.runlevel exists on sda9/snapshots, it will hide the one on sda8.
That was the point!
Under sdb9/snap/00/etc/... was another default.runlevel, where the '#' was still in front of sshd.

Thanks for your help.

Post Reply