Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

BlackXstar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by BlackXstar » Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:00 pm

I trid to install in HD204UI, which is a Advanced Format HDD.

It alway showed up:
dd: writing to '/dev/sdb8' : No space left on device
dd: writing to '/dev/sdb9' : No space left on device

Any suggestion?

BlackXstar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by BlackXstar » Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:23 pm

I tried format by myself, and increased size:

Disk /dev/sdb: 2000.4 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 2000 16063976 5 Extended
/dev/sdb2 2001 243201 1937447032+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb5 1 256 2054272 83 Linux
/dev/sdb6 257 265 71268+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb7 266 274 71268+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb8 275 1120 6794471 83 Linux
/dev/sdb9 1121 1992 7003316 83 Linux
/dev/sdb10 1993 2000 63236 83 Linux

Is it OK?

SCunha
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by SCunha » Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:59 pm

kouyio wrote:Well, seems better now!

It starts, can be pinged. Its admin web interface can be accessed and I see the first-time setup web page.

However, the "Disk configuration" area tells me that it found 0 B of Network Storage. Same thing for the USB Storage.
Thus, I can't use the slider at all, and the setup doesn't go farer.

Seems to me that my /dev/sda2 partition is KO?

Any idea?

Image
Hi to all,
I have exactly the same problem that is listed here, i have allready seen the solution in the post next to this quote...and im willing to try it out, but since im a total noob in this subject i have a couple of question regarding the connections...
Since my laptop doesnt have a Sata conection, how should i connect the disc to the laptop? With a USB-SATA converter right?
So how do i connect the all thing? Converter inserted in the laptop with the sata cable connected - the other end of the SATA cable inserted in the disc (after opened the cover) - and now the question is, do i connect the SATA cable at the same time that the IDE cable(of the lacie box) is inserted too, and then plug the power cable?
Or do i need an external power suply to the disc?
Hope you understand, and sorry for my noob but legit questions ;)

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:43 pm

@BlackXstar: Looks good to me. But the proof of the pudding is the eating. Why don't you just put the image dumps on the disk and try to boot?

@SCunha: The disk needs external power, as in, it cannot be feed through the USB cable, the power consumption is too high. If you can manage to feed the disk from your NS2, while connecting it to an USB-to-SATA converter, it's OK.
But it's more usual to use an USB enclosure, which contains a USB-to-SATA converter, and has it's own power supply.

BlackXstar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by BlackXstar » Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:24 pm

Mijzelf wrote:@BlackXstar: Looks good to me. But the proof of the pudding is the eating. Why don't you just put the image dumps on the disk and try to boot?
I tried, but failed.
NS2 won't request IP from route.

And, I tried many times, include bigger size of partitions, still failed.

The original HDD is 1TB, the new HDD is 2TB, is it OK?

I think it maybe cause by MBR, any suggestion?

Thanks.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:46 am

The partitions are big enough when you don't get a 'No space left on device' error. There is no gain in making them bigger. Your partitions are *way* bigger than needed.

Maybe that is a problem. The bootloader is in flash, and it tries to load a kernel from sda10 and sda6. In this sequence. The kernel has a header which tells exactly how much bytes it is, but *maybe* the bootloader just loads the whole partition. In that case the difference between the Lacie partitions (8001 KiB) and your (71268 KiB) can be killing.

This disk is new? As I said, the 10th partition is probed first for a kernel. This partition is normally empty, but during a firmware upgrade the new kernel is written here. After a reboot this new kernel is booted. When the boot fails (corrupt kernel) you can reset the partition with a factory reset.
Anyway, the normal kernel header (uImage header) with magic number and checksum, should protect the box from trying to boot from garbage, but it doesn't hurt to clean up the partition, just in case:

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb10
(This will exit with a 'No space left on device'. This is normal. /dev/zero can serve an infinite number of zero's, but /dev/sdb10 is finite)

On the multi-disk Lacie's there is a 'secret code' written in the unused space between MBR and 1st partition. (I *think* this is to show which disk is new, when a member of the raid array is replaced). The box won't boot if it can't find such a code.
AFAIK the NS2 doesn't use this, but it won't hurt to write the code:

Code: Select all

echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd bs=1 skip=1536 of=/dev/sdb
AFAIK the MBR is not used, except the (primary) partition table.

2TiB should be no problem. As long as fdisk doesn't complain, it's good. (Disks bigger than 2TiB cannot be partitioned using an 'Intel compatible' partition table. And I don't think the bootloader can handle something else.)

BTW, you are using the 1.0.2 partition dumps, aren't you? The also provided 1.2.6 paritions are stored in a different way (compressed partition versus compressed filesystem), and should be handled different.

BlackXstar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by BlackXstar » Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:17 pm

Thanks to Mijzelf!
Your post is very useful, I think that is the reason why my NS2 failed many times.
BTW: the hidden data after MBR is "netspace_v2 1.2.93" in my old disk.


I found another way to solve my problem finally, it maybe tricky, but it is working.

I use clonezilla, which is an open source clone system, to made an image form old disk, then I restored image to new disk.
In my case, old disk is 1TB with 1.2.93 firmware, new disk is 2TB.
So I need resize partition. I used GParted, an open source partition editor.

After these steps, I put new disk on NS2, it boot and request IP from route.
I opened dashboard via browse, it showed only 1TB formatted, but I click format in dashboard, all 2TB is working.
I am an OS X Lion user, I need new firmware to use time machine, so upgraded online, it is working too.
Finally, my NS2 working with new 2TB HDD without any issues.


Thank you again, Mijzelf!

PS: I can upload my clonezilla image with 1.2.93 firmware if anybody need.
PS2: sorry about my English.

nikanama99
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:18 am

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by nikanama99 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:32 am

BlackXstar wrote:Thanks to Mijzelf!
Your post is very useful, I think that is the reason why my NS2 failed many times.
BTW: the hidden data after MBR is "netspace_v2 1.2.93" in my old disk.


I found another way to solve my problem finally, it maybe tricky, but it is working.

I use clonezilla, which is an open source clone system, to made an image form old disk, then I restored image to new disk.
In my case, old disk is 1TB with 1.2.93 firmware, new disk is 2TB.
So I need resize partition. I used GParted, an open source partition editor.

After these steps, I put new disk on NS2, it boot and request IP from route.
I opened dashboard via browse, it showed only 1TB formatted, but I click format in dashboard, all 2TB is working.
I am an OS X Lion user, I need new firmware to use time machine, so upgraded online, it is working too.
Finally, my NS2 working with new 2TB HDD without any issues.


Thank you again, Mijzelf!

PS: I can upload my clonezilla image with 1.2.93 firmware if anybody need.
PS2: sorry about my English.
Can you give image form old disk

FrCo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:53 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by FrCo » Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:14 pm

I am in the same situation with my NS2.
It is Bricked.

More exactly, it was Bricked.
Now i can access to the webpage of my NS2.

But I have the same problem that kouyio.

I have used this method :
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... space_2%29
and
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Enabl ... space_2%29

PS : Sorry for my english :(


But I don't have ssh access.

How can I make to generate my authorized_keys with my public keys on my ubuntu 11.10, beacause I have try with :

Code: Select all

ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t rsa -N pass -f ns2_lacie
But unfortunately, I still can't access to my NS2 :(

I need the ssh access to complete format with :

Code: Select all

mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f
rm /etc/unicorn.db
reboot

guscebru
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:03 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by guscebru » Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm

FrCo wrote:I am in the same situation with my NS2.
It is Bricked.

More exactly, it was Bricked.
Now i can access to the webpage of my NS2.

But I have the same problem that kouyio.

I have used this method :
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... space_2%29
and
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Enabl ... space_2%29

PS : Sorry for my english :(


But I don't have ssh access.

How can I make to generate my authorized_keys with my public keys on my ubuntu 11.10, beacause I have try with :

Code: Select all

ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t rsa -N pass -f ns2_lacie
But unfortunately, I still can't access to my NS2 :(

I need the ssh access to complete format with :

Code: Select all

mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f
rm /etc/unicorn.db
reboot
The same here, my 1TB HDD die, and i put a 1.5 TB new hard drive.

The method to install firmware un new disk fail, with this disk, i think the "cylinder" measure change in newest versions of fdisk,(fdisk -u=cylynders), because with the indications of this method fail with dd command to write the partitions with the message "not enough free space on partition".
The solution is to increase the number of cylinders for each partition, in my case, 2 cylinders for sdb6, 7 and sdb10, and increase 10 cylinders for sdb 8 and 9. To make it possible you have to increase sdb1 acordingly.

With this changes i dd works correctly with firmware 1.0.2. and can add my public key to autorizhed_keys of /sdb9/snap/00/root/.ssh folder.

And after the assembly and the reformat of mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f within the lacie network space terminal all works again :)

Now i updated with a custom capsule 2.2.5, that works well with lion osx and updated to 6.0.38 twonky and went fine.

Thank you all the people of the forum for you support, and sorry for my english. :P

One question the sdb's binary of the 1.0.2 firmware have to public keys in this authorized_keys file, what are suppossed to be here? Is safe to delete it?

FrCo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:53 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by FrCo » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:27 pm

Yeeeeeeeeeeees, my NS2 is unbricked.
All step in the wiki is good for my 2Tb Hard Drive.

The problem with my key, is because puttygen generate a wrong authorized_keys format.

I modify my authorized_keys as in this tutorials and all is done.

PS : Sorry for my English.

aplosha
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:07 am

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by aplosha » Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:01 am

Hey, this is my first time posting, and I am a total noob. I'm actually learning linux just cause i'm trying to fix this.

I managed to brick the drive, but I finally managed to get it to the "please wait while loading screen."
I removed the # from default.runlevel, but I'm not sure what to do with /root/.ssh/authorized_keys. I have access to the file, but what do i do with it?

Also, once that is achieved, I'm not exactly sure what this means
When you put this disk in your Network Space 2, it should work.
It is possible that the filesystem on /dev/sda2 is not accepted by the NAS. In that case the shares are not visible/accessible, and you can't login on the webinterface (Please wait while loading ...). It seems that mkfs.xfs from modern distro's can generate an incompatible filesystem. The remedy: get shell access,login on the box, and create the filesystem here, and force unicorn to update:

Code: Select all

mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f
rm /etc/unicorn.db
reboot
I'd really appreciate the help.
Thanks in advance

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:45 am

aplosha wrote: I'm not sure what to do with /root/.ssh/authorized_keys. I have access to the file, but what do i do with it?
You need a keypair to be able to login a root, without knowing the root password: ssh-keygen: password-less SSH login
aplosha wrote:Also, once that is achieved, I'm not exactly sure what this means
A common cause for the everlasting "please wait while loading" screen is a not mountable datapartititon, maybe due to an incompatible or damaged filesystem. The remedy can be to (re)format it using the OS on the box. So login using ssh, and execute the commands exactly as stated.

aplosha
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:07 am

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by aplosha » Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:57 pm

Mijzelf wrote:
aplosha wrote: I'm not sure what to do with /root/.ssh/authorized_keys. I have access to the file, but what do i do with it?
You need a keypair to be able to login a root, without knowing the root password: ssh-keygen: password-less SSH login
I created a new SSH key without password, for trial purposes only (later I will put in a password once its working). It's not recognizing it though. I type in "ssh [NS2 IP address], and it requests a password. It keeps telling me "permission denied (public key, password, keyboard-interactive)" when i press enter for no password.

EDIT: I'm using a virtual machine Ubuntu, could that be an issue?

EDIT: Nvm, success. thank you for your help guys.

pispo
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: Unbrick a Bricked Lacie Network Space 2

Post by pispo » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:33 pm

I bricked my NS2.

I am in troubles flashing my hd (original hd). The first problem is the usage of fdisk. New fdisk versions use sectors instead cylinders by default (I use a old ubuntu livecd to solve this problem). Second, ubuntu says that the hd blocksize is 4K but the examples of the forum shows blocksize of 512 (I forced fdisk with -b parameter). Latest one, I have problems formatting sdb2 in xfs (because I tried to flash with blocksize of 512 but impossible because mismatch with hard disk blocksize).

First attemps finished in the NS2 blinking red/blue. Now it blinks only blue but I cannot access via SSH (no IP, no ping).

I want to know in which version of linux this process has been tested (plz livecds) and what are the concrete commands.

Thank you in advance.

Post Reply