General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:38 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm
Posts: 6
I trid to install in HD204UI, which is a Advanced Format HDD.

It alway showed up:
dd: writing to '/dev/sdb8' : No space left on device
dd: writing to '/dev/sdb9' : No space left on device

Any suggestion?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm
Posts: 6
I tried format by myself, and increased size:

Disk /dev/sdb: 2000.4 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 2000 16063976 5 Extended
/dev/sdb2 2001 243201 1937447032+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb5 1 256 2054272 83 Linux
/dev/sdb6 257 265 71268+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb7 266 274 71268+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb8 275 1120 6794471 83 Linux
/dev/sdb9 1121 1992 7003316 83 Linux
/dev/sdb10 1993 2000 63236 83 Linux

Is it OK?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:42 pm
Posts: 1
kouyio wrote:
Well, seems better now!

It starts, can be pinged. Its admin web interface can be accessed and I see the first-time setup web page.

However, the "Disk configuration" area tells me that it found 0 B of Network Storage. Same thing for the USB Storage.
Thus, I can't use the slider at all, and the setup doesn't go farer.

Seems to me that my /dev/sda2 partition is KO?

Any idea?

Image


Hi to all,
I have exactly the same problem that is listed here, i have allready seen the solution in the post next to this quote...and im willing to try it out, but since im a total noob in this subject i have a couple of question regarding the connections...
Since my laptop doesnt have a Sata conection, how should i connect the disc to the laptop? With a USB-SATA converter right?
So how do i connect the all thing? Converter inserted in the laptop with the sata cable connected - the other end of the SATA cable inserted in the disc (after opened the cover) - and now the question is, do i connect the SATA cable at the same time that the IDE cable(of the lacie box) is inserted too, and then plug the power cable?
Or do i need an external power suply to the disc?
Hope you understand, and sorry for my noob but legit questions ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6073
@BlackXstar: Looks good to me. But the proof of the pudding is the eating. Why don't you just put the image dumps on the disk and try to boot?

@SCunha: The disk needs external power, as in, it cannot be feed through the USB cable, the power consumption is too high. If you can manage to feed the disk from your NS2, while connecting it to an USB-to-SATA converter, it's OK.
But it's more usual to use an USB enclosure, which contains a USB-to-SATA converter, and has it's own power supply.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm
Posts: 6
Mijzelf wrote:
@BlackXstar: Looks good to me. But the proof of the pudding is the eating. Why don't you just put the image dumps on the disk and try to boot?



I tried, but failed.
NS2 won't request IP from route.

And, I tried many times, include bigger size of partitions, still failed.

The original HDD is 1TB, the new HDD is 2TB, is it OK?

I think it maybe cause by MBR, any suggestion?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6073
The partitions are big enough when you don't get a 'No space left on device' error. There is no gain in making them bigger. Your partitions are *way* bigger than needed.

Maybe that is a problem. The bootloader is in flash, and it tries to load a kernel from sda10 and sda6. In this sequence. The kernel has a header which tells exactly how much bytes it is, but *maybe* the bootloader just loads the whole partition. In that case the difference between the Lacie partitions (8001 KiB) and your (71268 KiB) can be killing.

This disk is new? As I said, the 10th partition is probed first for a kernel. This partition is normally empty, but during a firmware upgrade the new kernel is written here. After a reboot this new kernel is booted. When the boot fails (corrupt kernel) you can reset the partition with a factory reset.
Anyway, the normal kernel header (uImage header) with magic number and checksum, should protect the box from trying to boot from garbage, but it doesn't hurt to clean up the partition, just in case:
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb10
(This will exit with a 'No space left on device'. This is normal. /dev/zero can serve an infinite number of zero's, but /dev/sdb10 is finite)

On the multi-disk Lacie's there is a 'secret code' written in the unused space between MBR and 1st partition. (I *think* this is to show which disk is new, when a member of the raid array is replaced). The box won't boot if it can't find such a code.
AFAIK the NS2 doesn't use this, but it won't hurt to write the code:
Code:
echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd bs=1 skip=1536 of=/dev/sdb


AFAIK the MBR is not used, except the (primary) partition table.

2TiB should be no problem. As long as fdisk doesn't complain, it's good. (Disks bigger than 2TiB cannot be partitioned using an 'Intel compatible' partition table. And I don't think the bootloader can handle something else.)

BTW, you are using the 1.0.2 partition dumps, aren't you? The also provided 1.2.6 paritions are stored in a different way (compressed partition versus compressed filesystem), and should be handled different.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:57 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks to Mijzelf!
Your post is very useful, I think that is the reason why my NS2 failed many times.
BTW: the hidden data after MBR is "netspace_v2 1.2.93" in my old disk.


I found another way to solve my problem finally, it maybe tricky, but it is working.

I use clonezilla, which is an open source clone system, to made an image form old disk, then I restored image to new disk.
In my case, old disk is 1TB with 1.2.93 firmware, new disk is 2TB.
So I need resize partition. I used GParted, an open source partition editor.

After these steps, I put new disk on NS2, it boot and request IP from route.
I opened dashboard via browse, it showed only 1TB formatted, but I click format in dashboard, all 2TB is working.
I am an OS X Lion user, I need new firmware to use time machine, so upgraded online, it is working too.
Finally, my NS2 working with new 2TB HDD without any issues.


Thank you again, Mijzelf!

PS: I can upload my clonezilla image with 1.2.93 firmware if anybody need.
PS2: sorry about my English.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:18 am
Posts: 1
BlackXstar wrote:
Thanks to Mijzelf!
Your post is very useful, I think that is the reason why my NS2 failed many times.
BTW: the hidden data after MBR is "netspace_v2 1.2.93" in my old disk.


I found another way to solve my problem finally, it maybe tricky, but it is working.

I use clonezilla, which is an open source clone system, to made an image form old disk, then I restored image to new disk.
In my case, old disk is 1TB with 1.2.93 firmware, new disk is 2TB.
So I need resize partition. I used GParted, an open source partition editor.

After these steps, I put new disk on NS2, it boot and request IP from route.
I opened dashboard via browse, it showed only 1TB formatted, but I click format in dashboard, all 2TB is working.
I am an OS X Lion user, I need new firmware to use time machine, so upgraded online, it is working too.
Finally, my NS2 working with new 2TB HDD without any issues.


Thank you again, Mijzelf!

PS: I can upload my clonezilla image with 1.2.93 firmware if anybody need.
PS2: sorry about my English.


Can you give image form old disk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:53 pm
Posts: 2
I am in the same situation with my NS2.
It is Bricked.

More exactly, it was Bricked.
Now i can access to the webpage of my NS2.

But I have the same problem that kouyio.

I have used this method :
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Installing_firmware_on_a_new_disk_%28Network_space_2%29
and
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Enabling_ssh_with_disassembling_%28Network_space_2%29

PS : Sorry for my english :(


But I don't have ssh access.

How can I make to generate my authorized_keys with my public keys on my ubuntu 11.10, beacause I have try with :

Code:
ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t rsa -N pass -f ns2_lacie


But unfortunately, I still can't access to my NS2 :(

I need the ssh access to complete format with :
Code:
mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f
rm /etc/unicorn.db
reboot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:03 pm
Posts: 13
FrCo wrote:
I am in the same situation with my NS2.
It is Bricked.

More exactly, it was Bricked.
Now i can access to the webpage of my NS2.

But I have the same problem that kouyio.

I have used this method :
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Installing_firmware_on_a_new_disk_%28Network_space_2%29
and
http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Enabling_ssh_with_disassembling_%28Network_space_2%29

PS : Sorry for my english :(


But I don't have ssh access.

How can I make to generate my authorized_keys with my public keys on my ubuntu 11.10, beacause I have try with :

Code:
ssh-keygen -b 1024 -t rsa -N pass -f ns2_lacie


But unfortunately, I still can't access to my NS2 :(

I need the ssh access to complete format with :
Code:
mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f
rm /etc/unicorn.db
reboot


The same here, my 1TB HDD die, and i put a 1.5 TB new hard drive.

The method to install firmware un new disk fail, with this disk, i think the "cylinder" measure change in newest versions of fdisk,(fdisk -u=cylynders), because with the indications of this method fail with dd command to write the partitions with the message "not enough free space on partition".
The solution is to increase the number of cylinders for each partition, in my case, 2 cylinders for sdb6, 7 and sdb10, and increase 10 cylinders for sdb 8 and 9. To make it possible you have to increase sdb1 acordingly.

With this changes i dd works correctly with firmware 1.0.2. and can add my public key to autorizhed_keys of /sdb9/snap/00/root/.ssh folder.

And after the assembly and the reformat of mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f within the lacie network space terminal all works again :)

Now i updated with a custom capsule 2.2.5, that works well with lion osx and updated to 6.0.38 twonky and went fine.

Thank you all the people of the forum for you support, and sorry for my english. :P

One question the sdb's binary of the 1.0.2 firmware have to public keys in this authorized_keys file, what are suppossed to be here? Is safe to delete it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:53 pm
Posts: 2
Yeeeeeeeeeeees, my NS2 is unbricked.
All step in the wiki is good for my 2Tb Hard Drive.

The problem with my key, is because puttygen generate a wrong authorized_keys format.

I modify my authorized_keys as in this tutorials and all is done.

PS : Sorry for my English.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:07 am
Posts: 2
Hey, this is my first time posting, and I am a total noob. I'm actually learning linux just cause i'm trying to fix this.

I managed to brick the drive, but I finally managed to get it to the "please wait while loading screen."
I removed the # from default.runlevel, but I'm not sure what to do with /root/.ssh/authorized_keys. I have access to the file, but what do i do with it?

Also, once that is achieved, I'm not exactly sure what this means
Quote:
When you put this disk in your Network Space 2, it should work.
It is possible that the filesystem on /dev/sda2 is not accepted by the NAS. In that case the shares are not visible/accessible, and you can't login on the webinterface (Please wait while loading ...). It seems that mkfs.xfs from modern distro's can generate an incompatible filesystem. The remedy: get shell access,login on the box, and create the filesystem here, and force unicorn to update:
Code:
mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2 -f
rm /etc/unicorn.db
reboot



I'd really appreciate the help.
Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6073
aplosha wrote:
I'm not sure what to do with /root/.ssh/authorized_keys. I have access to the file, but what do i do with it?
You need a keypair to be able to login a root, without knowing the root password: ssh-keygen: password-less SSH login

aplosha wrote:
Also, once that is achieved, I'm not exactly sure what this means
A common cause for the everlasting "please wait while loading" screen is a not mountable datapartititon, maybe due to an incompatible or damaged filesystem. The remedy can be to (re)format it using the OS on the box. So login using ssh, and execute the commands exactly as stated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 4:07 am
Posts: 2
Mijzelf wrote:
aplosha wrote:
I'm not sure what to do with /root/.ssh/authorized_keys. I have access to the file, but what do i do with it?
You need a keypair to be able to login a root, without knowing the root password: ssh-keygen: password-less SSH login


I created a new SSH key without password, for trial purposes only (later I will put in a password once its working). It's not recognizing it though. I type in "ssh [NS2 IP address], and it requests a password. It keeps telling me "permission denied (public key, password, keyboard-interactive)" when i press enter for no password.

EDIT: I'm using a virtual machine Ubuntu, could that be an issue?

EDIT: Nvm, success. thank you for your help guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 6:14 pm
Posts: 2
I bricked my NS2.

I am in troubles flashing my hd (original hd). The first problem is the usage of fdisk. New fdisk versions use sectors instead cylinders by default (I use a old ubuntu livecd to solve this problem). Second, ubuntu says that the hd blocksize is 4K but the examples of the forum shows blocksize of 512 (I forced fdisk with -b parameter). Latest one, I have problems formatting sdb2 in xfs (because I tried to flash with blocksize of 512 but impossible because mismatch with hard disk blocksize).

First attemps finished in the NS2 blinking red/blue. Now it blinks only blue but I cannot access via SSH (no IP, no ping).

I want to know in which version of linux this process has been tested (plz livecds) and what are the concrete commands.

Thank you in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group