Problem reinstalling NS2

Post Reply
acns
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:01 am

Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by acns » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:06 am

http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... k_space_2)

I have installed a 2TB Western Digital hard disc using the guide here and got it working for the old firmware. HOwever I am trying to install the 1.2.6 images but it is not working.

http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... ce2/1.2.6/
SDA8 is still being reported as unformatted after restoring the image to the partition. SDA9 is ok and I can access it to install my public key.
I tried booting up the drive in this state but nothing happens.

I had to use larger partition sizes since the fdisk guide wouldn't work but it was no problem doing this with the 1.02

Any help is appreciated.

Also, how can I extract the partition images from my 1TB hard disc since I could just clone those and install them.

acns
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:01 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by acns » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:25 am

Ok i got my partitions working from the old drive but when I boot the lacie up it keeps trashing my files into a recovery folder

/shares/1/Recovery/OpenShare

I have 1.5tb of data on this drive I really don't want to lose :(

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:32 am

The 1.2.6 sda7 and sda8 files are no gzipped images, but tar archives. So you'll have to put a filesystem on the partitions, and extract the contents:

Code: Select all

mke2fs -j /dev/sdx8
mkdir /tmp/sdx8
mount /dev/sdx8 /tmp/sdx8
cd /tmp/sdx8
tar xzf /path/to/sda8.tgz .
cd ..
umount /dev/sdx8
But of course you could also load an update capsule from Lacie, to get from 1.0.5 to whatever.
acns wrote:Ok i got my partitions working from the old drive but when I boot the lacie up it keeps trashing my files into a recovery folder/shares/1/Recovery/OpenShareI have 1.5tb of data on this drive I really don't want to lose
Sounds as if it's doing a factory reset. How did you copy the partitions?

acns
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:01 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by acns » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:50 am

Thanks for the help!

I imaged the partitions from my old hard disc like this

sudo dd if=/dev/sdaX of=~/sdaX.img

then I restored them to the new drive with

dd if=sdaX.img of=/dev/sddX


The dashboard doesn't load either so i deleted the /etc/unicorn.db file and that's when the trouble started

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:06 am

And you copied the partitions 6,7,8 and 9 this way? AFAIK that should just work.

When there is really some halfhearted factory reset going on, you could try a real one, to see if that finishes normally.

BTW, how is it possible that you have 1.5TB data on a disk you just installed?

acns
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:01 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by acns » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:10 am

Mijzelf wrote:And you copied the partitions 6,7,8 and 9 this way? AFAIK that should just work.

When there is really some halfhearted factory reset going on, you could try a real one, to see if that finishes normally.

BTW, how is it possible that you have 1.5TB data on a disk you just installed?
Yes...I am trying to extract your images now but I get this error

root@main:/tmp/sdd8# tar xzf /home/ac/sda8.tgz .
tar: .: Not found in archive
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors


===

When I installed with the first firmware I copied all my data over from my hard disc (about a week ago). Then i noticed some problems with that firmware so tried to upgrade the partitions.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:18 am

Ah, sorry. Skip the point.

acns
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:01 am

Re: Problem reinstalling NS2

Post by acns » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:41 am

Giving up with 1.2.6 at the moment. I can't get the dashboard to load at all and I don't the damn thing to eventually wipe my data :lol:

Will try and get debian installed on a 500gb for practice.

Post Reply