General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: adding a 2nd disk
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:28 am
Posts: 3
hi - I have been using the NSA221 for a couple of years with a single 2TB disk. I started running out of space and recently added a 2nd 3TB disk to the unit. However it only shows up as Volume 2 and I am not able to view any files.
I tried the initialization option on the provided software and tried both JBOD and Individual disk options. However both these options gave me a message that it would erase all files. I don't want to lose any data from my first disk. How do I set up the 2nd disk without erasing any data from the first disk?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: adding a 2nd disk
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6073
When creating a volume on a new disk, all data on that disk will be destroyed. So in your case you should be able to create a 2nd volume on a 2nd disk and it won't harm the data on the first one.

But to stay on the safe side, you can take out the old disk, create a volume on the 2nd, and then put back the 1st.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: adding a 2nd disk
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:28 am
Posts: 3
Thanks Mijzelf.
I already created the 2nd volume. But if I try to access it, I get the message " he operation can’t be completed because the original item for “Volume2” can’t be found"
So do I need to run the initialization wizard? THat's where I am afraid, I might lose the data on the first.
Should I remove the first disk and run the initialization wizard?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: adding a 2nd disk
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6073
I'm sorry, I don't know what that message means.
Quote:
Should I remove the first disk and run the initialization wizard?
At least it won't hurt. Maybe you'll have to re-enable the shared on the old disk, afterwards, but of course the wizard can't destroy data on a disk which is not plugged in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: adding a 2nd disk
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:28 am
Posts: 3
Thanks. I removed the first disk and did the initialization.
It made the 2nd disk as the primary with the default shared folders (admin/video/music etc).
Then I put the first disk back in. It had got rid of the earlier shared folders which I then manually added.
Thanks for your help! I didn't lose any data.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group