biggest hard disk only 3TB?

Oxnas 810 based
Post Reply
whatagonad
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:04 pm

biggest hard disk only 3TB?

Post by whatagonad » Sat Jun 20, 2015 9:55 am

Has anyone tried a 4TB drive in these? Also does anyone know the biggest USB drive that can be connected?

thanks

Scandot
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: biggest hard disk only 3TB?

Post by Scandot » Thu Jul 16, 2015 7:28 pm

Ok. Scanbot reporting. I have the NSA221EE. I bought it in Russia, so it had firmware 420UAE0D0. it worked, and the auto-upate feature didn't found the newest firmware update, but on zyxel.ru i found 440UAC0D0 version.
So, nsa has 2 disks, separate jbod volumes. The first was WD10EARS (i know, bad idea, but worked good for 2 years) and then i added WD red WD20EFRX
Now both of them 99% full, so i decided to buy new one. I chosed Seagate ST4000VN000, cause 4tb wd red now too expensive for me now, and it's features would not used at full in this NSA.
So, in first i deleted all installed extension modules and applied the 440UAC0D0 firmware. then i took off the WD10EARS and installed WD20EFRX in first slot. NSA switched on OK, the second volume is fully accessible, the errors scan was ok.
I installed smart extension module, then installed the ST4000VN000 in second slot. Boots ok, smart status:
temperature 35 C
health good
perfomance good
But some strange values in full smart report:
1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate 118080
7 Seek_Error_Rate 295
and this values increasing.
i tried to check this in some forums, people write it's ok, seagate uses own logic in smart attribs
http://www.users.on.net/~fzabkar/HDD/Se ... R_HEC.html
http://sgros.blogspot.ru/2013/01/seagat ... alues.html
So, i'll check it later.
I added new volume on ST4000VN000, checked ok, in shares list now i have shares like:
admin on wd red/admin
admin1 on wd red/admin
admin2 on seagate/admin
video on wd red/admin
video1 on wd red/admin
video2 on wd seagate/admin
so the WD10EARS volume shares where remapped to wd red. How was copying files from extracted drive, i'll write later.
there's in smart brief summary:
ATA Version 9
ATA Standard Not recognized. Minor revision code: 0x1f
So now files copying, media playing, all seems ok. Now i have 1.82 TB + 3.64 TB in my NSA221EE. If there will be problems/issues, i'll inform you.
Best regards
:-)

whatagonad
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:04 pm

Re: biggest hard disk only 3TB?

Post by whatagonad » Fri Jul 17, 2015 6:16 am

interesting so it looks like 4TB drives might be ok?
Be nice to know if 2 x 4TB can run well on RAID.

Post Reply