i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post Reply
zeglouton
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:28 pm

i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post by zeglouton » Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:42 pm

I crashed my D2 HDD so i tried to replace it it with an old one (no partition on it).

Once changed, i started the D2 was able to ping it. I tried to "update capsule" with Lacie network manager software and of course, it did not work :cry: .

So i decided (one more error :oops: ) to reset the D2 with this : http://www.lacie.com/us/support/support ... ticle=1395

now i've no more network on it. My DHCP can't assign an IP address anymore.

so, i've 2 questions:

1/ is the chip dead ? is it flashable ?
2/ could anyone with a working one could contact me and upload some files i need to repair it ?

Thank you for your help.

ZeGlouton

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post by rosbif » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:06 am

zeglouton wrote:I crashed my D2 HDD so i tried to replace it it with an old one (no partition on it).

Once changed, i started the D2 was able to ping it. I tried to "update capsule" with Lacie network manager software and of course, it did not work :cry: .

So i decided (one more error :oops: ) to reset the D2 with this : http://www.lacie.com/us/support/support ... ticle=1395

now i've no more network on it. My DHCP can't assign an IP address anymore.
First I don't have a D2 and I know nothing about it, so I am assuming it is similar to an EDminiV2.
However it sounds as if it boots Linux from flash whereas the EDminiV2 boots Linux from the disk. Is this correct?
zeglouton wrote:1/ is the chip dead ? is it flashable ?
It is probably not dead.
Your best hope is to attach a serial console to find out what's going on.
Guessing from your photo of the back, the 8 pin header at the top right could be the same serial console connections as for the EDminiV2.
But so could the 8 solder pads at the bottom right :(
If you can get into U-Boot, you should be able to recover.
zeglouton wrote:2/ could anyone with a working one could contact me and upload some files i need to repair it ?
You could also try asking on the LaCie NAS mailing list here.

HTH,

Cheers,
Chris

zeglouton
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:28 pm

Re: i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post by zeglouton » Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:52 pm

First, thanks four your help, i'm sure it's gonna be helpful.

I bought a max232 chip and with plans i found (google is my friend), i will make a serial cable. As soon as i can connect (or not :( ), i tell you.

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post by rosbif » Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:39 pm

zeglouton wrote:I bought a max232 chip and with plans i found (google is my friend), i will make a serial cable.
Instead of a serial console you could try CLUNC.
CLUNC is a netconsole that you can get here.
I think it is worth a try even if you are having network problems.

zeglouton
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:28 pm

Re: i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post by zeglouton » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:33 am

rosbif wrote: CLUNC is a netconsole that you can get here.
I think it is worth a try even if you are having network problems.


with the command "./clunc -i 192.168.83.5 -m 00:d0:xx:xx:xx:xx -v", i get a "cannot find clunc-open, try make..."

i installed clunc 1b77a4c version

i'll search the forum later.

rosbif
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:23 am
Location: near Toulouse, France

Re: i tried for you: it was a bad idea

Post by rosbif » Wed Oct 06, 2010 7:16 pm

zeglouton wrote:with the command "./clunc -i 192.168.83.5 -m 00:d0:xx:xx:xx:xx -v", i get a "cannot find clunc-open, try make..."
Strange :?
I have never used CLUNC so I cannot help you much.
You could try asking on the LaCie-NAS mailing list here.

Post Reply