General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
Hi guys...im in need of a little help.
I recently aquired a lacie 2 big network 2 with the original disk that it shipped with, an hitachi 1TB, but the previous owner touk out the hdd and formatted it in nts and used it on his windows box.

I tried to install the OS again with the help of the wiki : http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... ks_(2Big_2)
and it seems likes its doing something. The Front led flashes blue red and back lights are blue.
I only have one drive in as it came with only the drive and it worked with it.

LNA doesnt pick up the drie and recovery doesnt work.

Any help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
That installation method only works with 2 disks, because the installation scripts (in initrd in the kernel) check for it.

You can have a look at fvdw_sl.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
okay so if i follow that method in the wiki but just with two disks it should work?

When the guy bought it, it only had the one disk in an he used it like that.
So if its in anyway possible to reinstall the OS to use just one disk i would like to do it that way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 6:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
okay so i went and got another drive and put it in.. havent done the partitions yet.
I just switched it on the one drive and put it on the network. I then noticed that it does get an IP address but i cannot ping the address or open it in the web browser.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
Phlox wrote:
okay so if i follow that method in the wiki but just with two disks it should work?

When the guy bought it, it only had the one disk in an he used it like that.
So if its in anyway possible to reinstall the OS to use just one disk i would like to do it that way.
The method is for two disks. When you have installed the OS, you can pull one of the disks, and the box will keep running fine. (yet degraded, of course).

Of course it's theoretically possible to install the stock OS on just a single disk, but not without serial I/O. The firmware refuses to boot when the UUID of the raid array doesn't fit a value in eeprom. There are two ways to bypass that, the first one is to tell the script it are new disks, but in that case the script wants 2 disks, and the second is to open a shell on serial and execute the commands needed to write the current UUID to the eeprom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
Okay so i played around a bit with the lacie.... I cant get serial output to terminal. I have a usb to serial cable, connected the pins in various ways but dont get output in the terminal


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
sine i dont think the serial method is gonna work, which script should be modified and how? could you please help?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
You can't change the script. It is a bootscript which is on a ramdisk which is embedded inside the kernel. This script tries to assemble the raid partitions, before it continues booting from harddisk. If it fails, or if the arrays are rejected due to the wrong UUID, the script drops a shell on the serial port. This shell can be used to fix the problems.

To change that script, you should have to compile the kernel from source, and provide your own initramfs. If you have the skills for that, you'd better install Debian.

Quote:
I have a usb to serial cable
Is that TTL? You can't use standard rs232.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
Hey guys so its been a while..i just recently got time to play around with my lacie 2big network 2 again..this time i got the right usb to serial ttl converter..

Its connected and i can see the lacie output over serial.
I got 2 drives..recreate partitions and plugged in

It gets to the point where it says booting the kernel then nothing after that adn the flashing red light in front.

I downloaded a differnte disk image and restored that to both drives but the lacie gets to the same point then just restarts.

How do i change the uuid from ubuntu or putty on windows?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
Backgrounds


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
Thanx that i understand...bu how do i connect to serial via ubuntu? My linux isnt that great.

And then when connected on serial can i just run those commands?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
Phlox wrote:
how do i connect to serial via ubuntu?
Ubuntu is Linux. So there are at least a zillion options. And then I'm forgetting some.

You can try PuTTY. Or minicom.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
I know that..i installed minicom yesterday and get the serial port open and can see how it boots but how do i then change the uuid?

It gets to uncomoressing kernel and then booting kernel and then hangs.
Also i cant send commands via minicom? Maybe im doing something wrong
Any help will be appreciated in getting the lacie up and running again :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6074
Can you post a bootlog from powerup until the 'hang'?. (In minicom Ctrl-A L, when I'm not mistaken)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:40 am
Posts: 15
Added log file...hangs at booting kernel


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group