2big Network 2 Does not power on at all

Post Reply
nas2fa03
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 2:37 am

2big Network 2 Does not power on at all

Post by nas2fa03 » Fri Dec 11, 2015 2:50 am

Hello,

I have a 2big Network 2Tb NAS in RAID 1 mode; yesterday I was using the drive and then suddenly lost connectivity (the NIC was no longer pingable) I then powered off the device.

When I try turning the device back on nothing happens... I hear nothing and the blue light does not come on (the LED lights on the NIC do light up though) otherwise everything else is dead. the power adapters green light is lit up so I dont think its that.

I took the hard drives out and looked for anything that may have burnt or any smells (all looked good, nothing out of the ordinary)
My device is out of warranty so I am trying to figure out next steps on data retrieval.

What would be my options here?
am I able to buy another power supply?

What about data recovery?
I saw an wiki about recovering data from Lacie NAS via Ubuntu linux, I would have no issues doing this and then buying another NAS to copy the data too.

I wanted to confirm with the experts here before I did anything as I do not want to take any chances corrupting my data.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2big Network 2 Does not power on at all

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:35 am

2TB is 2 1TB disks? Yes, you should be able to read that disks in Ubuntu. You don't even need to connect both disks for that. And that doesn't necessarily change the contents of the disk.

About your box, a certain capacitor is known weak. Several people have revived their box by exchanging it. (Alas I'm not one of them, although I tried). More here.

nas2fa03
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 2:37 am

Re: 2big Network 2 Does not power on at all

Post by nas2fa03 » Mon Dec 14, 2015 2:32 am

Thanks for you help! I was able to get it working :)

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: 2big Network 2 Does not power on at all

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:59 pm

Get it working as in mounting the disks, or get it working as in fixing the box?

Post Reply