General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed May 24, 2017 5:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
Have a look at your partitions:
Code:
cat /proc/partitions
to locate your data partitions. I *think* it is sda2 and sdb2.
Next try to assemble the raid array over this partitions
Code:
mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda2 /dev/sdb2
If this works, try to mount it:
Code:
mkdir /tmp/mountpoint
mount -o ro /dev/md0 /tmp/mountpoint
If this also works, you should be able to see your data in /tmp/mountpoint/

BTW, possibly mdadm is not available in your environment, in that case you'll have to upload a binary from fvdw.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
So, how do I view the folders after they are mounted ? Environment is not an issue as I have Windows/Linux/OSX on the same mac mini.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
The easiest way to get a list of files is
Code:
cd /tmp/mountpoint
find .
If your files are there, that means my theory about the data partition being not mountable is incorrect, as you just mounted it.
At the moment you have no easy way to get the files from the box. You can manually upload them using tftp, I guess, but that is cumbersome. It's also possible to fire up an ftp server on the box, but the current available (busybox) server is not very good.

Let's first determine if the array can be assembled and mounted, before thinking about how to get the data.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
Yeah the MDADM command will not work on the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
I have a static mdadm binary that you could upload...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
I'm willing to try anything. I just received a sata to usb3 connector and my mac won't recognize it when I plug it in. I have tons of family photos and DJ mixes I made as a teenager. I would really like to get the data back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t ... 760#p11760


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
Cool, I have already removed the drives before I got a response. I am moving over the last month and only have the drives with a sata to USB connector. Is there any way to recovery it that way ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
The commands to assemble and mount the raid array is the same on any Linux box. So you can boot your PC from a Live Linux CD or -USB stick, open a console (terminal), become root by executing 'su' or 'sudo su', depending on your Disto, and executed the commands.

Doing a quick scan in this topic I couldn't find the size of your disks. If they are >2TB it might not work using an USB-Sata converter. Some (maybe all) convertors show 4k logical sectors on disks >2TB, while the partition table uses 512B sectors.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
Ok, so I'm settled and put the drives back in the box. I'm ready to fire this box up asap, and would love a step by step. I have access to all 3 major OSs no problem.

Thanks in advance !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
Step by step? And what is the starting point?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
I have my NSMAX with both hdd in place. Dashboard recognizes the device but shows a blank slider for usb/network storage allocation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
Do you have shell access?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2015 4:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 3:55 am
Posts: 33
Is anyone still active here ? I still have these drive in the same state as the original post and would love to get them taken care of once and for all.

Got mdadm running on the latest ubuntu distro.

cat /proc/partitions gives me this on the disk with sticker #2



The drives are currently out of the NAS and the SATA connector I have only hooks up one drive at a time. What do I need to do from here ?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2015 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5994
I have some bad news for you. The disks isn't seen at all, or is damaged. The disk sda (the only connected harddisk) is only 20GiB (20971520 'blocks' of 1KiB). So I guess it's not your NAS disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group