General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:15 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 4:54 am 

Keep getting white/red flashing (I believe indicates "no OS"). I am by no means a Linux expert.

Using Parted Magic 2013-11-11, followed wiki instructions, wipe and repeated a couple times. Operations appear to complete without error. Setting the NAS up with an (old) WD5000AVS (500GB) to replace a failing OE Seagate 1TB. The OE drive boots but unmounts/locks up sporadically. The WD drive was pulled from a working MS windows installation in favor of a (much faster and larger) ultrastar . Connecting drives to laptop via USB dual bay dock.

I end up with 3 partitions:
sdc3 unknown 24mb -- -- --
sdc1 ext3 3.92gb ~900mb used raid flag
sdc2 xfs ~470GB ~210mb used raid flag

Looking at the OE drive (that boots in the enclosure) gparted shows parts 3 & 1 with unknown fs and the data part 2 as xfs.

Tried clonezilla local part to part (not surprisingly) it refuses to work with the unknown fs partition 3 and 1 on the OE drive.

Since we have to boot Linux to access these drives anyway, would it be possible package the MBR/Kernel/etc on a clonezilla image file leaving only the data partition to be created manually or resized?

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 7:50 pm 

You have seen this I suppose?

Is it possible that Parted Magic uses gpt? The box will not boot from a gpt disk.
Quote:
The OE drive boots but unmounts/locks up sporadically.
Have you looked at the specified power consumption of the old and new disk? If the old one sometimes umounts due to lack of juice, the new disk might just draw too much.

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 8:10 pm