Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

grojas22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by grojas22 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:44 am

I have the same issue as well but get different log results. Have a clue what error 5 is?
I have taken mine out of the NAS enclosure and put it in a USB enclosure to try and recover any data.
My next step may be ddrescue.


dmesg | tail -n 30

[ 8169.941961] sd 9:0:0:0: [sdb] CDB: Read(10): 28 00 3a 79 d1 4d 00 00 f0 00
[ 8169.941994] end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 981061965
[ 8169.942125] sd 9:0:0:0: [sdb] Unhandled error code
[ 8169.942134] sd 9:0:0:0: [sdb] Result: hostbyte=DID_NO_CONNECT driverbyte=DRIVER_OK
[ 8169.942147] sd 9:0:0:0: [sdb] CDB: Read(10): 28 00 3a 79 d2 3d 00 00 f0 00
[ 8169.942177] end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 981062205
[ 8169.942217] XFS (sdb2): I/O error occurred: meta-data dev sdb2 block 0x39fb921a ("xlog_bread") error 5 buf count 2097152
[ 8169.943016] XFS (sdb2): failed to find log head
[ 8169.943027] XFS (sdb2): log mount/recovery failed: error 5
[ 8169.943106] XFS (sdb2): log mount failed
[ 8181.955908] usb 1-3: new high speed USB device number 10 using ehci_hcd
[ 8182.080345] usb 1-3: New USB device found, idVendor=152d, idProduct=2338
[ 8182.080358] usb 1-3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=5
[ 8182.080368] usb 1-3: Product: USB to ATA/ATAPI bridge
[ 8182.080377] usb 1-3: Manufacturer: JMicron
[ 8182.080385] usb 1-3: SerialNumber: 000000000000
[ 8182.086678] scsi10 : usb-storage 1-3:1.0
[ 8183.179613] scsi 10:0:0:0: Direct-Access ST310005 28AS PQ: 0 ANSI: 2 CCS
[ 8183.180204] sd 10:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
[ 8183.181185] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] 1953525168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.00 TB/931 GiB)
[ 8183.181929] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
[ 8183.181943] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 28 00 00 00
[ 8183.183934] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] No Caching mode page present
[ 8183.183946] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
[ 8183.186938] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] No Caching mode page present
[ 8183.186949] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
[ 8183.210924] sdb: sdb1 sdb2 sdb3
[ 8183.214050] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] No Caching mode page present
[ 8183.214062] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
[ 8183.214073] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI disk

When I run xfs_check and xfs_repair I get:

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo xfs_check /dev/sdb2
xfs_check: read failed: Input/output error
XFS: failed to find log head
ERROR: cannot find log head/tail, run xfs_repair
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo xfs_repair /dev/sdb2
Phase 1 - find and verify superblock...
Phase 2 - using internal log
- zero log...
xfs_repair: read failed: Input/output error
XFS: failed to find log head
zero_log: cannot find log head/tail (xlog_find_tail=5), zeroing it anyway
xfs_repair: libxfs_device_zero write failed: Input/output error

I hope you may be able to provide even the smallest bit of insight.
Thanks so much!
Gabe

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:50 pm

[ 8169.942177] end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 981062205
[ 8169.942217] XFS (sdb2): I/O error occurred: meta-data dev sdb2 block 0x39fb921a ("xlog_bread") error 5 buf count 2097152

xfs_repair: read failed: Input/output error
I/O errors are hardware errors.

So basically you can try the same. Try ddrescue to get a raw copy of the disk, and try to recover your data from the copy. Or stop immediately and bring the disk to a professional data recovery company.
Unfortunately neither rohancd nor AbhiR ever reported back if they saved their data.

grojas22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by grojas22 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:09 am

Thanks, I will report back but am currently having trouble installing ddrescue. Can it be installed using the Knoppix Live Cd or should I install Ubuntu?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:38 am

AFAIK Knoppix is fine. Maybe ddrescue is named dd_rescue on that distro.

grojas22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by grojas22 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 2:59 pm

Ok thanks! I went ahead and used dd_rescue already on the disc. It has been transferring overnight, bad sectors and all, and looks to be halfway through the 1TB disc. There weren't any bad sectors until about 400 GB into the disc, so hopefully most of the data is recoverable.
Unfortunately, I don't believe I formatted the new disc drive I bought to XFS before the transfer.
I will have to leave it running over the holidays until I get back to the house next Monday. Will let you know how it goes.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:56 pm

grojas22 wrote:Unfortunately, I don't believe I formatted the new disc drive I bought to XFS before the transfer.
That doesn't matter. ddrescue does a raw copy, so the filesystem is copied as well. (And the unused space, and ...)

grojas22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by grojas22 » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:43 pm

Ok, came back and my A/C jack to computer was slightly unplugged so the damn think stopped mid-process at some point while I was gone. Tried to start it up again but now Knoppix doesn't even see the drive.
Checked the destination drive to see if it had magically finished before the computer ran out of power and it will not mount due to a corrupted sector message of some sort.

Time to take it to the professionals.
Thanks for all your help! :P

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:47 am

Checked the destination drive to see if it had magically finished before the computer ran out of power and it will not mount due to a corrupted sector message of some sort.
That was to be expected. The original disk didn't mount due to hardware errors, which means the mount process needed to read some unreadable sectors.
ddrescue has made (part of) a raw copy, in which the unreadable sectors are just substituted by zero's. So it still won't mount. The sectors are readable now, but have the wrong content (zero's).
But now you can run all kinds of recovery and repair tools. There will be no unreadable (and unrepairable) sectors, just sectors with a wrong content.

Have a try with PhotoRec to see if you can recover your data.

grojas22
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:46 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by grojas22 » Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:00 pm

Thanks, gave that a try and, though it seemed quite a bit was being recovered, everything I checked seemed to be missing data. (pictures pixelated and movies that wouldn't open)
Mostly recovered .txt files that didn't seem to be anything, just a bunch of random numbers and letters.
Took it to the professional and they said there was system area corruption. They say they can get it all back, even file names, for $700 : (
We'll see, if it works, it will be worth it.
Thanks for all the help!

Skipjack906
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:51 pm

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Skipjack906 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:57 pm

To: Mijzelf

I was about to chuck my Iomega Network Drive in the dustbin when I read your post about how to recover/reinstall a 1TB Iomega Network Hard Drive. Your advice worked lie a champ and I was able to upgrade the failed drive (It really had failed!) from a 1 TB to a 2 TB drive. And, with the higher drive speed, it is noticeably a faster data transfer!

Thanks for your sage advice and willingness to share your konwledge. It was very helpful!

Cheers!
Skipjack 906

mhiles
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:44 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by mhiles » Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:53 am

Hello all,

Thanks for this thread!
When my Iomega Home Media NAS died just one month out of warranty, I was peeved. I bought a new drive, downloaded Ubuntu, and got all the partitions and software installed on the new drive. Alas, no worky.

The new drive didn't give me any errors during the Ubuntu set up, but after I put it back in the NAS enclosure it's not showing up on the network. The front shows a solid white LED, which should mean "ready", but I can't find it, and my router hasn't issued it an IP address.

Any thoughts?

Mike

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:15 am

When you used the method from the Wiki, the mac address has been changed. Maybe a mac-filter in the router?

mhiles
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:44 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by mhiles » Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:41 pm

Nope. Good thought but checked that. I wonder if it is possible I didn't give the drive long enough to format after I partitioned it under Ubuntu? I mean, I didn't shut it off right away, but I know formatting can sometimes take a very long time. I am just not familiar with how Linux works with hardware, etc.

Mike

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:19 am

The command prompt only returns when the format command (mkfs) is ready. So you can hardly have done that wrong.

How did you prepare the disk? Using dd_rescue, as discussed in the this thread, using the Wiki directions, or using some clone spplication? And what type is your new disk?

mhiles
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 6:44 am

Re: Iomega 1TB Networked Drive not seen/recognized

Post by mhiles » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:03 am

Thanks for the response!

I followed the wiki directions very carefully. I did notice that the partition #2 changed size (as it should) when I deleted and then renewed it. Glad you asked about the drive type. I didn't replace it with the exact same drive. I replaced the old one, which was a 2TB Seagate Barracuda LP, with a 2TB WD NASWare drive (thinking it would be more reliable since it is designed for NAS). Do you think the different drive makes all the difference?

I was quite upset the original only lasted 13 months with a 12 month warranty. :cry:

I starting to think it's the Home Media box itself, but I don't know how to test that.

Mike

Post Reply