General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Does you PC has 2 network interfaces? Wifi, maybe? You write that the PC MAC addess is 90-E6-BA-15-C0-B4. But Wireshark says it's 00:50:FC:56:23:AD. (That is the source of the 'Who has 192.168.1.200' question, and that should be your PC).

Anyway, there is no trace of existence of the NAS in any of the Wireshark loggings, nor in the symptoms you describe. So you must face the possibility that the port died.
Why did you exchange the harddisk? Have you had a lightning problem?

It *might* help to reinstall the firmware. Getting the network interface of the HMNHD working is a complicated thing, and a small quirk in the files could obstruct that.
Another possibility is hooking up a serial port. This gives the possibility to look around in the firmware if there is any clue why the network doesn't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:13 pm
Posts: 15
When you say

Quote:
It *might* help to reinstall the firmware


You mean to do the "thing" in linux right?

My pc only has one network device, and I changed the HDD because couldnt put the 1Tb HDD working either.
The problem is that, because I thought it was broken I formated and tryed to use it in Windows, and voila, it works.


I think that the problem is
Quote:
the possibility that the port died

Because I allways had the blue and green light blinking with any hdd, until I discover this forum, that had the possibility to reinstal firmware in linux.
And that light error stops when I insert manually the static IP, so something is working in hdd because, NAS recognize that its no more in DHCP mode, but probably is not working at network port. But only when I connect NAS to the PC it starts with that EDIMAX mac address questining where is the ...1.200 ip.
So something is working at network port also.

How I do this
Quote:
Another possibility is hooking up a serial port. This gives the possibility to look around in the firmware

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Quiquos wrote:
You mean to do the "thing" in linux right?
Right.
Quote:
My pc only has one network device.
Really? That is strange. Where does the extra MAC address come from?
Quote:
I think that the problem is <snip> not working at network port.
To ask the obvious: you did try another cable?
Quote:
But only when I connect NAS to the PC it starts with that EDIMAX mac address questining where is the ...1.200 ip.
So something is working at network port also.
The question 'Who has IP address' is coming from the client which needs that information. That is your PC. It needed that information because you tried to ping the NAS. So there's no proof that the NAS port is still working.
Quote:
How I do this
Serial Port (Home Media)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:13 pm
Posts: 15
Ill try to reinstall the firmware.

sorry my mistake my mac address is that, 00:50:fc:56:23:ad, the other I gave its from other computer where I tested NAS also.
And the edimax probably is the chip in network device.

I tested with 3 cable, 2 connected to router and one crosscable.

Quote:
The question 'Who has IP address' is coming from the client which needs that information. That is your PC. It needed that information because you tried to ping the NAS. So there's no proof that the NAS port is still working.

Probably the port its really broken, and I cant make that SERIAL connection :(

probably it goes to garbage :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Do you by chance have an USB-networkcontroller laying around?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:13 pm
Posts: 15
I think its easyer to get then a serial.

But why??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
It might be possible to get it working on the NAS, replacing the build-in NIC.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:36 am
Posts: 16
Do you think a usb wlan adapter would also help?

and if how?

what would be to do for a connexion


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6039
Hardly. For a wired usb nic you only need a driver. With some luck the driver is already build-in, so it's plug and play. But for a wireless nic you'll need to install and configure a lot of tools to bear the wireless network.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:36 am
Posts: 16
You say:

Quote:
For a wired usb nic you only need a driver. With some luck the driver is already build-in


So you dont know whats build in yeah?

Or do you mean build-in the usb-nic plug and play but have you ever tried this or you just thinks there could be luck for someone.

Maybe I have a really similar problem like Quiquos.

Can you give me information of a maybe lucky nic conversion and a hopefully tested serial conversion

What serial adapter is to bought for the chance.

You know maybe a cheap seller in germany or elsewhere or over auctions with a product what is definitly working with this procedure im not a specialist in serial communication.

My PCs have all no serial interface at least outside the cases.
So USB to Serial could be the answer.

But there are so many pieces and I dont know which would be right.

Im exiting on answers

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2015 i wish you everything you wish for yourself


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:36 am
Posts: 16
But with an other device.

The Zyxel NSA-210

Best you can answer me here.

http://forum.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=228&t=16475

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 3:36 am
Posts: 16
Quote:
Or do you mean build-in the usb-nic plug and play but have you ever tried this or you just thinks there could be luck for someone.


I could imaging that usb-nic adapter

should use the same nic chipset how the nas has build-in at its nic

but I think

a firmware flash could damage important ip comunication as well

so I suggest someone could be lucky the next could not.

What do you think about that


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group