General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:45 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:20 pm 

Hi,

I recently got a 1TB home media drive and just wondering what way to best set this up.

I'm a musician and I intend to use the device primarily for archiving recording projects.

I've got a macbook pro with a 500GB drive for timemachine backups, the iomega unit and a 1TB seagate portable drive for backing up the iomega drive and storing off-site.

I also have a sony blu ray player that I'd like to use with the unit and a printer that I would like to network (USB, no ethernet).

I've found archiving the mac via wifi to the iomega very slow so I've taken to copying to the portable seagate and then syncing this to the iomega using 'copy jobs'......I'm wondering if its worth plugging the mac into the ethernet?

also, can I use a USB hub with the iomega? ....I'd like to plug the printer and the blu ray into the back of the unit and keep the front usb free for the seagate.

if anyone has any suggestions for my set up, that would be great.

cheers,

Darren

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:11 pm 

dazzathedrummer wrote:
I also have a sony blu ray player that I'd like to use with the unit and a printer that I would like to network (USB, no ethernet).
You should be able to plug in the printer and access it via the network. I've tried it for a little while with an old printer. It worked for me but not reliably, this might be because the printer was old. I have a new one anyway.
I'm not sure what you mean by using a blu-ray player with your nas. Could you elaborate?

dazzathedrummer wrote:
I've found archiving the mac via wifi to the iomega very slow so I've taken to copying to the portable seagate and then syncing this to the iomega using 'copy jobs'......I'm wondering if its worth plugging the mac into the ethernet?