New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

emiralles
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by emiralles » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:57 am

I did it ... I hope that my problems finish now.

I had do it with a low level copy from my old disk to the new one, but only the first 30G.

dd if=/old_disk bs=1M skip=0k count=30k |gzip >image_0_30.gz
change disk
cat image_0_30.gz | gzip -d | sudo dd of=/new_disk bs=1M seek=0k
sync

fsdik -b 512 /dev/sdd

repair partition 2 (adjust) and assign new type "fd"

Then put my new hdd in iomega case and start it, ok, go to the web administration in iomega, repair and format hdd, and voila !!!

I have my new disk with 4096 bytes per sector and 2T in my iomega.

Thanks for your help.

sicopata
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:28 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by sicopata » Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:32 pm

Somone could help me to explain how to do this with a Mac OSX 10.8.3?

Can Ido some think with the Terminal?

Driminicus
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:59 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by Driminicus » Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:54 pm

While it might be possible to do this with osx using things like OSX-Fuse and Fuse-ext2, we probably can't help you figure all that out here.

There is a much better and easier way to do this using linux. You can run a live distro from a usb drive, boot into linux and follow this guide.

sicopata
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:28 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by sicopata » Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:43 pm

bsadam wrote:Hello,
thank you for your reply.

I tried with an other PC. Now the new 2tb HD is working well. The full size is available.

it is very important to now.
Follow the instraction in
http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Inst ... ition_size
and skip the last command
mkfs -t xfs /dev/sdb2
this command damage the installation and cause the White/Blue flashing (I used different tools and got the same results). The device starts without this command. After booting of the plattform you can use the web interface to format. It works well.
I spent three days to get the plattform running. The problem was this command (mkfs -t xfs /dev/sdb2). I think, one is able to install a new HD in few minutes. Just forget the last command and format the data sector using the web interface after booting of the plattform.

best regards
I followed your advice and made every step except last one.

Now I get a solid red led when it's booted in HMNHD NAS and I can't access to any interface for format the data partition

Any ideas?

Thanks

Driminicus
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:59 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by Driminicus » Sat Apr 06, 2013 1:03 pm

Solid red means: "Drive not ready/Drive Failure." As you can see on the wiki.
This means that either the hard drive is broken, or you did something wrong while installing the firmware on it.

You say you did every step, did you get any errors while doing that?

sicopata
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:28 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by sicopata » Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:13 pm

Driminicus wrote:Solid red means: "Drive not ready/Drive Failure." As you can see on the wiki.
This means that either the hard drive is broken, or you did something wrong while installing the firmware on it.

You say you did every step, did you get any errors while doing that?
I don't get so much errors the first time I did, but I recognize that should made some steps several times

Anyway, I do it again from the beginning till the end (included the last step) and everything works good
The HDD was perfectly formatted for work

Thanks, one more experience for this post

milibey
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:55 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by milibey » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:36 pm

Hi, i have an Iomega without HDD. I buy an Toshiba 1tb HDD and i try to put it on empty enclosure. I try to follow the instructions, but i don`t make hdd to work.
I put the new HDD in a pc with ubuntu, i find the device as sdb, i download the files mbr+uboot+kernel.gz and sda1-2064.tgz, i have root acces with sudo su, but when i try to copy files to hdd with comand "gzip -dc /full/path/to/mbr+uboot+kernel.gz | dd of=/dev/sdb", or "gzip -dc /full/path/to/mbr+uboot+kernel.gz | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb", that files do not copy. I think is about the path. I downloaded files on desktop. I tried also with comand "gzip -dc /full/home/administrator/desktop/to/mbr+uboot+kernel.gz | dd of=/dev/sdb", but i`m stuck on this. Please help with that. I have not linux knowlege and sorry for my bad english, i`m from Romania. Thanks a lot

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:12 pm

The desktop is probably a subdirectory in the home directory. So try

Code: Select all

gzip -dc ~/Desktop/mbr+uboot+kernel.gz | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb
If that doesn't work, try

Code: Select all

find ~ | grep kernel
to find out where the file is located.

And, I'm not a helpdesk. So keep your questions in the forum, and don't PM me.

milibey
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:55 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by milibey » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:19 pm

Ok, sory about that. I`m just desperate.

milibey
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:55 am

Re: New HDD for Home Media Network Hard Drive

Post by milibey » Tue Jan 07, 2014 5:46 pm

I make the NAS to work. Thank you for help, and sorry for upset. Respect

Post Reply