General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:53 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:26 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,
I changed my hd with a new Seagate 2000GB @ my Iomega NAS HMN. The old one was Seagate 500GB.

I follow all the instructions
<http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Installing_firmware_on_a_new_disk_(Home_Media)>
with no errors, but when I install the new disk, the white light turns on, the blue light blinks and then the two just turn off. And that keep repeting forever. I did the procedure several times the same results.

After that, I did hd copy (sector-by-sector including mbr, hd Seagate 500GB ==> hd Seagate 2000GB). The new hd is accepted and working now but not the full/correct size. In knoppix I could see that the three partitions have the sum of 2000GB (see below). The Iomega web-interface (http://ip/cgi-bin/makecgi-pro) shows 500GB HDD only. If the device is connected as drive the os present space for 500GB hd only. ???? ;) :?:

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ fdisk -l
Disk /dev/sdb: 2000.4 GB, 2000398843904 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30400 cylinders, total 488378624 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 4096 = 4096 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0001cf00

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 48195 8273474 32901120 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb2 8273475 976768064 3873978360 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb3 1 48194 192776 da Non-FS data
Partition table entries are not in disk order

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ cat /proc/partitions
major minor #blocks name
8 16 1953514496 sdb
8 17 32901120 sdb1
8 18 1920420596 sdb2
8 19 192776 sdb3

Could someone help me to find a solution?

All your help will be well welcome!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
Quote:
Sector size (logical/physical): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
O dear! You've got an Advanced Format disk. A 'normal' disk has 512 bytes sectors. You are using an usb-to-sata convertor, I suppose? Can you connect the disk directly to a sata port? AFAIK all AF disk use a logical sector format of 512, but not all (none?) usb-sata converters pass this correctly.

An other option is to get Telnet access, and execute "Change data partition size" and "Data partition" on the NAS itself. To do so you'll have to unmount /dev/sda2 first.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:26 pm
Posts: 3
Hello,
thank you for your reply.

I tried with an other PC. Now the new 2tb HD is working well. The full size is available.

it is very important to now.
Follow the instraction in
http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Installing_firmware_on_a_new_disk_(Home_Media)#Change_data_partition_size
and skip the last command
mkfs -t xfs /dev/sdb2
this command damage the installation and cause the White/Blue flashing (I used different tools and got the same results). The device starts without this command. After booting of the plattform you can use the web interface to format. It works well.
I spent three days to get the plattform running. The problem was this command (mkfs -t xfs /dev/sdb2). I think, one is able to install a new HD in few minutes. Just forget the last command and format the data sector using the web interface after booting of the plattform.

best regards


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
Hi, I have the same problem, but I don't have any possiblity to conect to another pc, and I use a usb-sata convertor. It's possible do it?

Another question: My old hd need 0.25A (barracuda 1T), the new one 0.75A (barracuda 2T), would be a problem this?

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
emiralles wrote:
Hi, I have the same problem, but I don't have any possiblity to conect to another pc, and I use a usb-sata convertor. It's possible do it?
Did you already try? I don't know if all usb-sata covertors have this nasty behavior. You could just be lucky.

If your convertor also converts the logical sectors to 4k sectors, then I think the only way is to low-level copy the old disk to the new one, and do the partition resizing on the NAS itself. But this means
  • Your old disk must still be alive
  • You have to connect both disks simultaneously, or
  • You need storage space to store an image of 1T temporary. If the disk is not filled up this might be less, as compression is possible.

Quote:
Another question: My old hd need 0.25A (barracuda 1T), the new one 0.75A (barracuda 2T), would be a problem this?
I don't think so. The power supply can deliver 2A, and the NAS itself hardly needs anything, compared to the disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
I tried it, and convert it, I don't have lucky.

Please you talk about copy to low level, how can I do it? I can't connect 2 HDD at time.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
Asuming your USB disk is /dev/sdb:

First create an image of your old disk:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/sdb bs=1M | gzip >image.gz
Exchange disks, and write it to the other:
Code:
cat image.gz | gzip -d | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb bs=1M
I don't know how big the (compressed) image will be. For a brand new disk it will be about 100MB, for a disk full with movies it will be about 1TB. If the disk was full of movies, but you deleted them, it's still 1TB, as at lowest level (where we are copying) the data is still there.

It is also possible to copy in smaller chunks:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/sdb bs=1M skip=0k count=100k | gzip >image.gz
# exchange disk
cat image.gz | gzip -d | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb bs=1M seek=0k
sync
# exchange disk
sudo dd if=/dev/sdb bs=1M skip=100k count=100k | gzip >image.gz
# exchange disks
cat image.gz | gzip -d | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb bs=1M seek=100k
sync
# exchange disks
sudo dd if=/dev/sdb bs=1M skip=200k count=100k | gzip >image.gz
# exchange disks
cat image.gz | gzip -d | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb bs=1M seek=200k
sync
...
In this case in chunks of 100GB (count * bs)
Be aware the the device node can change when exchanging disks. sdb -> sdc ->sdd (this is visible in 'cat /proc/partitions), depending on how fast the kernel cleans the garbage after pulling the disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
Do you think that dd command will go well?, I used it to copy a new HDD with mbr+uboot+linux and my new HDD (2T) showed me 8T.

I tried too:

in my old disk
dd if=/dev/sda count=13783 | gzip >mbr+uboot+kernel.gz

and in my new disk
gzip -cd mbr+uboot+kernel.gz | sudo dd of=/mbr+uboot+kernel.gz /dev/sdd

fdisk /dev/sdd and repair sdd2

and don't go

in my old disk
dd if=/dev/sda count=13783 bs=4096 | gzip >mbr+uboot+kernel.gz

and in my new disk
gzip -cd mbr+uboot+kernel.gz | sudo dd of=/mbr+uboot+kernel.gz bs=4096 /dev/sdd

fidisk /dev/sdd and repair sdd2

and don't go

I think that if I use dd command now I´ll have the same situation

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
dd is not the problem.

The first sector of the disk contains a partition table (stored in mbr+uboot+kernel.gz), which defines start-points and sizes of the partitions in sector units. Your usb interface tells the logical sector size of the disk is 4k, which means all start-points and sizes are in bytes a factor 8 bigger then they should be.

But that is only a problem for software which accesses the partition table or the partitions itself, like fdisk, or the kernel when you want to put a filesystem on a partition.

dd doesn't address the disk sector wise, but byte wise, so it doesn't matter which logical sector size the disk has. Heck, dd doesn't even know it's accessing a disk. So dd can be used to lowlevel copy a disk byte wise, no matter what the sector size is.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
i'll try to do it.

I'll keep you informed


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
What do you thing about

Code:
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.056423] usb 1-4: USB disconnect, device number 17
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.056523] sd 20:0:0:0: Device offlined - not ready after error recovery
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060140] sd 20:0:0:0: [sdd] Unhandled error code
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060143] sd 20:0:0:0: [sdd]  Result: hostbyte=DID_NO_CONNECT driverbyte=DRIVER_OK
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060146] sd 20:0:0:0: [sdd] CDB: Read(10): 28 00 04 15 4c 90 00 00 f0 00
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060156] end_request: I/O error, dev sdd, sector 68504720
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060160] quiet_error: 22 callbacks suppressed
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060162] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563090
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060167] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563091
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060170] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563092
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060172] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563093
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060174] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563094
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060177] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563095
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060179] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563096
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060182] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563097
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060184] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563098
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060186] Buffer I/O error on device sdd, logical block 8563099
Feb 15 18:50:24 Danko-Ubuntu kernel: [126680.060224] sd 20:0:0:0: [sdd] Unhandled error code


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
Some hardware error. Bad cable, bad SATA-USB convertor, or even bad disk. It this the old or the new disk? In case of the old, you could try dd_rescue instead of dd (different syntax). That won't solve hardware errors, but dd_resque won't stop, while dd does.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
it's the old, I try to do the image but break the process, dd_rescue is it the same ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:36 pm
Posts: 19
My problem is in the first 50G, I have images from 50G to 100G and 100G to 600G, how i used dd_rescue for the first 50G?

I don't use this comnand ?

dd_rescue if=/dev/hdd bs=1M count=50k |gzip > image_000_050.gz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6022
According to the manual I'd say
Code:
dd_rescue /dev/hdd image -m 50G
Maybe you have to specify the 'G'.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group