Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

StorCenter ix2-200 Network Storage
Post Reply
ls3c6
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:36 pm

Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

Post by ls3c6 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:41 pm

Responding to pings, NO SSH, power/HD lights flashing.... cannot see SMB or web interface.

Failed drive has been removed and unit power cycled... help!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:01 am

What do you mean? You had a degraded array, removed 1 disk, and now the system doesn't boot? Are you sure you pulled the right disk?

ls3c6
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:36 pm

Re: Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

Post by ls3c6 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:58 pm

wow, BOTH drives are failed at the same time... both clunk when I use in another machine to test... unreal.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:48 pm

When both disks failed on the same moment, I guess you either dropped your nas, or you had a spike on the mains, or your powersupply died, and took the disks to it's grave.

As you hear a clunk when powering up the disk, I guess it's the first option.

ls3c6
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:36 pm

Re: Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

Post by ls3c6 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 1:38 pm

They replaced both drives, I powered it off, inserted them and powered it up then held the reset button for 15 seconds... still just a white flashing light... what now?!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Failed drive in IX2, removed... not responsive

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:17 am

"They" is Iomega?

There are two types of ix2's, 'diskless' onces, and 'preinstalled' onces. The 'diskless' samples have a big flash memory containing the firmware, and able to install it on a new, empty disk. The ' preinstalled' samples are sold with disks inside, with the firmware installed on the disk. If you have the latter type, and two new, empty disks, the box cannot boot.
In that case a recovery stick is needed.

Post Reply