ix2 not accessible by host name scince 4.1.102.29716

StorCenter ix2-200 Network Storage
Post Reply
jambon
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:02 am

ix2 not accessible by host name scince 4.1.102.29716

Post by jambon » Sat Jul 26, 2014 7:15 am

Hi
Just to share an issue host name I had by updating to version 4.1.102.29716.
After update has finished, the network was not able to recognize ix2-2 host name and all the hosts needing to connect through this alias was not working correctly (Samba and NFS mounting mainly).

I try many things like rebooting the nas, changing IP in /etc/hosts/ and some other desperate stuffs as my network knowledge is very light. On my router (DHCP Information) I can see the IP appearing but not the hostname (this my ISP router which is a Huawei HG8045)
Finally I sort it out even if I am not sure it was the proper way to do but I did the following:
- connect via ssh
- try to restart my network interface by running

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/networking restart
command
- I saw a message saying
can't create /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.eth0.leases: No such file or directory
and the alias ix2-2 was still not able to be seen by the others network hosts
- I copy paste /var/lib/dhcp3/ to /var/lib/dhcp/ and changed the old IP in /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.eth0.leases to the new one
- I run once again

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/networking restart
command
- hosts can be reach ix2-2 alias

The DHCP Information view of my router still not displayed the host name but the main thing is that host can see it now through the alias ix2-2.
Also strange thing is after reboot NAS, the folder /var/lib/dhcp/ was gone

If someone has an explanation I would be more than happy to understand, in the meantime if someone has the same issue I hope this post will help.


PS: Also NFS mounting was not working properly and I had to remove from the web interface the host and re-add it again then OK

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: ix2 not accessible by host name scince 4.1.102.29716

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:54 am

can't create /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.eth0.leases: No such file or directory
Strange. When I see a message like that I assume the box is running a dhcp server. Does it? Although that would give totally different problems.

jambon
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:02 am

Re: ix2 not accessible by host name scince 4.1.102.29716

Post by jambon » Sat Sep 13, 2014 3:22 am

Does not seem to (ony client):

Code: Select all

root@ix2-2:/ $ ps aux | grep dhcp
root     14537  0.0  0.3   4844   760 ?        Ss   Jul26   0:35 dhclient -v -pf /run/dhclient.eth0.pid -lf /var/lib/dhcp/dhclient.eth0.leases eth0
root     30055  0.0  0.2   1960   636 pts/0    S+   11:20   0:00 grep dhcp

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: ix2 not accessible by host name scince 4.1.102.29716

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Sep 13, 2014 9:09 am

When you do

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /var/lib/dhcp
/etc/init.d/networking restart
I guess it just works?

On an embedded Linux device directories like /var/lib/ are on a ramdrive (tmpfs), and so some script has to populate it on boot. So you have got 2 scripts which should be in sync, the script which populates the directories, and the script which starts dhcpclient and passes it's command line.
The /etc/ directory is writable and non-volatile, AFAIK, so you can change one of these scripts. Or just put a 'mkdir -p /var/lib/dhcp' in /etc/init.d/networking.

jambon
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:02 am

Re: ix2 not accessible by host name scince 4.1.102.29716

Post by jambon » Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:08 am

Same issue happens again after a reboot.

I did

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /var/lib/dhcp
/etc/init.d/networking restart
Looks like it works indeed

Post Reply