HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

StorCenter ix2-200 Network Storage
Post Reply
iomega2011
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:06 pm

HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

Post by iomega2011 » Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:35 pm

Hello everyone,

I got an Iomega StoreCenter ix2 - 200.
I had a problem with the NAS, there was a poblem with the configuration. When I logged in, I can't saw the all registercards/ overviews. So I decided to delete the raid. It was not possible to delete the raid by interface, so I pulled each HD out and formated them directly on my pc. I thought the raid level 1 will be reseted automaticaly when I put the HDs back in. But, in the end, it doesn't work.

I can't connect to the NAS using the Iomega StorCenter Manager. When using Iomega Manager, in step 4, it reads:
"Iomega StorCenter Manager receives no answer"
I pushed the Reset button twice.
On the front of the NAS it just blinks working, which is suppose to mean it is restoring the RAID, but nothing after three days has happen!
Have you any ideas what I can do?
thanks :-)

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:01 pm

Basically you've bricked your box, because a large part of the firmware was on the disks. Fortunately Iomega bought the firmware from someone who build in a recovery procedure.
You can reinstall the firmware following this steps.

iomega2011
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

Post by iomega2011 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:27 pm

Thats for your quick answer.
I have still a problem. I built a virtual Linux PC. I decrypted the firmeware file. The website you gave me said, that I handel with the following files:
  • apps
    config
    initrd
    oem
    zImage
My problem is that I can't mount the apps file to get the config...
In CMD:
cd Downloads
mount apps
mount: Cant't be find apps in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

When I try to go through the path, a window popped up that says: "The fiel or folder etc/fstab does net exists."
I can't create this folder...

Could you help me please.
Thx

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:58 pm

You'll need to specify a mountpoint:

Code: Select all

mkdir /tmp/mountpoint
mount apps /tmp/mountpoint
May you'll have to specify that a loopmount is necessary:

Code: Select all

mount -o loop apps /tmp/mountpoint

iomega2011
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

Post by iomega2011 » Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:22 pm

okay :-) I get the "config.gz" with a size of 252KB...
I hope, I get the right file.

An other problem is, that I don't know, how I generate an MD5 Hast.

By my virtual UNIX system I type...

Code: Select all

cd Downloads/Apps,Config,Initrd,OEM,zlmage
This folder consists the the files which are already named.

Code: Select all

md5sum oem
67a30612aa78bb7daeb6a1794138b8db  oem

d5sum config.gz
3be18308511fe6184decde4988815c43  config.gz

md5sum zImage
43aa864b43218c354cef881b0e5d55dc  zImage

md5sum apps
4a053ebf6976f93f77c9d0283f1ceef2  apps

md5sum initrd
e86127ba2eb87814ebaa30c7a49a58b5  initrd
So I don't know, what I have to do?
could you describe the following steps please. =)

thanks :-)

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HD's can't be reseted automaticaly

Post by Mijzelf » Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:15 pm

First, you need to unzip config.gz:

Code: Select all

gunzip config.gz
And then, well, there is a nice script in the wiki:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
ix2=/opt/nas-os/ix2-200-2.1.25.229-files
usb=/media/USB

find $ix2/images/ -name *.md5 -exec rm {} +
imgs=$(find $ix2/images/)
for img in ${imgs} ; do
  if [ -f $img ] ; then
    md5=$(md5sum $img)
    md5=${md5% *}
    md5=${md5% }
    echo "$md5" > $img.md5
  fi
done
cd $ix2/images/
tar czvf ../ix2-boot.tgz *

mkdir -p $usb/emctools/ix2-200d_images/
cp $ix2/ix2-boot.tgz $usb/emctools/ix2-200d_images/
Put it in a file, edit the variables ix2 and usb to point to the source and target directory, and run the script:

Code: Select all

sh scriptfile

Post Reply