Front blue light blinking permanently

Post Reply
eiremanoffrance
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:59 pm

Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by eiremanoffrance » Wed Feb 26, 2014 3:01 pm

Hello
I have a empty 5big Network without any original drive.
Yet now, I own 2x1.5To hard drive with the "image" provide by lacielm.

slow blue blinking on the front and fix blue light above the 2 drives
I already test the factory reset, but it didn't work, the red led did his work but the blue didn't (still slow blinking)

Have you any idea of the problem ?

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by fvdw » Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:43 pm

did this 5big (vs2?) had disks in the past when delivered by Lacie ? or did it come original from Lacie without disks ?
There are two versions the one delivered by lacie without disk has a firmware in nand flash, the ones delivered with disks have no firmware in flash. The first can be used to format a disk and install the firmware from flash the second type needs a prepared disk with a specific partition table and firmware images

eiremanoffrance
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by eiremanoffrance » Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:34 pm

this is a V1 apparently,with the serial number I found:
5TB LaCie 5big Network EK
301355EK

But I don't have any original disk. Will it work with only 2 identicals disk

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by fvdw » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:25 pm

yes it should work with only 2 disks

For 5big1 I do not have firmware or instruction how to get it installed but I think it is similar to edmin_v2 or 2big1 those have a similar cpu. However you will at least a kernel compiled for the 5big1 from lacie if you want to use their firmware

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by fvdw » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:31 pm


eiremanoffrance
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by eiremanoffrance » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:56 pm

I already did this with the 2008221.zip and the DD.exe under command line (I'm windows user).
And the problems still appears.
I don't know if I'm doing wrong with the cylinder's re-indexation but at the end, it still don't work

Do you have any idea ?

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by fvdw » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:45 pm

eiremanoffrance wrote:I already did this with the 2008221.zip and the DD.exe under command line (I'm windows user).
And the problems still appears.
I don't know if I'm doing wrong with the cylinder's re-indexation but at the end, it still don't work

Do you have any idea ?
I don't follow what you did. You need to partition two disks under linux and format them and/or extract tar archives to those. This cannot be done under windows...
Did you followed this guide http://lacie.nas-central.org/wiki/Insta ... 82Big_2%29
using the the partitions tar balls as given in the the previous link ? http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... artitions/

eiremanoffrance
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by eiremanoffrance » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:34 pm

I follow the post
viewtopic.php?f=245&t=651&start=30 (the post of lacielm) with the command dd.exe

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by fvdw » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:49 pm

so you used the "raw" disk partitons

then you may still need to do this (to both disks)

Code: Select all

echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd bs=1 skip=1536 of=/dev/sdb
(ps sdb in this example must fit device id with the disk you are preparing !)
Why see the reame.txt in the http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... artitions/
In /init the check is done if the RAID array UUID's are same as the ones stored in EEprom. If not, the box doesn't boot. Fortunately,
there is a check to see if it are 'new disks', which can be found in /lib/lacie/libcommon:

# We store firstboot signature (LaCieFirstBootLaCie)
# in the beginning of the 3rd sector.
# (19 bytes + newline = 20 bytes)
# http://grp-horus/mediawiki/index.php/FirstBoot
#================================================
firstboot_signature="LaCieFirstBootLaCie"
firstboot_signature_device="/dev/sda"
firstboot_signature_offset=1536
firstboot_signature_size=20

so you should execute
echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd bs=1 skip=1536 of=/dev/sdb
on each disk, to make it 'new'. (Of course you should exchange /dev/sdb by the right value.
(fortunately this space is not used on most disks, so an error shouldn't hurt.))

eiremanoffrance
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by eiremanoffrance » Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:34 am

I tried the command (under windows with a dos window)
echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd bs=1 skip=1536 of=/dev/sdb
- But the tools dd.exe didn't return me any information.
- By device Id (the "sdb") do you mean the drive how can I be sure to get the correct name's device (I'm not familiar with linux environnement (maybe)

I think this command is working under linux but i'm a windows 's user
Right know I used the dd.exe command and Partition Guru (wich is the new name of diskgenius)

I know that I'm not far from the end...

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by fvdw » Fri Feb 28, 2014 10:18 pm

you can also make a text file (text.txt) containing that string and use the dd command

Code: Select all

dd bs=1 skip=1536 count=19 if=text.txt of=/dev/sdb
the number behind count is the number of characters it will read and write

eiremanoffrance
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: Front blue light blinking permanently

Post by eiremanoffrance » Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:15 pm

Finally I made it :) :P :) :P :) :P :) :P :
I used 5 similar hard drives with the raw image (without your command it's apparently already in the raw image)
And at the boot......... the front light was blinking differently:
and I was able to connect to the interface.

It's working !!!!
Thanks for your help

Post Reply