General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat May 27, 2017 4:13 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 101 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 10:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 9:32 am
Posts: 2
lacielm wrote:
I can confirm the instructions given by Mijzelf in October 2011 work.
viewtopic.php?f=245&t=651&start=15#p18885

Thanks for these. I could get my hardware back to live after a full wipe of the 5 disks.
If you are like me, not that familiar with Linux, following the instructions can turn out to be quite an undertaking.
Bear with me, I'll post a Windows-only 'How to' soon.

It'll be a pleasure to share since LaCie customer support has been so helpless :-)


Hi there I was wondering if you could please help me.

I have downloaded the Zipped Image file and the DD.exe program and followed your instructions. I have 5 blank 2TB drives into a diskless LAcie Big5. After following your instructions and all is completed, when I put the drives in the unit all I get is flashing Red Light on the front and a blinking red light on the front...is there something I'm missing? Sorry I'm a bit of a novice and only got on here after doing the obligatory Google search...Lacie support were completely useless


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:04 pm
Posts: 2
Hello. First post :)

Guys thanks for an excellent guide. I've used all your info.

Can i use only 3 drives to rebuild raid5 (i think its a minimum 3) ?
W got blinking front led, stable at the back. No DHCP / Web interface.
Yes I changed the last partition with numers from lostintranslation.

think I have v1 version - is this img is right for my harware?
Thanks ina advance for help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:04 pm
Posts: 2
I've done everything as above. 4 1TB disks, and front light blinking blue and no dhcp. At the back - all blue still lights. My nas is defective?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:25 am
Posts: 2
i have the same issue :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:05 am
Posts: 1
Hello,

I am posting this in order to summarize some of the above posts, while including several necessary pieces of missing information. This might not be the most efficient method, but it works perfectly and should only take a few hours to complete. Thanks are owed primarily to Mijzelf.

Good luck!

LaCie 5big Network Configuration (5 Blank 1.0TB WD10EFRX HDDs)(Step-by-Step Instructions):

1. Download Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS 64-bit

2. Burn this OS to a blank DVD+R (Leave the disk in your drive)

3. Shut down and open your desktop's tower

4. Unplug the SATA data and power cables from your tower's HDD

5. Plug the SATA data and power cables into the first blank 1.0TB HDD

6. Boot via Ubuntu (Access setup to change the boot priority)

7. Do not install, try Ubuntu instead

8. Insert and mount a USB storage device (The device name I used was TEMPORARY)

9. Go to http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... artitions/ and save three files to TEMPORARY (sda6.gz, sda7.tar.bz2, and sda8.tar.bz2)

10. Open Gparted, verify that the entire 1.0TB HDD is unallocated, and create an msdos partition tablet

11. Ensure that you have internet access, open Terminal, and enter the following line:

cat /proc/partitions

12. Verify that /dev/sda is your 1.0TB HDD and the enter (copy and paste) the following line by line:

sudo su

apt-get update
apt-get install mdadm
apt-get install xfsprogs

echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd bs=1 seek=1536 of=/dev/sda

fdisk /dev/sda

13. Enter the following line by line in fdisk in order to create the necessary partition table:

c
n
e
1
63
2008124
n
p
2
2008125
1953525168
n
l
126
257039
n
l
257103
273104
n
l
273168
289169
n
l
289233
642599
n
l
642663
1992059
n
l
1992123
2008124
t
5
82
v
w

14. Enter (copy and paste) the following line by line in Terminal in order to create the necessary RAID partitions:

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=5 /dev/sda5 missing missing missing missing --metadata=0.90
mkswap -f /dev/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=5 /dev/sda7 missing missing missing missing --metadata=0.90
mke2fs -j /dev/md0
mkdir /tmp/md0
mount /dev/md0 /tmp/md0
cd /tmp/md0
tar xjf /media/ubuntu/TEMPORARY/sda7.tar.bz2
cd ..
umount /tmp/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=5 /dev/sda8 missing missing missing missing --metadata=0.90
mke2fs -j /dev/md0
mount /dev/md0 /tmp/md0
cd /tmp/md0
tar xjf /media/ubuntu/TEMPORARY/sda8.tar.bz2
cd ..
umount /tmp/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=5 /dev/sda9 missing missing missing missing --metadata=0.90
mke2fs -j /dev/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=5 /dev/sda2 missing missing missing missing --metadata=0.90
mkfs.xfs /dev/md0
mdadm --stop /dev/md0

gzip -cd /media/ubuntu/TEMPORARY/sda6.gz | dd of=/dev/sda6

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda10

15. If you notice any error messages during this process, start over after making sure that none of the RAID partitions are active by checking Disks (Stop any RAID partitions highlighted red before starting step fourteen)

16. Close Terminal, open Disks, and verify that five RAID partitions appear on the 1.0TB HDD (Stop them and put the drive in standby)

17. Unplug the SATA data and power cables from the first 1.0TB HDD and place it in your LaCie 5big Network with the power turned off (Plug the SATA data and power cables into the next 1.0TB HDD and repeat steps six through seventeen after shutting down Ubuntu)

18. Once all five 1.0TB HDDs are in the LaCie 5big Network, turn on the server while holding the front LED button (Release the button when it turns solid red)(Press and hold the button for five seconds when it turns solid blue)(At this point, the web interface should become available via the ethernet port and the sever should begin synchronizing to RAID 5)

Notes:

Do not attempt this process using an SATA USB interface and laptop because to the best of my knowledge, SATA USB interfaces do not support S.M.A.R.T. (The physical sector size of advanced format drives is 4096 bytes, while their logical sector size is 512 bytes for backwards compatibility. If S.M.A.R.T. is not available during the formatting process, then fdisk will not partition the drive properly)

This is the exact method I used to get my LaCie 5big Network working again, but feel free to take shortcuts such as cloning your drives (This server will support five 2.0TB HDDs, but much larger primary partitions must be created in fdisk when using these disks)

The following partition table should be created in fdisk during step thirteen above (Check the partition table that you've created while in fdisk by pressing p)(Ignore the physical sector boundary messages):

Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0x0x0x0x

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 63 2008124 2008062 5 Extended
/dev/sda2 2008125 1953525168 1951517044 83 Linux
/dev/sda5 126 257039 256914 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 257103 273104 16002 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 273168 289169 16002 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 289233 642599 353367 83 Linux
/dev/sda9 642663 1992059 1349397 83 Linux
/dev/sda10 1992123 2008124 16002 83 Linux


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:28 pm
Posts: 1
Recently I got old 5Big unit. It was working fine - i just didn't have password. So I did factory reset and instead of resetting configuration, it erased everything - including all partitions and partition table. I came across this thread and tried to restore unit using FlorenceNightingale instructions. It didn't work - for some reason all 5 drives have physical sector size 512.
Drives connected directly to MB.
Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:21 am
Posts: 2
Hi, All,
I just bought an empty LaCie 5big network for a hobby project for a really low price.
Thanks to the examples (ie procedure by Mijzelf) I hope to rebuild this NAS with 2TB drives.
However I still have a question: In a separate thread someone asks on booting the unit with not all drives present but this thread is not answered completely.

My questions are :
- What is the minimal drive count to boot the NAS ?
- What is the minimal drive count to reinstall the OS ? Almost all topics mention this number to be 5.
- Would it be possible to revive the unit with ie 5x 500GB drives and then replace 2 or 3 of these with 2TB drives one by one and use RAID 1 or 5 on only the 2TB drives ?

After reading this forum I have somehow got the feeling that a lot of problems occur with this machine, which I thought to be very reliable first.
However my experience with this kind of forums is that people only visit when having problems, so the focus is mainly biased on wrong things instead of nice experiences. True or False ? Any input greatly appreciated !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
CarlKrieger wrote:
My questions are :
- What is the minimal drive count to boot the NAS ?
Theoretically one. If you have a functioning 5Big, and remove all but one disk, it will boot. However, I have no idea if you then can do something practical with it. Depends on the firmware capabilities.
Quote:
- What is the minimal drive count to reinstall the OS ? Almost all topics mention this number to be 5.
Again, theoretically one. But keep in mind that the OS is not designed to be reinstalled, nor is this supported by Lacie. A 5big could only be purchased with 5 disks inside. If one disk fails, you can plug in a new one. The firmware will initialize it. If all disks fail, you can buy 5 new, pre-installed disks. Will 4 also do? Don't know.
You can find out by reading the start scripts in the initrd embedded in the kernel.
This script is written to be able to assemble a new nas. A new nas is always shipped with 5 disks. So I guess the initscript either wants 5 new disks, or any number of 'old disks'.
I never sifted the 5Big startscript, but I did for the 2Big2. If that one detects a new, preinstalled disk, it waits until it sees 2 of them, and then continues.
BTW, the difference between a new, preinstalled disk and an old one is a small string written in the MBR.

Of course it should be possible to create a single 'old' disk, and boot from that. The main problem is that the UUID's of the raid array have to match the values stored in an eeprom. So you'll need serial access to read the eeprom, and match the raid arrays, or vice versa.

Quote:
- Would it be possible to revive the unit with ie 5x 500GB drives and then replace 2 or 3 of these with 2TB drives one by one and use RAID 1 or 5 on only the 2TB drives ?
I don't think so.

Quote:
After reading this forum I have somehow got the feeling that a lot of problems occur with this machine, which I thought to be very reliable first.
However my experience with this kind of forums is that people only visit when having problems, so the focus is mainly biased on wrong things instead of nice experiences. True or False ?
I can't say how reliable a 5Big is. Yes, most people visiting this forum have problems with it, but at least a few of them bought the box without harddisks, or wiped the disks themselfes and then realized they destroyed the OS. Seeing the number of posts the box seems reliable as long as it's used as desgined.

You might want to look at fvdw_sl, a custom firmware for Lacie boxes, which can be installed on a single disk. Support for the 5Big is WIP, afaik, but the main functions are there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:21 am
Posts: 2
All questions answered, Thanks a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:22 am
Posts: 3
I downloaded the 2008221.iso image, ran the DD commands for 5x2TB Seagate HDDs and reinstalled them into a 5Big Network 1. I power on the device, the front and 5 rear lights are all flashing blue however I cannot access the unit. I had it working previously with the latest (2.2.8) firmware on 5x1.5TB drives, but perhaps I have done something wrong? How can I confirm I have the correct data on the drive (partitions / tables / MBR etc)
Do I just have to wait for the RAID to synchronise before it appears in Lacie Network Assistant?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
The 2008221.iso? What is that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:22 am
Posts: 3
Sorry, it should say 2008221.img, not iso. It's the disk image from the 3rd page of this topic. I was trying to load it onto each of the 5 2TB drives with no success.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5995
Ah, then I guess you used the 'Windows way'.
Quote:
How can I confirm I have the correct data on the drive (partitions / tables / MBR etc)
You can't, I think. Windows 'Disk manager' should show 7 unrecognized partititons, that's it. You can look at the sizes.

In linux you should be able to mount partition /dev/sdx2, /dev/sdx7, /dev/sdx8 and /dev/sdx9. Further 'file -s /dev/sdx6' should show a uImage. /dev/sdx5 is swapspace, but it wouldn't keep the box from booting if it isn't, I think.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:59 pm
Posts: 2
Hi everybody,

I bought a second hand 5Big Storage Server 10 To and I looking for the OS.
For the moment I only have windows server 2008 instaled but no OS or soft to manage the NAS.
I found several version of the lacie OS but it's alayws .capsule to update an instaled OS. The only .exe that I found is for 4.xx version and the installation failed, I suppose it's because it's not support anymore.

So my question is : how install the first version of the OS?
Or : Witch soft can I install on the NAS to manage it?

Thanks a lot for your support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: LaCie 5big Network
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
what kind of 5big is this exactly, a 5big2 with arm processor or the one with an intel processor ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 101 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group