General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:02 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Has anyone tried to install Squeezebox Server ?
Logitech's Squeezebox series, needs this to stream music.
It doesn't support uPnP, like Twonky Server (Very strange)

On Logitechs download page:
http://www.mysqueezebox.com/download
There are some different NAS/Linux choices, but of course nothing that starts with Lacie!

Has anyone tried ?

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
I have Squeezebox server running under debian chroot. Up and running for a month or so now with no issues


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi!
Ok, could you please describe to a linux-beginner how that was acclompished ?

Regards
/patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,
First step is to get ssh access. Should be the same as a Network Space 2

http://forum.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=236&t=2518

Next have a read here...

http://forum.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=221&t=1700

... I opted for debian squeeze.

Once you have ssh running I can offer assistance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:29 am
Posts: 3
Here after the few steps that i understand

As rimoth wrote it you need a SSH access
With Wireless Space you can enable SSH access on dashboard (general setting)

then you need to log as root with this method http://forum.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=246&t=2153
I am locked at this step :oops: I tried with Seven OS then with Ubuntu, I don't know if i need a crossover cable.

Then you need the GPL for WS you will find it here http://www.lacie.com/more/?id=10095
You must uncompress the .tar then add the SB server in it (i don't know where).

Then you must past the new tar in the WS and unTar it but i don't know where and how... :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Quote:
I am locked at this step I tried with Seven OS then with Ubuntu, I don't know if i need a crossover cable.


It mentioned on another thread that the html insertion didn't work under Mac - Can you try a windows client? A cross over cable is not required.

Not sure that GPL is required. I did not download that for the Network Space 2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi again.

Root access and ssh is enabled.

I have previously fixed Twonky access and enabled Transmission webaccess.

But this I don't understand!

First of all, should I download the "Debian/Ubuntu Linux" or "Linux RPM" ?
For practice I tried to install the Debian/Ubuntu Linux in a VMWare Ubuntu. And I got it working!
But the command used for installing the .deb package (dpkg -i), doesn't seem to exist on WirelessSpace.

I'm guessing that's why I should "chroot Debian" ?!
Am I right so far ?

Please help with instructions on how to chroot Debian.....

Also, is this something I have to do just to be able to install Squeezebox, or is it something that become persistant ?
And if so, does it affect any other functionallity on the Wireless Space ?

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

Quote:
Root access and ssh is enabled.
- Excellent.

OK for chroot it is worth googling and having a read up on it. I liken it to the old dos box in Windows, i.e. you can start a new session within Windows that uses a different set of libraries (or OS even). In our case it allows you run another linux session but using the debain libraries and binaries.

You will also need to check how much disk space you have under sda9 (I think it is sda9 - I don't have my NS2 in front of me) the main partition where you ssh into the wireless space. The sda9 partition under the NS2 is about 841.5M and had about 777.8M free. This was OK for the first install I did but I went back and created another partition later to allow more space - I can check this when I next have access to my NS2 and will post back.

First step is to prepare the debian installation. As you have Ubuntu running under VMWare you can run the following in Ubuntu

Code:
sudo debootstrap --arch=armel --foreign squeeze debian
sudo tar cvf debian.tgz debian

You will probably need to install debootstrap first. Next copy debian.tgz to OpenShare on the wireless space.

On the wireless space, ssh in and create root folder for the Debian install. (Do this from the root folder - cd /)
Code:
mkdir debian

Install the debian files
Code:
tar xvf /shares/OpenShare/debian.tgz

Now chroot into Debian - you do this each time to chroot into Debian. When you exit the chroot remember to umount.
Code:
mount /proc /debian/proc
mount /sys /debian/sys
mount /oldroot/dev/ /debian/dev
chroot /debian

Complete the installation
Code:
/debootstrap/debootstrap --second-stage

You should see...
Code:
I: Installing core packages...
I: Base system installed successfully.

That's it!

Bit of cosmetics – bit more obvious when we are in the chroot
Code:
echo 'PS1="squeeze:\w# "' >> ~/.bashrc

You can type exit to leave the chroot and return to the lacie linux environment.

Renter chroot – nicer look and feel now with scroll command history on the arrow keys
Code:
chroot debian /bin/bash -login

This is all from the poor notes I took when I did the install.

I need to check which version of Squeezebox server I installed. I can't recall if it was 7.5.3 or 7.5.2. One worked the other didn't. To install squeezebox server download and copy squeezeboxserver_7.5.3_all.deb to OpenShare and then run
Code:
dpkg -i /shares/OpenShare/squeezeboxserver_7.5.3_all.deb

This should give you enough to be going on with for the moment. Post back how you get on. I can then post the very rough scripts I use to start squeezebox server and how to automatically launch at startup

Quote:
I have previously fixed Twonky access and enabled Transmission webaccess.

I would recommend turning off Twonky until you get Squeezebox server up and running as they both use port 9000. SB can be easily configured to run on another port later.

Quote:
Also, is this something I have to do just to be able to install Squeezebox, or is it something that become persistant ?
And if so, does it affect any other functionallity on the Wireless Space ?

The files you install are persistant, but the chroot debian session is only persistant for the squezebox server process. I believe all the other functionality is retained. The web interface is still there. I use the eco settings to power down the box over night. Sometimes I cannot see the shares so I just start and stop ftp services through the web interface and the shares appear once more. Without doubt my scripts could be much better but it all seems to work OK and I have not had any squeezebox server crashes. I can't recall if I had a widget to set time from the internet. If I did it is not there now! There is no reason why the lacie services and debian chroot can't co-exist.


Regards Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi again, and thank you for this outstanding guide!

Unfortunantely it seems my disc space isn't big enough.
Being a beginner with linux I'm not sure which way is best to check.
When I did this:
'parted' followed by 'print' the result was:
Model: SAMSUNG HD103SI (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt

Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 17.4kB 300MB 300MB ext3 primary
2 300MB 556MB 256MB linux-swap primary
3 556MB 656MB 100MB ext3 primary
4 656MB 1000GB 1000GB xfs primary

And when I did this:
'df -h' the result was this:
root@WirelessSpace# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs 277.0M 242.1M 20.6M 92% /
/dev/root 277.0M 242.1M 20.6M 92% /
tmpfs 2.0M 724.0k 1.3M 35% /etc
tmpfs 512.0k 0 512.0k 0% /tmp
/dev/sda3 92.3M 8.9M 78.7M 10% /lacie/var
/dev/sda4 930.8G 158.7G 772.0G 17% /lacie/var/userPart
/dev/root 277.0M 242.1M 20.6M 92% /dev/.static/dev
udev 124.5M 44.0k 124.5M 0% /dev

And as expected, when i tried to un-tar the file, I got 'no space left on device'
I'm guessing the drive that reported 92% in use, is the one I'm using.....

So.....Is it possible to resize the partitions ? Without destroying everything else.
If so. How !?

I hope you have a solution for this rimoth. I really appreciate your help.

Regards Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

Quote:
Being a beginner with linux I'm not sure which way is best to check.
I'm only one step ahead of you, if that!

OK here is my 'parted' 'print'...

Code:
Model: SAMSUNG HD103SI (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End     Size    Type      File system  Flags
 1      32.3kB  2056MB  2056MB  extended                   
 5      64.5kB  263MB   263MB   logical   linux-swap       
 6      263MB   271MB   8193kB  logical                     
 7      271MB   280MB   8193kB  logical   ext3             
 8      280MB   1152MB  872MB   logical   ext3             
 9      1152MB  2048MB  897MB   logical   ext3             
10      2048MB  2056MB  8193kB  logical                     
 3      2056MB  4483MB  2426MB  primary   ext3             
 2      4483MB  1000GB  996GB   primary   xfs         


Looking at the last two lines, I currently have partitions 2 & 3. Originally I just had partition 2 which was the user data area 2056-1000. I deleted this and created partition 3 for the debian install, and partition 2 for the user data. (I created partition 3 first nearer the start of the disk, not sure why but I felt it was best to have the OS nearer the start of the disk. It probably makes no difference.)

For the wireless space I would recommend you back up your partition 4 (use tar ), delete partition 4 then create two partitions, one for debian install (partition 5) , and the remainder for user data (partition 4). I opted for 2.5gb for the debian partition which hopefully is enough (mine is 34% used so 2.5gb should be sufficient). Then restore the backup to the user area. Reboot and check all is OK. You should be able to do all this via ssh just umount sda4 first.

Once you have done this you can then mount your new partition. First clear down any data in the debian folder from the previous untar. You can then mount your new partition and carry on the install.
Code:
mount /dev/sda5 /debian


Let me know how it goes....Regards....Tim


Last edited by rimoth on Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

btw I definitely lost my network time functionality (ntp) but a small price to pay, which I'm sure can be fixed easily!

I am running squeezebox server Version: 7.5.2 - r31632 @ Mon Dec 13 13:06:10 PST 2010...It's the _all.deb package.

This is the script which I use to run the debian chroot when I need command line debian, i.e. run installs/updates etc. (I called it 'chroot-debian' and have it in the root folder of the lacie environment). Replace sda3 with your sda5. Replace sda2 with sda4 - I'm not sure that line is required/valid anyway.
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# mount file systems
mount /dev/sda3 /debian
mount /proc /debian/proc
mount /sys /debian/sys
mount /oldroot/dev/ /debian/dev

# Change Root
chroot /debian /bin/bash -login
#chroot /debian /scripts/chroot-squeezebox


umount debian/mnt/sda2
umount /debian/dev
umount /debian/sys
umount /debian/proc
#umount /debian

This is the script which I use to run squeezebox server (I called this chroot-squeezebox, and in the same location as chroot-debian).Again replace sda3 with your sda5.
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# mount file systems
mount /dev/sda3 /debian
mount /proc /debian/proc
mount /sys /debian/sys
mount /oldroot/dev/ /debian/dev

# Change Root
#chroot /debian /bin/bash -login
chroot /debian /start-squeezebox

# Squeezebox Daemon has started

# These umounts should be done on shutdown
#umount debian/mnt/sda2
#umount /debian/dev
#umount /debian/sys
#umount /debian/proc
##umount /debian


This is the script within the debian environment which launches squeezebox server. ( I called this 'start-squeezebox and is in the root of sda5 - the debian environment). I found that the default squeezebox server startup script didn't work.
Code:
/usr/sbin/squeezeboxserver --pidfile=/var/run/squeezeboxserver.pid --daemon --diag --logfile/sbs.log --charset=utf8


Please excuse these scripts they are very crude. I hope the linux police don't catch up with me! All improvements welcome.

Let me know how you get on. I still need to post the script changes to run the debian chroot on startup.. I will do some digging around....Kind Regards....Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi again!
And thank you again.

What is the best command to delete/create partitions ?
Google seems to tell me it's fdisk, but that command doesn't seem to exist.
Is that possible, or am I doing something wrong ?

Also, I hope it works with SqueezeboxServer 7.5.4
The whole point with this is to get Spotify running in conjunction with my record-collection.

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

I take it spotify have delivered the goods with ARM library interface.

Looking at my sketchy notes it looks like I used
Code:
fdisk /dev/sda

I guess you need to do...
p - displays the partition table
d 4 - deletes partition 4.
n l 5 - creates new logical partition 5
n p 4 - creates new primary partition.
w - writes the partition table

You will have to do the maths to calculate the partition sizes. Afterwards type 'reboot' and once it has rebooted...
Code:
mkfs.xfs -f /dev/sda4
mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda5

You can then restore your backup of sda4 to the new sda4.


I had to delete partition 2 and then create partition 3 and partition 2. Here's what I did. Your partition 5 will need to be logical as it numbered above4.
Code:
Command (m for help): d
Partition number (1-10): 2

Command (m for help): n
Command action
   l   logical (5 or over)
   p   primary partition (1-4)
p
Partition number (1-4): 2
First cylinder (251-121601, default 251):
Using default value 251
Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (251-121601, default 121601): 121479

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks  Id System
/dev/sda1               1         250     2008093+  5 Extended
/dev/sda2             251      121479   973771942+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda5               1          32      256977  82 Linux swap
/dev/sda6              33          33        8001  83 Linux
/dev/sda7              34          34        8001  83 Linux
/dev/sda8              35         140      851413+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda9             141         249      875511  83 Linux
/dev/sda10            250         250        8001  83 Linux

Command (m for help): n
Command action
   l   logical (5 or over)
   p   primary partition (1-4)
p
Partition number (1-4): 3
First cylinder (121480-121601, default 121480):
Using default value 121480
Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (121480-121601, default 121601):
Using default value 121601

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks  Id System
/dev/sda1               1         250     2008093+  5 Extended
/dev/sda2             251      121479   973771942+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda3          121480      121601      979965  83 Linux
/dev/sda5               1          32      256977  82 Linux swap
/dev/sda6              33          33        8001  83 Linux
/dev/sda7              34          34        8001  83 Linux
/dev/sda8              35         140      851413+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda9             141         249      875511  83 Linux
/dev/sda10            250         250        8001  83 Linux


Note: These notes are from my first attempt. In my current setup sda3 comes before sda2. As I said earlier I opted to put the OS before the user data.

I also got the warning "WARNING: rereading partition table failed, kernel still uses old table" but just did a reboot.

Regards....Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

Quote:
Google seems to tell me it's fdisk, but that command doesn't seem to exist.


You can try using parted. I have not used this before but I am sure you can google a how to. Also once in parted type help.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Ok.
Very strange that I can't seem to user fdisk.....
I tried with parted instead, but it doesn't quite seem to it.

first I deleted partition 4 with
Code:
rm 4

then I create two new partitions with:
Code:
mkpart primary xfs 656MB 997GB
mkpart primary ext3 997GB 1000GB

a print shows:
Code:
Model: SAMSUNG HD103SI (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt

Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name     Flags
 1      17.4kB  300MB   300MB   ext3         primary
 2      300MB   556MB   256MB   linux-swap   primary
 3      556MB   656MB   100MB   ext3         primary
 4      656MB   997GB   996GB   xfs
 5      997GB   1000GB  3205MB

Looks pretty good so far!
But when I try to make a filesystem with 'mkfs' it say it doesn't support ext3 or xfs
Code:
FS-TYPE is one of: ext2, fat32, fat16, linux-swap


I figure it's a "parted" problem ?

So where could I get hold of fdisk ?
Is it just one file, or a whole bunch of dependencies ?
Maybe lacie removed it to prevent this ?

Please help me, I'm close now!

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group