General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

I have never used parted before so we may need some help from someone else.

The only thing I noticed is...
Quote:
mkpart primary ext3 997GB 1000GB

It may be worth trying mkpart logical instead as the partition number is above 5?

If you don't mind taking the drive out of the wirless space you can always hook up the drive to a PC, even if you need to run Ubuntu from a CD.

I've just checked and fdisk is on my NS2. Strange it is not on the Wireless Space. It might be only one file try googling fdisk install.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi Rimoth!
Maybe I can use the fdisk file from my ubuntu ?
I will try that when i get home from work.

Or do you think you can attach yours from NS2 ?
Maybe that has a bigger chance to work ?
I guess it has to be a fdisk that "fits" with lacie's linux.......

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

Ultimately parted and fdisk aim to perform the same goal. Parted should be able to achieve what what we are trying to do. I would try parted and create a logical partition 5.

If that fails yes you can pm me and I can send you a copy of fdisk from my NS2. I am not sure it will work though.

Regards....Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2011 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi,
I think I've made it! (the partition part at least)
I found some alternative busybox that allowed me to run mkfs.xfs & mkfs.ext3
So, I never needed fdisk. Made the partitions with parted and the filesystems with mkfs.
After the initial reboot, the Wireless access point stop working, so for a while I thought everthing was ruined! But after a few reboots everything seems fine so far.
df -h now looks like this:

root@WirelessSpace# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs 277.0M 243.2M 19.5M 93% /
/dev/root 277.0M 243.2M 19.5M 93% /
tmpfs 2.0M 652.0k 1.4M 32% /etc
tmpfs 512.0k 0 512.0k 0% /tmp
/dev/sda3 92.3M 6.9M 80.7M 8% /lacie/var
/dev/sda4 927.8G 122.9G 804.9G 13% /lacie/var/userPart
/dev/root 277.0M 243.2M 19.5M 93% /dev/.static/dev
udev 124.5M 48.0k 124.5M 0% /dev
/dev/sda5 2.9G 214.7M 2.6G 8% /debian

Nice.

Now I can continue with the chroot and SS-install
I lay low for a few days, to make sure everything seems to stick and work normal.
I let you know how goes!

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 8:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi again rimoth
I think I've made it!

Some thoughts though.
When I created the debian environment, you say I should:
mount /dev/sda3 /debian
mount /proc /debian/proc
mount /sys /debian/sys
mount /oldroot/dev/ /debian/dev
I get that, except the last row.
what is /oldroot/dev/ ?
During the chroot-install, I did mount /dev/ /debian/dev instead.
And after that I have skipped that mount all together.
Everything seems to work anyway, so maybe it's not important ?

In the chroot-debian environment dns-lookup doesn't seem to work.
The Plugins-tab in the web interface says:
Bad repository http://www.mysqueezebox.com/public/plugins/logitech.xml - Couldn't resolve IP address for: http://www.mysqueezebox.com
Bad repository http://www.mysqueezebox.com/public/plug ... sitory.xml - Couldn't resolve IP address for: http://www.mysqueezebox.com
And the mysqueezebox.com-tab says I can't login.
Also, ping can't resolve anything.
I've tried to add http://www.mysqueezebox.com in /debian/etc/hosts but no change.
Any ideas ?
EDIT - I think I fixed the DNS-issue.
Added this row:
Code:
prepend domain-name-servers 208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220;
in /debian/etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf
and made a reboot
END EDIT


When i did the squeezebox install, It took me forever to find all missing dependencies.
I think I had to download 20 of them (from http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/arme ... v/download)
Is this how you're supposed to do when installing packages with dpkg ?
I'm guessing it's not!

If I wanted to do the whole chroot-debain/squeezebox install again.
Would it be true to say that deleting the /debian/ folder would reset everything ?
Or has anything happend anywhere else ?
(It has been a lot of trial and error, and it would be nice to start clean, and do it right from the beginning)

To make everything start/stop automatically on restart I've done the following:
created /etc/init.d/startsqueeze
Code:
mount /dev/sda5 /debian
mount /proc /debian/proc
mount /sys /debian/sys
mount /lacie/var/userPart/share/OpenShare /debian/share
usleep 5000000
chroot /debian /etc/init.d/squeezeboxserver start

and created a link to that file in /etc/rc2.d

created /etc/init.d/stopsqueeze
Code:
chroot /debian /etc/init.d/squeezeboxserver stop
usleep 5000000
umount /debian/share
umount /debian/sys
umount /debian/proc
umount /debian

and created a link to that file in /etc/rc6.d
It seems to work! But is that the right way to do it ?

As I don't have a Squeezebox Radio (yet!), I've installed an application called 'softsqueeze'
It finds the server and can stream my mp3's
Is it safe to say that everything will work on a Squeezebox Radio if I got that to work ?

I hope you have not fallen asleep yet from the enormous post!

I realize the most parts of my questions doesn't really have to do with Wirelessspace but more Linux in general. Sorry about that.

And of course, Thank you again for all your help!

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 9:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

Excellent news.

Good work in resolving the DNS issue. Does sudo apt-get update work now? It should resolve any dependencies.

DNS worked for me without making any changes so when I installed squeezebox server via dpkg it then resolved all the dependencies automatically for me.

One thing worth checking also is your list of repositories in /etc/apt/sources.list. I just googled and used a suggested list. If I recall I also installed locales (sudo apt-get install) which fixed time zone issue.

Quote:
mount /dev/sda3 /debian
mount /proc /debian/proc
mount /sys /debian/sys
mount /oldroot/dev/ /debian/dev
I get that, except the last row.
what is /oldroot/dev/ ?
During the chroot-install, I did mount /dev/ /debian/dev instead.
And after that I have skipped that mount all together.
Everything seems to work anyway, so maybe it's not important ?


I'm no expert so if it is working fine then I guess go with what you have.

Quote:
If I wanted to do the whole chroot-debain/squeezebox install again.
Would it be true to say that deleting the /debian/ folder would reset everything ?
Or has anything happend anywhere else ?
(It has been a lot of trial and error, and it would be nice to start clean, and do it right from the beginning)


Yes just clear down the debian folder and start again. The only thing not in the debian folder is the script to launch debian and your music files.

Quote:
To make everything start/stop automatically on restart I've done the following:
created /etc/init.d/startsqueeze


If this works great. The Network Space 2 doesn't use init.d but initng. Also from the partition table you gave earlier it does seem like the Wireless Space has quite a different linux setup. This shouldn't impact the chroot as once you are in debian you are in debian.

Quote:
As I don't have a Squeezebox Radio (yet!), I've installed an application called 'softsqueeze'
It finds the server and can stream my mp3's
Is it safe to say that everything will work on a Squeezebox Radio if I got that to work ?


Yes if softsqueeze works then any of the hardware streaming options should work fine.

What version of squeezeboxserver are you running?
Have you got spotify working yet?
What plugins have you got to work? The main one I use is BBC iPlayer which appears to work fine.

Let me know how you get on....Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 3:32 pm
Posts: 17
Hi again,
I have now gotten my Squeezebox Radio, and everything seems to work!
Some notes:

One thing I don't really get is why I need the server to do anything except streaming my local media of course.
I mean, Spotify works from the radio even if the Server isn't running. If I connect to mysqueezebox.com
Am I missing something ?

I figured out the real reason I had DNS-issues.
When I did the debootstrap thing, I was at work. Therefore I got their internal DNS's in resolv.conf
And of course that didn't work at home!
Just changed it to 'my' DNS's and everthing is fine.

It was a lot easier installing when I know it should be done!
I just fixed the dns, fixed sources.list and typed:
Code:
apt-get update
dpkg -i squeezeboxserver_7.5.4_all.deb
apt-get -f install
Code:

and everything just worked!
Previosly, I downloaded every dependency one by one on my laptop, copied them to WS and installed them manually. (about 20 of them!)
Live and learn!

Again, thanks for all your help Tim.
I could never have done this without your help.

Regards
/Patrik


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:27 am
Posts: 73
Hi Patrik,

I'm glad you have everything working now.

Yes for Squeezebox radio and Touch the spotify app works straight off the internet without using your local server.

I've only got classic Squeezebox3s so I will have to use the unofficial Spotify plugin which runs on the local server.

When I have some spare time I will install 7.5.4. and see if I can get Spotify working.

Post back any issues you encounter.

All the best Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:23 am
Posts: 3
Hi all,

When you deployed everything include SS at Lacie WS - what amount of memory and CPU it taken (average and on peaks)?

Thanks for any advice!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:27 am
Posts: 1
Hey! I would just like to ask, what is this squeezebox all about? It sounds interesting...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Squeezebox Server
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 9:23 am
Posts: 3
Hi all,

I've decided to try suggested method for my Lacie WS. Unfortunately my attempt was finished unsuccessfully.
Reason: all essential preparations were done like a charm (partitions, Debian chroot) but when logitechmediaserver installation has started I've met with some unpredictable issues:
1. Dependancies (perl >= 5.8.8 is required);
2. /etc/apt/sources.list - no appropriate links in order to resolve dependancies list. Googled but no success anyway.

Tested package: logitechmediaserver_7.7.2_all.deb

Any advise would be appreciated!

Update. At last I've installed LMS! What was an issue - apt-get didn't know about perl and its dependancies. I'm just used aptitude and it's worked!

Changes in /etc/apt/sources.conf:
Code:
###### Debian Main Repos
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main contrib
deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main contrib

###### Debian Update Repos
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze-proposed-updates main contrib
deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze-proposed-updates main contrib


And of course apt-get update -f :)

Update 2. For some reason I can't preserve autostart/stop scripts in their dirs. Each time after reboot the device both files are flushed. Any ideas?

Thanks to all for useful topic and detailed explanation! Hope my 5 cents will simplife someone's life. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group