[HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

edd72
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:37 pm

Re: [HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

Post by edd72 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 2:02 pm

Errr, why do you want to use Twonky if you don't have UPNP client?
Twonky is a media server which use UPNP.

Anyway, on a computer, you can use VLC (relaunch the server if necessary):
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

freddie1974
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:23 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

Post by freddie1974 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:03 pm

Err....for my Samsung Smart TV 8-) Anyway, VLC quietly plays file using upnp.

edd72
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:37 pm

Re: [HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

Post by edd72 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 4:27 pm

So you could test with your TV (which use UPNP) but OK.

So the server is OK.

We have to understand why the server is not launch by the DashBoard or at the boot of the WS (1) (if the problem is still actual) and why you can't access to the web interface (2) (if the problem is still there too).

(1) The server process is launched automatically (or by the DashBoard) by using the mediaserver files is the two init.d

(2) Maybe it is just a param (which is read during the start process) in the config file mediaserver2.ini

freddie1974
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:23 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

Post by freddie1974 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:56 pm

Great! Great! Great! Now everything is working fine! I decided to start again from zero, and this time I edited the two mediaserver files with vi ! I transferred the TwonkyVision folder with Transmit using SFTP in the root directory inside the Nas.Then moved with mv command.

The only thing I changed manually, apart the two mediaserver files, is the enableweb inside mediaserver2.ini, it was 0, changed to 2.

Edd72...thanks a lot.Now I'm in love with my Wireless Space.Using it with my Smart TV, the only things that doesn't works are FF and REW. But Pause and Go To works fine! Thanks again for the vital support! :) :)

edd72
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:37 pm

Re: [HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

Post by edd72 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:36 pm

Happy for you :)

RW & FF work with my Freebox so it must be a compatibility issue with your TV.

freddie1974
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:23 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install Twonky 7.0.9

Post by freddie1974 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:30 pm

I think it is a feature incompatibility between my tv and this version of twonky, as with the old version installed on the WS, pause and go to didn't work too.No controls.At least now it is very usable! 8-)

Post Reply