General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:03 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:35 pm
Posts: 2
Hello everyone,

my nsa 325 v1 keeps restarting after its been powered on for like 20 - 30 seconds.
i either cant reach it over web, since it does not even have an ip adress requested nor it reacts to the reset button (doesnt matter how long i press it, no beeps coming). :?
It shows a red led at hdd2, thats why i tried already to boot it without any plugged in hdd, it still shows a red light at hdd2... which seems quiet strange to me.

Do you guys know any other way to connect to the nsa and reset it or install a different firmware to it?

Thanks so far


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5981
Do you by chance have 'scheduled shutdown' activated? It's known that is sometimes gives problems. If that is true, it can be solved.
You can create an 'Universal stick' using the 'network telnet stop' script. If it can stop the bootloop and give you telnet access, the problem is solvable, although I'll have to think about the exact procedure.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 3:35 pm
Posts: 2
umm, i dont have the scheduled shutdown activated
thanks for ur reply


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 5981
Basically you've got 2 possibilities. It's a software problem, or it's a hardware problem. If it's a hardware problem, there is not much you can do, unless you've got golden hands.

A software problem divides in 2, degraded flash, or b0rked up configuration. If the flash is degraded you should reflash it. If the 'network_telnet_stop' script does not work for you, the only way to do so is using serial and the bootloader. Basically you have to upload a kernel using tftp, boot that, and let it flash firmware from an USB stick. More here.

If it's configuration, then the 'network_telnet_stop' script should definitely work, as it's invoked before the configuration is read.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], MrDini and 54 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group