[HOWTO] Update samba (to 3.6.25) using Entware-ng

Marvell Kirkwood based
Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: [HOWTO] Update samba (to 3.6.25) using Entware-ng

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:07 am

I can tell you how you can do it yourself. Entware-ng is based on the OpenWRT buildroot, which means that everything is cross compiled. I think you need a Linux or Ubuntu box (my Mageia box gives errors), and follow the recipe here. After the step

Code: Select all

make package/symlinks
you'll have the makefiles for all packages in the packages directory. These makefiles also contain the commandline arguments provided with configure. So read the Samba documentation how to include the recyclebin, and edit the makefile.
After the copying of the .config file, you can run 'make menuconfig' to exclude most of the packages. The compilation will take a lot of time, as it will also build the crosscompiler environment.

The generated package will not contain the needed recyclebin plugin, as the makefile also lists which files should be included in the package. But it's somewhere in your build directory, and the generated package is compatible.

JDD
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: [HOWTO] Update samba (to 3.6.25) using Entware-ng

Post by JDD » Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:31 pm

Hi Mijzelf,

Thanks for your advice.

Hard challenge for me without any experience on compiling for linux. But will learn.
Currently I have only the Nas's on linux, so that will be the first item to solve.

Will take time, but also will try to post progress here from time to time.
NSA320 FW V4.70(AFO.3) Entware-ng (previous FFP 0.7 on usb )
NAS326 with Entware-ng
Bunch of USB 2 & 3 external disks connected to nas.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: [HOWTO] Update samba (to 3.6.25) using Entware-ng

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:09 pm

JDD wrote:Currently I have only the Nas's on linux, so that will be the first item to solve.
If you have a decent PC/laptop with enough diskspace, you can install it in a virtual machine, like VirtualBox.

Post Reply