General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:33 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
Hello,

my scenario is following:

NAS Zyxel 325 v2 (fw 4.81) with 2TB WD Red in first slot. This Christmas I've bought 4 TB WD Red for second slot. My idea was either to build JBOD 2+4TB, or at least switch "primary" disc to 4TB and 2TB disc to use for backup of family photos and videos from "primary" one.

In web interface / storage / logical drive i used "migrate" hoping for some setup dialogue, but NAS started process immediately. I let it run during afternoon and checked result in the evening - Logical drive was in down state in RAID 1 configuration (with first/original disc 2TB and second/added disc 4TB).

From Zyxel web interface I've tried check logical drive without and later with automatic file repair option, but with no luck, ending with info table like this:

Code:
e2fsck 1.41.14 (22-Dec-2010)
The filesystem size (according to the superblock) is 488249232 blocks
The physical size of the device is 488249198 blocks
Either the superblock or the partition table is likely to be corrupt!
Abort? yes
e2fsck -f -y return value:8


I thought that RAID 1 array with 2TB and 4TB is nonsense, so I've bought another (identical type) 2TB WD Red disc and connected it instead of 4TB one, hoping, that RAID1 will rebuild itself and then i can access data. After insertioin second 2TB disc, Zyxel obviously started to copy data, which took several hours, but in the end, when there was no activity visible, logical disc stay still in down state.

So i have ended with original 2TB disc (unreadable), new 4TB disc with probably mirrored 2TB partition (unreadable) and with second 2TB disc with mirrored 2TB partiton (unreadable)

After i made some googling, i've found, that people had some migration issues with Zyxel NAS ending with unreadable RAID partitions. As i'm not familiar with Linux so far, i'm searching for any help regarding accessing my data.

I put second/new 2TB disc into computer and now I'm trying TestDisk tool on it, to try to recover partition: select disc / GPE partition / analyse / abort / deepscan which runs right now (6% after 5 hours)

Meanwhile Zyxel NAS through PUTTY command
Code:
fdisk -l
gives me this (now only original 2TB disc is in first bay, second/new 2TB disc is in PC trying luck with TestDisk as i mentioned above):

Code:
ZyXEL-1 login: root
Password:


BusyBox v1.17.2 (2017-06-23 10:40:08 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

~ # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 2000.3 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x755def46

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1          64      514048+   8  AIX
/dev/sda2              65      243201  1952997952+  20  Unknown
~ #

/ # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 2000.3 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x755def46

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1          64      514048+   8  AIX
/dev/sda2              65      243201  1952997952+  20  Unknown
/ #


Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
I think I know what happened to your filesystem, and I described it here.

So you have the options:
  • Create a new volume on one of the new disks, mount the raw partition on the original 2TB disk, and copy everything over.
  • Shrink the filesystem on the orginal disk.

BTW, have you tried to start the NAS with only the 4TB disk inserted? Depending on how the raid volume is created, it might contain a mountable ext3 filesystem. And if not, it might be possible to manually grow the array a bit.

A RAID1 array of a 2 and a 4 TB disk makes perfect sense. Only problem is that you waste 2TB space on the 4 TB disk. (Which theoretically can be used to contain an extra partition)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
Quote:
BTW, have you tried to start the NAS with only the 4TB disk inserted? Depending on how the raid volume is created, it might contain a mountable ext3 filesystem. And if not, it might be possible to manually grow the array a bit.


Nope I haven't, great idea, it absolutely didn't come into my mind. I'll try after New year (i'm on visit at my parents right now) and let you know. If it won't be viable, we have, at least, plenty of disks to experiment on :-) Thanks a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
Hi again,

i tried to insert only 4TB disc and i got this (see attachment). Obviously 4TB disc hadn't got mirrored anything from 2TB one, as i thought :-(

Although web interface says that 715,30 MB of its capacity is used, disc appears to be completely empty when i connect to it from windows file explorer.

Quote:
So you have the options:

• Create a new volume on one of the new disks, mount the raw partition on the original 2TB disk, and copy everything over.
• Shrink the filesystem on the orginal disk.


As first following step i would like to try to create new volume on 4TB disc (which in fact is done), mount raw partition from 2TB disc and move data. I saw link you posted (in fact i saw it and tried to follow it even before i wrote my problem here). When i followed instructrions i successfully disbanded raid array with:
Code:
mdadm --stop /dev/md0
, but i weren't able to mount raw partition as i'm not linux experienced user, so i somehow managed to reassemble raid array again through (if i remember it correctly):
Code:
mdadm --assemble
.

So, could you please provide me with correct commands, so i can accomplish this successfully? Thanks a lot.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
The command to mount the raw partition should be something like:
Code:
mkdir /tmp/mountpoint
mount -t ext3 -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint
Assuming the old disk is sda. It could be sdb either. You can see that using
Code:
cat /proc/partitions


If you installed RandomTools (on your new volume), you can start a screen session to do the copying. Using screen you can close your ssh/telnet client, and later pick it up again using 'screen -r'.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
I've put original 2TB disc into bay1 and 4TB disc into bay2 of my Zyxel.

I've started Putty and connected to Zyxel via telnet:

Code:
ZyXEL-1 login: root
Password:


BusyBox v1.17.2 (2017-06-23 10:40:08 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.



then:

Code:
~ # cat /proc/partitions


gave me:

Code:
major minor  #blocks  name

   7        0     143360 loop0
   8        0 1953514584 sda
   8        1     514048 sda1
   8        2 1952997952 sda2
  31        0       1024 mtdblock0
   8       16 3907018584 sdb
   8       17     498688 sdb1
   8       18 3906518016 sdb2
  31        1        512 mtdblock1
  31        2        512 mtdblock2
  31        3        512 mtdblock3
  31        4      10240 mtdblock4
  31        5      10240 mtdblock5
  31        6      48896 mtdblock6
  31        7      10240 mtdblock7
  31        8      48896 mtdblock8
   9        0 1952996792 md0
   9        1 3906516992 md1


and

Code:
~ # fdisk -l


gave me this:

Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 2000.3 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x755def46

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1          64      514048+   8  AIX
/dev/sda2              65      243201  1952997952+  20  Unknown

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sdb'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.


Disk /dev/sdb: 4000.7 GB, 4000787030016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 486401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1      267350  2147483647+  ee  GPT


then i've used:

Code:
~ # mkdir /tmp/mountpoint
~ # mount -t ext3 -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint


which returned:

Code:
mount: /dev/sda2 already mounted or /tmp/mountpoint busy


so i've disbanded 2TB disc from its RAID with:

Code:
~ # mdadm --stop /dev/md0


which gave me this:

Code:
mdadm: stopped /dev/md0


then i've used

Code:
~ # mount -t ext3 -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint


and i've ended up with:

Code:
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda2,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so


Any clues what to do next? Should i try the same witch second 2TB disc (mirrored one?), or it will be the same? Thx for any help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
Did you migrate that disk from an older ZyXEL nas? In that case the filesystem might be xfs, or even reiserfs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
Mijzelf wrote:
Did you migrate that disk from an older ZyXEL nas? In that case the filesystem might be xfs, or even reiserfs.


Nope. Original 2TB was bought for this particular Zyxel. Can i mess something when i try to mount partition with filesystems you described in your post?

Although that 2TB disc was alone in Zyxel NAS, i think it was configured as JBOD (if i remember it correctly). Could it have infulence on Zyxel's descision which type of filesystem uses for that disc? Unfortunately i can't remember which type of FS was used on original disc :-(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
DLe wrote:
Can i mess something when i try to mount partition with filesystems you described in your post?
No, as long as you use the '-o ro' flag (mount readonly), the filesystem driver will not write anything to the disk.
Quote:
Could it have infulence on Zyxel's descision which type of filesystem uses for that disc?
AFAIK not. Only the firmware version which was installed when you created the volume is important. I think a 325v2 is too new to have used anything else than ext3/4, but I'm not sure. On firmware 2 reiserfs was used, but after the maintenance was stopped (Hans Reiser is in jail for murder) ZyXEL switched to xfs. Later is became ext3. On firmware 5 ext4 is used.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
Hi again,

Mijzelf wrote:
So you have the options:

• Create a new volume on one of the new disks, mount the raw partition on the original 2TB disk, and copy everything over.


Mijzelf wrote:
DLe wrote:
Can i mess something when i try to mount partition with filesystems you described in your post?
No, as long as you use the '-o ro' flag (mount readonly), the filesystem driver will not write anything to the disk.


So I've tried to mount RAW partition from original 2TB disc with different filesystems and I got this:

Code:
~ # mount -t ext3 -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda2,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

~ # mount -t ext4 -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda2,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

~ # mount -t xfs -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda2,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

~ # mount -t reiserfs -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda2,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so


Same result I got, when I tried same with second (new) 2TB disc.

But when I've used:
Code:
~ # fdisk -l


I've noticed that new 4 TB disc, which is configured as JBOD (same way as original 2TB disc was configured before failed migration), show filesystem "GPT":

Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 2000.3 GB, 2000398934016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 243201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x3dfe9761

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1          64      514048+   8  AIX
/dev/sda2              65      243201  1952997952+  20  Unknown

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sdb'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.


Disk /dev/sdb: 4000.7 GB, 4000787030016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 486401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1      267350  2147483647+  ee  GPT
~ # cat /proc/partitions
major minor  #blocks  name

   7        0     143360 loop0
   8        0 1953514584 sda
   8        1     514048 sda1
   8        2 1952997952 sda2
   8       16 3907018584 sdb
   8       17     498688 sdb1
   8       18 3906518016 sdb2
  31        0       1024 mtdblock0
  31        1        512 mtdblock1
  31        2        512 mtdblock2
  31        3        512 mtdblock3
  31        4      10240 mtdblock4
  31        5      10240 mtdblock5
  31        6      48896 mtdblock6
  31        7      10240 mtdblock7
  31        8      48896 mtdblock8
   9        1 3906516992 md1


What does it mean?

when I've tried:
Code:
~ # mount -t GPT -o ro /dev/sda2 /tmp/mountpoint


I got this:

Code:
mount: unknown filesystem type 'GPT'


I would be grateful for every thought on this. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
GPT is not a filesystem, but a partition table. It stands for GUID Partition Table. The 'old' partition table MBR (Master Boot Record) is old. About 30 years, I think. It was designed for disks sized up to 512MB. The format has changed a few times, to support bigger disks, and the latest incarnation can handle disks up to 2^32 - 1 sectors, which is a bit bigger than 2TB (or a bit smaller than 2TiB), when you use sectors of 512 bytes.
So for bigger disks GPT is invented. fdisk cannot handle that, and tells you so. If you want to view the table you have to use parted.
Code:
parted /dev/sda print


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
using

Code:
parted /dev/sda print


i got this for original 2TB disc (for new 2TB disc i got the same):

Code:
~ # parted /dev/sda print
Model:  WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 2000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
 1      32.3kB  526MB   526MB   primary  ext2
 2      526MB   2000GB  2000GB  primary


for 4TB disc i got this:

Code:
~ # parted /dev/sdb print
Model:  WD40EFRX-68N32N0 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 4001GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt

Number  Start   End     Size    File system     Name       Flags
 1      1049kB  512MB   511MB   linux-swap(v1)  mitraswap
 2      512MB   4001GB  4000GB                  eexxtt44


Which seems strange to me, because before failed migration, original 2TB disc was set up as JBOD, in fact same way as 4TB is set up now and both discs (original 2TB and now new 4TB) were set up on same Zyxel device :-/

Do you have any idea how to mount raw partition from 2TB and copy it to 4TB disc to access data?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
JBOD has nothing to do with the partition table. The RAID member is stored in a partition. That one partition table is 'msdos', and one GPT might be strange. Either the firmware looks at the size of the disk, and chooses one, which is indeed strange, GPT can do them all. But I can imagine GPT is added in a firmware update. Can't remember if the 325 originally supported disks >2TB.

Quote:
Do you have any idea how to mount raw partition from 2TB and copy it to 4TB disc to access data?
Reading this thread we didn't look at the raid header yet, did we?
Have a look
Code:
mdadm --examine /dev/sda
It can tell where the payload of the raid member is stored, relative to the start of the partition.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:02 pm
Posts: 10
Hello,

for this attempt I've used "new" 2TB disc

i've tried:
Code:
mdadm --examine /dev/sda


and got this:
Code:
~ # mdadm --examine /dev/sda
mdadm: No md superblock detected on /dev/sda.


then this:
Code:
mdadm --examine /dev/sda1


gave me this:
Code:
~ # mdadm --examine /dev/sda1
mdadm: No md superblock detected on /dev/sda1.


and finally this:
Code:
~ # mdadm --examine /dev/sda2


gave me this:
Code:
~ # mdadm --examine /dev/sda2
/dev/sda2:
          Magic : a92b4efc
        Version : 1.2
    Feature Map : 0x0
     Array UUID : fe0b8f56:e01c0f60:0af62a28:f9065a54
           Name : ZyXEL-1:0  (local to host ZyXEL-1)
  Creation Time : Mon Dec 25 12:03:37 2017
     Raid Level : raid1
   Raid Devices : 2

 Avail Dev Size : 1952996928 (1862.52 GiB 1999.87 GB)
     Array Size : 1952996792 (1862.52 GiB 1999.87 GB)
  Used Dev Size : 1952996792 (1862.52 GiB 1999.87 GB)
    Data Offset : 2048 sectors
   Super Offset : 8 sectors
          State : clean
    Device UUID : 9325b11c:45b30811:c54d6607:9bbd3f83

    Update Time : Thu Feb  1 12:02:04 2018
       Checksum : 9a8a5107 - correct
         Events : 226


   Device Role : Active device 0
   Array State : AA ('A' == active, '.' == missing)
~ #


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6169
DLe wrote:
got this:
Code:
~ # mdadm --examine /dev/sda
mdadm: No md superblock detected on /dev/sda.
Sorry. My error. It indeed had to be /dev/sda2
Quote:
Code:
    Data Offset : 2048 sectors
And here is the reason why the raw partition cannot be mounted. The data starts at 2048 sectors, not at 0.
This can be worked around by using a loop device. A virtual block device, which passes it's access to a file (and because this is Linux everything is a file, also a partition.)
So we create a loop device which starts at sector 2048 of /dev/sda2:
Code:
losetup /dev/loop3 -o 1048576 /dev/sda2
(1048576 is 2048 512 byte sectors in bytes)
Now the loopdevice can be mounted:
Code:
mkdir -p /tmp/mountpoint
mount -o ro /dev/loop3 /tmp/mountpoint


(/dev/loop3 is choosen arbitrary. The firmware has one or two loop devices in use. When I remember well there are 8 available.)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group